Old 23rd September 2011, 19:16   #1

Vento TDI Highline ICE'd

Its been 4 months since i got the Vento but didn't find the time to get the ICE upgraded.
Finally managed to free the car for the installation and hence sent it to Mumbai for the install.
The install was executed by resident Audio guru, B&T just like he did my previous cars.

Most of the equipment that has gone into this install is from my Swift which I sold some time ago.

Anyway, here is the equipment list,
  • Pioneer Premier P80 RS-II Headunit
  • Illusion Audio Carbon ND8 8" Midbass drivers
  • Illusion Audio CH-1 compression horns
  • Illusion Audio Electra EL62 Co-Ax rear fills
  • Steg K Series K4.01 4-Ch Amp powering the midbass and horns (Active)
  • Ground Zero Uranium Series 1000W Mono powering the subwoofer.
  • Image Dynamics IDMAX 12" Sub (This is the only new component in this setup.It replaced my earlier Ground Zero Radioactive 12" Sub)

The 8" midbass drivers were gonna be a problem to install in the front doors.Therefore, a custom fiberglass enclosure was made for accommodating the big drivers in the doors.
Since this car is my daily drive, I did not want to sacrifice boot space so again a custom fiberglass enclosure was made to install the sub in the boot.

I prefer a strong front sound stage so I just installed the 6" Co-Ax I already had for the rear fills. Didn't make sense to invest in good equipment for the rears because the car is 95% self driven and most of the times there are max 2 passengers including the driver in the car.

Apart from the new Sub,all other equipment is old and I was quite aware of what to expect off it.
As expected, it is sounding really nice.I am loving it
The IDMAX is not exactly a cheap sub but after listening to it, I am happy that I invested in one.

I have clicked a few hasty pics of the setup,sorry about the poor quality pics.
Here they are,

Vento TDI Highline ICE'd-img_4168.jpg

Vento TDI Highline ICE'd-img_4170.jpg

Vento TDI Highline ICE'd-img_4171.jpg

Vento TDI Highline ICE'd-img_4173.jpg

Vento TDI Highline ICE'd-img_4174.jpg

Vento TDI Highline ICE'd-img_4176.jpg

Vento TDI Highline ICE'd-img_4180.jpg

That's all for now

Last edited by Amey : 23rd September 2011 at 19:28.
Amey is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 23rd September 2011, 19:36   #2

Re: Vento TDI Highline ICE'd

I always believed, investing in expensive audio equipment pays. You never have to "Upgrade" too often and it serves you well in almost all your future cars. To those who aren't aware of Amey's ICE history, go through this thread.

The horns are an absolute delight to any SQ enthusiast and boy they do go loud. The IDMax has been a welcome change in your sub section. A very nice sounding system this is.
Old 23rd September 2011, 19:44   #3

Setup looks nice. So you are taking risk with Warranty issue?

By the way, what is 'compression horn'?
Old 23rd September 2011, 22:58   #4

Nice! Probably the first ICEd Highline Vento. As @radek has already asked, how are you managing this without getting any of the wires cut?

And do share the further details & pics of the setup being done! And how about bringing this to one of the meets - would love to take tips from you on ICEing the vento!
Old 24th September 2011, 10:08   #5

The wiring/ cabling is done independantly and the stock wiring is not used at all.therefore there is no need to cut wires.
Old 24th September 2011, 21:12   #6
dot

What a high quality installation. Congratulations. Since the equipment is matured (except the sub), you dont have to wait for the run-in period to enjoy the setup. I love Illusions, they produce very good quality mids and highs. Lets meet to get an audition!
Old 24th September 2011, 22:11   #7

That's what I call quality ICE. Off-late people have been going gaga about Caska HU. This is a true ICE enthusiast install.
Illusion Audio Electra EL62 Co-Ax rear fills, these were not required IMHO, as you said only 2 persons would be travelling at all times.

Illusion Audio CH-1 compression horns. What are these ?

Last edited by F150 : 24th September 2011 at 22:15.
Old 24th September 2011, 22:34   #8

Beautiful work and components!

i thought STEG's have cooling fans, no?
Old 25th September 2011, 09:42   #9
dot

^^

If sound staging is not done properly you will miss some nice rendering tricks where sound source moves around the car, from one speaker to next. For that both front and rear has to be positioned and tuned properly. Having only the fronts makes one feel that someone is singing from the footwell area.
Old 25th September 2011, 10:04   #10

Hi Amey it was a pleasure to meet to meet you last Saturday at 4S audio. You have some seriously good equipment here and I would love to hear this some day. Congrats on the switch and the sub upgrade.
Old 25th September 2011, 11:09   #11

good going amey bhai !!

good to see id and illusion together
Old 25th September 2011, 11:20   #12

Amey.
A very neat install. That sub enclosure saves up a lot of boot space.

Btw, how much do these horns cost ?
Old 25th September 2011, 12:22   #13

Originally Posted by F150 View Post
Illusion Audio Electra EL62 Co-Ax rear fills, these were not required IMHO, as you said only 2 persons would be travelling at all times.
Why not? If he had a pair lying around. A rear fill doesn't hurt.

Originally Posted by kpzen View Post
Originally Posted by radek View Post
By the way, what is 'compression horn'?
Horn loudspeaker - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Compression driver - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

@kpzen, I could be wrong but they cost upwards of 50-60k a pair.

Hope that helps.
Old 25th September 2011, 13:23   #14

Originally Posted by dot View Post
What a high quality installation. Congratulations. Since the equipment is matured (except the sub), you dont have to wait for the run-in period to enjoy the setup. I love Illusions, they produce very good quality mids and highs. Lets meet to get an audition!
Thanks. As for the audition, anytime mate.Just gimme a call and we can co ordinate accordingly.

Originally Posted by F150 View Post
That's what I call quality ICE. Off-late people have been going gaga about Caska HU. This is a true ICE enthusiast install.

Thanks I installed the rear fills because I had them.If I had to buy a set, I wouldn't have.
As for the horns, Moralfibre has posted wiki links,those should answer your queries.

Originally Posted by jkdas View Post
Beautiful work and components!

i thought STEG's have cooling fans, no?
Thank You. Steg does have cooling fans, they are on the side,small ones but they are there.They won't be visible from the front.

Originally Posted by SPARKled View Post
Hi Amey it was a pleasure to meet to meet you last Saturday at 4S audio. You have some seriously good equipment here and I would love to hear this some day. Congrats on the switch and the sub upgrade.
It was pleasure meeting you too.Let's hope we meet soon for a meet or something,will bring the Vento then

Originally Posted by chiragh_bir View Post
good going amey bhai !!

good to see id and illusion together
Thankoo ji

Originally Posted by kpzen View Post
Amey.
A very neat install. That sub enclosure saves up a lot of boot space.

These Illusion horns are not made anymore and back in the day when they were made,I am told, they used to retail for almost 1100 $ back in 2000-2002.You can say that these are pretty rear because its quite hard to find a pair.How I got hold of these is a different story

Originally Posted by ninjatalli View Post
Nice! Probably the first ICEd Highline Vento. As @radek has already asked, how are you managing this without getting any of the wires cut?

And do share the further details & pics of the setup being done! And how about bringing this to one of the meets - would love to take tips from you on ICEing the vento!
Unfortunately I wasn't present when the install was in progress so I do not have WIP pics.
Amey is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th September 2011, 12:13   #15

Awesome Amey!! Looking forward to experiencing it in flesh!!