Old 23rd July 2006, 13:26   #16

hehehe....thanks gunman and jk for such wonderful suggestions! i prefer a barbie of atleast 5'8" (no am not talking abt $ex toy).... driven boss....desi is not my taste.

i DONT intend to go in for this setup. i was just curious as i went with someone to that car accessory wala where i discovered this and was just wondering abt the RMS capabilities of desi alpine being making pioneer sub (400 W RMS) pound where sony and pioneer failed. This thread was meant just for having a quantifiable RMS.

anyways, thanks everybody for looking and replying. Mods please close this thread!
Old 23rd July 2006, 15:21   #17

Panky the desi alpine as I told u on the pm are good for those u have a very limited buget although the SQ will be in the gods hand ,but it will surely satisfy the person u has spend only 3.2k for a FOUR CHANNEL amp which can drive two subs or one sub and two speakers or four speakers. thats why dont compare it cost wise with other amps. they surely look expensive against this desi alpine ( here in fbd we call it KALA MOO)......lol
Old 23rd July 2006, 16:15   #18

The question is, will it really be feasible to run speakers off the kala moo
Old 23rd July 2006, 16:31   #19

It will be 100 % feasible but again as said by navin ji trust ur ears and between them. it is ur money and only u going to listen to it not the other.......
Old 23rd July 2006, 17:18   #20

.. Desi stuff uh.. ... if you go by pure cost of components and DIY these amps... I am sure one can do this at in less than fifth the MSRP... in some cases more than tenth too!

Navin was putting together some valve amp.... am sure he can shed more light on this!

I did see some valve amps... simplicity personified they were!
Old 23rd July 2006, 18:49   #21

Yaar KB why do DIY when it is avalable in just mere 3000 bucks......
Old 23rd July 2006, 22:12   #22

not talking about these desi alpines man.... Logically none of the parts in any amp are properietary technology... most of the parts are also available outside... so technically it should be possible to reverse engineer it.... I once saw this site where they do this to all things to arrive at actual cost.... they deduced the Ipod takes Apple $55 to build!!... forget what the site was called
Old 24th July 2006, 11:11   #23

Originally Posted by kb100
.. Navin was putting together some valve amp.... am sure he can shed more light on this!!
Vales are not cheap. Then you may need output transformers as well.