Old 22nd June 2006, 01:48   #271

Originally Posted by Tool
what i mean is basically the HSK 165 but with the crossover from HSK 163.... would the 3W.10 crossover give the same result as the 2W.10 crossover in this 2-way system ? or will i have to get the 3W.10 crossover at the time i decide to get the midrage.. the HL70 or the HD500?..
You will need the 2W.10 for the 2way setup. So thats HSK165 basically.

And when you want to upgrade, you can go for the 3W.10 crossover and HL70 cone mids. OR if you want to add HD500 dome mids, you will have to get the 3W.30 crossover.
Old 22nd June 2006, 02:58   #272

super bro...
ok got me mind made up thanx for the killer advice...
gonna get 2 sets of the Hsk 165.. then upgrade to the 3w.30 and the dome later
makes the best sense...
thanx again bro... big big booom
Old 22nd June 2006, 10:16   #273

Originally Posted by gunbir
I think we are the only mfr-rep that actually stocks separate midranges, tweeters, crossovers etc so that end-users and dealers may have control and flexibility over their configuration....
ScanSpeak does too.

BTW who is installing your system KB.

I get a lot of "help" from my installer. Everytime someone drops by with a pair of blown tweeters out of a good component system she will call me. One time she called me with a pair of Blau velocity tweeters (the cones had been damaged with water) so I measured them in LMS and used LSPCAD to mate them to a pair of Vifa 4.5" woofers. I use them as rear fill.

As far your choice of car goes I'd suggest you consider the Sonata Embrara as it has stronger door panels and will tend to vibrate less. The metal used in the Elantra is too light. Opel, Skoda etc.. makes cars that require less damping and the new Sonata is built in almost the same vein.

The Sonata and Superb also allow you to have front stage for all 4 passengers.

2 componnet speakers in the front door, 2 components in the rear door, 2 coax in the rear for rear fill and 2 subs to rearrange your interstines.
http://www.kabseating.com.au/online/...ation_case.asp
http://www.forteantimes.com/articles...cweapons.shtml
Old 22nd June 2006, 11:04   #274

Originally Posted by navin
ScanSpeak does too.
Since Scanspeak is more or less DIY oriented, they would obviously sell components separately. Do they have pre-packaged components sets too??

I was talking about mfr-reps / distributors in India and also out of the mainstream manufacturers, not DIY oriented ones.
Old 22nd June 2006, 11:33   #275

I dont think SS has prepacked sets. BTW SS is more OEM than DIY. They make bulk of their money on sales to Vandersteen, Theil, etc.. than from the DIY sales.
Old 22nd June 2006, 12:19   #276

Originally Posted by navin
ScanSpeak does too.

BTW who is installing your system KB.

As far your choice of car goes I'd suggest you consider the Sonata Embrara
Do Scan Speak and Vifa have distributors in India?

My install will be done by Gunbir an JB himself.... ( ??) - Lots of omelettes and butter chikken - and a few unmentionables.. has been promised!! ... lol

My car... If the Sonata gets a diesel heart - INSTANLY!.. Like I said.. a SUV or a MUV (.. like a more powerful and sporty Innova) is progressively looking more practical - esp for our long hauls with family!
Old 22nd June 2006, 13:25   #277

Folks...

During my research I find that maximum flexibility and benefit can be extracted when one goes ACTIVE... not to mention you also save a considerable sum of money -in some cases as much as 30-40% - or more on the crossver alone!.. This also allows you to mix anad match the best of products to extract the sound of your liking...

Now what exactly is a danger in all this.. Blown tweeters yes!... but when can one contemplate going active... and what would one need to know to be equipped to do so?
Old 22nd June 2006, 13:39   #278

Kb,i think best for u will be to wait till JB/Gunbir comes to you with their stuff.Then u can comapre what all u have finalised with that ek lakh ka amplifier and see the result yourself.
But do go for 3-way set-up.

and abt car,dont u think ur whole set-up be really un-done if u install it in anythting less than BMW/Merc!!!!!! And i beleive u can manage it.
Old 22nd June 2006, 14:14   #279

Originally Posted by rsjaurr
But do go for 3-way set-up.

and abt car,dont u think ur whole set-up be really un-done if u install it in anythting less than BMW/Merc!!!!!! And i beleive u can manage it.

In a sad imitation of a proper sardar-da-accentuh...

"THAARE MUH ME GHEE-SHAKKAR DA TRUCK!!"
... Three way!!...
Old 22nd June 2006, 14:31   #280

Tool

Here are details for Hertz Hi-Energy Series crossovers and combinations

2W10 : HT25 + HV130
2W20 : HT25 + HV165 / HV165L / HV200L
3W10 : HT25 + HL70 + HV165 / HV165L / HV200L
3W20 : HT25 + HL70 + 2 X HV165 / HV165L / HV200L
3W30 : HT25 + HD500 + HV165 / HV165L / HV200L

You go for two way or three way. I will not suggest upgrade from 2way to 3way later on. As tweeter is the only thing which remains unchanged.

In 3-way setup I recommend the paper cone midbass as it plays lower.
Old 22nd June 2006, 15:58   #281

Originally Posted by kb100
In a sad imitation of a proper sardar-da-accentuh...

"THAARE MUH ME GHEE-SHAKKAR DA TRUCK!!"

Kb,this is more of Rajasthani u have written.
If u want to hear it in Punjabi,read it---tuhade muh vich gheo-shaakar da truck
Old 22nd June 2006, 16:13   #282

Originally Posted by rsjaurr
tuhade muh vich gheo-shaakar da truck
YOU SAID IT!!....

RSJ... But seriously... guys all of you are giving me the feeling - "Chavvanne Ki Bandar ko Attanne ki Rassi" - Types... IS this what you are saying?..
Old 22nd June 2006, 16:20   #283

Originally Posted by kb100
RSJ... But seriously... guys all of you are giving me the feeling - "Chavvanne Ki Bandar ko Attanne ki Rassi" - Types... IS this what you are saying?..
no Kb,definately not.
We r just encouraging u.

And my only two tips to u...
1.3-way front compo as i said before.
2.DONT EVEN TALK ABOUT USING HU FOR REAR COAXIALS as u have been doing.
Old 22nd June 2006, 21:27   #284

Hey RSJ.... You got LADY-KILLA looks man!!... ... Nice choice of profession too ... once they SWOOON you can "resuscitate" them ....
Old 22nd June 2006, 22:20   #285

hey bro kb100.. just got home.. am calling ya..
but umm now after JB sir so kindly posted all the combinations and variables.. i think the best option is to go for..
the following comps...
Crossover.. 2W.20.. same as the one in the HSK165 system...
Woofer/midbass = HV165L instead of the HV165.. cause the 165L playes louder and lower..
Tweeter=Ht25...
then later just get the Hd500 and the 3W.30 crossovers.... if the need for going 3 way is there..or then bro.. just get the Mille MLK3 !! hehehehe (then ull need bodygaurds for sure)
this is now what i have finally decided on... any suggestions sir's??
to Sir KB100
PS.. sorry for kinda hijacking your install thead bro.. .. but i hope this hijack helps too....heheh
Booom

Last edited by Tool : 22nd June 2006 at 22:23.