Old 28th July 2006, 00:35   #1

Sony 5505 HU not reading MP3

Hellow all

I have a problem with my HU it reads cds which are neat and clean but it does not read any scratchy cds or neither it plays any MP3 cds...

need some help with this...Do I need to take the HU for some service or can I do it myself...

Old 28th July 2006, 00:53   #2

Try cleaning the pickup lens with a cd lens cleaner. If that doesnt solve it, then take it for a proper service. Sony HUs have this problem of not reading CDs.

BTW, do search forums before you post a new one!
Old 28th July 2006, 11:03   #3

cleaning lens will do no good, as this is the common problem faced my many sony HU.
Sudhir, i too had a sony with the same problem. All i did was, sold it when i got a fair deal for it.
Old 28th July 2006, 11:33   #4

lesn cleaner/disc cleaner

1.What are the better quality cd/dvd lens cleaner brands available in India?
2. How much do these cost and where can we buy em?
Old 28th July 2006, 13:04   #5

discwasher makes a wet cleaner that I have seen around. in any case use a wet cleaner instead of a dry one.
Old 28th July 2006, 14:29   #6

I use Philip lens cleaning cd. It does decent job.
Old 29th July 2006, 07:27   #7

It can be serviced at local electroncis guy at 400Rs . But if you take to Sony service they have just say its a lens complaint and ask you to change the kit for 2k
Old 29th July 2006, 07:38   #8

Originally Posted by navin
discwasher makes a wet cleaner that I have seen around. in any case use a wet cleaner instead of a dry one.
Does wet cleaning decrease the life of a pickup lens??
Some manufacturers of dry cleaning cds claim so. Any truth?
Old 29th July 2006, 10:34   #9

I am not fond of CD based cleaners yet between the 2 evils Wet cleaning is better than dry. it is less prone to scratching your lens.
Old 23rd August 2006, 06:19   #10

Originally Posted by sudhir_nyc
Hellow all

I have a problem with my HU it reads cds which are neat and clean but it does not read any scratchy cds or neither it plays any MP3 cds...

need some help with this...Do I need to take the HU for some service or can I do it myself...

Kya hogaya bhai,

Abhi bhi nahin chal raha? I remembered u playing a cd and claiming it to be mp3 with 10 songs. Liar . Do what i did get a new one
Old 23rd August 2006, 17:54   #11

I am not fond of CD based cleaners yet between the 2 evils Wet cleaning is better than dry. it is less prone to scratching your lens.
how would you do a wet cleaning ?? is there a kit for that or do u have to literally open the unit to do the cleaning ?
Old 23rd August 2006, 18:40   #12

Originally Posted by esteem_lover
how would you do a wet cleaning ?? is there a kit for that or do u have to literally open the unit to do the cleaning ?
In a wet cleaner, you have a cd with a few bristles on the underside surface of the cd that is read by the lens. When the cd is played, these bristles come in contact with the lens surface. So, prior to playing you put a drop or two on the bristles before popping it in and this solution helps clean any stubborn or soluble particles on the lens.

Like Navin said, because of the liquid, there is less friction between the brush and the lens surface and hence prevents scratching.
Old 24th August 2006, 14:29   #13

B&T, the wet cleaners use a small piece of lint free cloth. dry cleaners use bristles.
Old 24th August 2006, 14:43   #14

but this wet or dry cleaning barely helps in old cd player because it cleans the lens only the stuff below the head the mirror which is transmitting the laser above is also dirty with the passage of time and thus the only choice is to service the hu from a authorized service centre......
Old 24th August 2006, 14:47   #15

B&T, the wet cleaners use a small piece of lint free cloth. dry cleaners use bristles.
Oh well, that must be bristle shaped cloth then! I was once tempted to brush my teeth with one, when I forgot my travel kit home on a trip to Ahmedabad.