Please Advise: Alpine CDA 117 vs Kenwood X8016BT

Hi!!!

The current ICE set-up in my Safari 2.2 consists of:

HU: Pioneer 6950
Amp: JBL GT5 604 (4-Channel)
F Components: JBL GT5 650C
Rear Ovals: Infinity Ref 9633i
Subwoofer: Infinity Ref 1260W

The Comps & sub are powered by the Amp, while the rear Ovals are directly powered by HU.

Am planning to upgrade my HU - pure SQ reasons. The options shortlisted as per my study till date are
  • Alpine CDA 117
  • Kenwood X8016BT
The music I listen is mostly Sufi/ Soft Rock/ Unplugged, and 95+% is through CDs - avoid MP3s/ compressed formats

Please advise:
  1. Will the upgrade in HU make perceptible change in SQ?
  2. Which HU out of two stated above to opt for?
Also am planning to add a Mono Amp in near future - to power the Sub, and consequently Ovals shall be powered by GT5 604.

Ishlesh
Old 2nd June 2011, 14:18   #2

Re: Please Advise: Alpine CDA 117 vs Kenwood X8016BT

Best would be to audition them in a car, rather than take opinions. Neither HU is a slouch, and the tonal quality depends on the speaker too, unless you audition both with the same speakers.

8016 has a fairly neutral sound without accenting anything. I have x994 - same as 8016 - in a Safari, coupled with Illusion Carbons and an Infinity Kappa 120.9 sub, driven by an Alpine PDX5, and I am quite happy with it.
DerAlte is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd June 2011, 17:29   #3

i am sailing in the same boat since past 2 months!i hope this thread helps!bt from what i hear 7016 is lean on bass.but lookwise i find 7016 better than 117.unfortunately we dont have many options for HU in this price range.
Old 2nd June 2011, 18:16   #4

Please close your eyes and get the Kenwood x8016bt. The best.
Pr_007 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd June 2011, 18:44   #5

The Kenwood would be my choice.
nitrous is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd June 2011, 11:34   #6

The kenwood X8016BT is supposed to be the X994 rebranded for the Asian market. If you read the reviews on the net there are lot of complaints against the X994. Hopefully they would have been rectified when reluanched in the Asian market.

Feature wise the Kenwood beats the ALpine, because from what i have read on the net, to meet the same set of features that Kenwood provides, in addition to the Alpine 117 you will also need the Alpine Imprint unit and the Alpine BT unit. I think they cost 10K each plust the 20k for the Alpine 117 whereas the Kenwood is available for 20k all inclusive.

As far as i have read Alpine 117 has reported only one issue and that is extrememe slowness if you connect a USB that has more than 1000 media files.
jinu_joseph is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd June 2011, 12:02   #7

Considering your current amp and speaker selection Kenwood is the way to go.
abhibh is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th June 2011, 13:15   #8

Originally Posted by Ishlesh View Post
The current ICE set-up in my Safari 2.2 consists of:

HU: Pioneer 6950
Amp: JBL GT5 604 (4-Channel)
F Components: JBL GT5 650C
Rear Ovals: Infinity Ref 9633i
Subwoofer: Infinity Ref 1260W

Ishlesh
I feel both the players are good, however if you like the treble the pioneer player produces then the 117 will be a more suitable choice,

If you think it sounds bright and there is too much treble currently, then Kenwood will work better.

IMO, you need some serious front speaker upgrade, both the players in contention are overkill for the rest of the equipment. However you will see a good difference compared to now.

All the best.
Old 5th June 2011, 13:49   #9

Originally Posted by blueraven316 View Post
I feel both the players are good, however if you like the treble the pioneer player produces then the 117 will be a more suitable choice,

If you think it sounds bright and there is too much treble currently, then Kenwood will work better.

IMO, you need some serious front speaker upgrade, both the players in contention are overkill for the rest of the equipment. However you will see a good difference compared to now.

All the best.
Thanks Blueraven,

Yes I shall prefer bit reduction in treble - combination of Pioneer and GT5 Tweeters are quite bright for my taste.

Yes, I was also contemplating on change of Components - have been try to study the options - Rainbows/ Morel Maximos/ Illusions
Please do recommend probable pair of components (upgrade) to go with GT5 Amp, and also a decent monoblock amp for infinity Ref1260 Sub.

The only thing is availabiltiy/ demo options in Chandigarh - however can manage from delhi.

Ishlesh
Old 6th June 2011, 15:38   #10

Thanks Blueraven,

Yes I shall prefer bit reduction in treble - combination of Pioneer and GT5 Tweeters are quite bright for my taste.

Yes, I was also contemplating on change of Components - have been try to study the options - Rainbows/ Morel Maximos/ Illusions
Please do recommend probable pair of components (upgrade) to go with GT5 Amp, and also a decent monoblock amp for infinity Ref1260 Sub.

The only thing is availabiltiy/ demo options in Chandigarh - however can manage from delhi.

Ishlesh
Morel's / Rainbow are available and can be auditioned within Chandigarh.
Old 8th June 2011, 17:56   #11

Thanks all, for your valuable inputs....

Post your inputs, and a brief chat with Gunbirji, have been contemplating the following upgradation, stepwise:

Immediate (within a week- 10 Days)
  • Plan to upgrade the Components: Probably finalising on Rainbow SLG Titans 6.5"
  • Upgrade HU: Kenwood 8016/ 7016 (7016 because BT is not of much use to me)
Over next 6 Months
  • Upgrade the Amp - with new 4 Channel + Monoblock/ 6 Channel (Audio System Xion Series).
Please advise if this route seems good...

Ishlesh
Old 9th June 2011, 09:46   #12

Ishlesh, the plan looks good but as always please listen before you buy.
navin is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 9th June 2011, 22:36   #13

Thanks all, for your valuable inputs....

Post your inputs, and a brief chat with Gunbirji, have been contemplating the following upgradation, stepwise:

Immediate (within a week- 10 Days)
  • Plan to upgrade the Components: Probably finalising on Rainbow SLG Titans 6.5"
  • Upgrade HU: Kenwood 8016/ 7016 (7016 because BT is not of much use to me)
Over next 6 Months
  • Upgrade the Amp - with new 4 Channel + Monoblock/ 6 Channel (Audio System Xion Series).
Please advise if this route seems good...

Ishlesh
Originally Posted by navin View Post
Ishlesh, the plan looks good but as always please listen before you buy.
As Navin Ji said audition before you buy. There are atleast 3-4 bhpians in Chandigarh with Rainbow SLG Titans in their cars. You can also check out Kenwood HU and AS amps.

chiragh_bir
SumitBahl
akshay4587
abhibh is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th June 2011, 23:29   #14

I have Rainbow SAC running through X994 in my car.
Let me know if you want to audition them.
SumitBahl is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th June 2011, 00:08   #15

Originally Posted by SumitBahl View Post
I have Rainbow SAC running through X994 in my car.
Let me know if you want to audition them.
Thanks!!! That shall indeed be a pleasure....
Shall send you private message and request if we can meet early next week...

Ishlesh