Team-BHP > Team-BHP Advice > On buying a car

Search this Thread
Old 26th July 2010, 20:18   #211
Distinguished - BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by spadix View Post
First of all, congratulations! The SX4 is one great VFM car and I'm sure you'll enjoy owning/driving it and mainly Maruti's outstanding service especially to their top-end vehicles. Good choice with the ZXi variant as well.
Thanks a lot. I did a lot of research and test driving before finalized SX4. Once I am done with the formalities of completing my purchase (which turns out to be trickier that I thought), I will write the TD experiences.

And Congratulations on your Civic! Great car!!

Quote:
I'm no expert, but I'll use common sense and some experience to answer *some* of your questions.
Thanks for your responses.

Quote:
The car is driven from the stockyard to the showroom before it's handed over to you. Find out how far away your dealer's stockyard is from the showroom. That should put this doubt to rest.
Well, the car is still in the stockyard. I think the 6km is what the car was driven inside the factory for test drive and then to the truck. The car was just downloaded from the truck here in Bangalore. The dealer's showroom is about 15km away, and they do some more test driving during their own PDI, so I guess when I get the car at the showroom it will have around 50km.

Quote:
Considering Bengaluru in the monsoons (pretty cold, although not sub-freezing - which was the case in my example) I wouldn't be too surprised. But please cross-check with other SX4 owners.
Yup, I will check with someone. Actually, since I am getting a bit paranoid about these things, I could not be sure to myself if the engine noise was indeed more or if I was just paranoid. Given that the car was hardly driven at all and there was no sign whatsoever of any foul play, I am tending towards attributing this to me being paranoid and ignoring this.

Quote: