Team-BHP > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 31st October 2017, 17:27   #31
Ess
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 6
Thanked: 8 Times
Re: Review: R340G head-unit in my Polo GT TSI

Quote:
Originally Posted by prabhuferrari View Post
Got my Vento TSI last friday with this Head unit. Few observations.

Reverse camera works flawlessly. Picture clarity is good and you get the green and red lines for marking.
I have tried to get a reverse camera installed in my new Polo GT TSI with the same head unit. However, when the camera is enabled, App Connect disappears from the system, showing me an error that App Connect is not supported. For some strange reason, the entire coding of the head unit changes when attempting to enable the camera as per the code of the RCD 330G.

If you have a VCDS available, could you let us know what the original coding of the 56-Radio Module is? As both our head units are the same, using the code from your system (with the rear view camera enabled) just might allow me to enable the camera in my car.
Ess is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th November 2017, 14:57   #32
GTO
Team-BHP Support
 
GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 67,648
Thanked: 274,490 Times
Re: Review: R340G head-unit in my Polo GT TSI

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ess View Post
I have tried to get a reverse camera installed in my new Polo GT TSI with the same head unit. However, when the camera is enabled, App Connect disappears from the system, showing me an error that App Connect is not supported.
Thanks to Abhiram for sharing:

Quote:
Hello Team-BHP folks,

I have come to know about a similar problem faced by the user Ess in the following thread; page 3 post #31:

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/car-en...-gt-tsi-3.html

A Polo GT TSI owner - Abhishek Datta - also faced a similar issue and he took the vehicle to the dealer where they attempted many resets which did not fix the problem. Later, the dealer got in touch with someone who knew about this issue and then came up with a new wiring harness to connect the camera to the headunit.

After that and a couple of resets, all the 3 features (Android Auto, CarPlay and Mirrorlink) reappeared on the unit, along with the camera feed. Abhishek confirms that no VCDS coding was done to fix the problem and it took only the wiring harness change and some system resets.

Regards,

Abhiram
GTO is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 16th December 2017, 08:44   #33
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 591
Thanked: 288 Times

Am facing a very strange issue with this Head unit just on Android auto. When I make a phone call people at the other end complain of echo. This goes away if I press the mute button whenever they speak. Else they hear their voice echoing. No such problem on Apple CarPlay. Has anyone else faced this issue ?
prabhuferrari is offline  
Old 16th December 2017, 09:01   #34
BANNED
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 505
Thanked: 558 Times
Re: Review: R340G head-unit in my Polo GT TSI

Is there any update on the availability of this hu from VW or AliExpress?
H_Dogg72 is offline  
Old 16th December 2017, 13:20   #35
BHPian
 
Turbopetrol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: BLR
Posts: 139
Thanked: 103 Times
Re: Review: R340G head-unit in my Polo GT TSI

Quote:
Originally Posted by H_Dogg72 View Post
Is there any update on the availability of this hu from VW or AliExpress?
If you are considering a retrofit, what would be the advantage of this unit over Blaupunkt, Dynavin or other units feature wise?

Last edited by Turbopetrol : 16th December 2017 at 13:24.
Turbopetrol is offline  
Old 16th December 2017, 20:31   #36
BHPian
 
Turbopetrol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: BLR
Posts: 139
Thanked: 103 Times

Quote:
Originally Posted by H_Dogg72 View Post
Is there any update on the availability of this hu from VW or AliExpress?
I found this:

https://m.aliexpress.com/s/item/3284...VW-Tiguan-Golf
Turbopetrol is offline  
Old 17th December 2017, 01:51   #37
BANNED
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 505
Thanked: 558 Times
Re: Review: R340G head-unit in my Polo GT TSI

Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbopetrol View Post
If you are considering a retrofit, what would be the advantage of this unit over Blaupunkt, Dynavin or other units feature wise?
I have an aftermarket Sony hu. Only volume and track steering buttons work.
This one will give AA/CP for not too much money and full steering wheel button compatibility.
Downside :
Audio will be lower quality
No sub out which I'm using along with a monoblock rf amp + RF sub.
No time alignment or listening position.

Price will be much cheaper than any aftermarket HU.
H_Dogg72 is offline  
Old 17th December 2017, 02:20   #38
BHPian
 
Turbopetrol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: BLR
Posts: 139
Thanked: 103 Times

Quote:
Originally Posted by H_Dogg72 View Post
No time alignment or listening position.
Are you referring to the fader function here? Or is some advanced form of that function?
Attached Thumbnails
Review: R340G head-unit in my Polo GT TSI-1513457362264.jpg  

Turbopetrol is offline  
Old 2nd February 2018, 20:19   #39
BHPian
 
scorpio_fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 186
Thanked: 241 Times
Re: Review: R340G head-unit in my Polo GT TSI

Any Polo GT owners successfully installed reverse camera in R340G? I asked dealer about it and he said there is no standard fitment from VW. He claimed he will arrange a third party fitment done from showroom and he is quoting 13k for it. Looks really expensive. If any one could give me some pointers for cheaper option?

Thanks and Regards,
Scorpio Fan
scorpio_fan is offline  
Old 17th April 2018, 20:51   #40
BHPian
 
niteshbids's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Patna
Posts: 148
Thanked: 338 Times
Re: Review: R340G head-unit in my Polo GT TSI

Quote:
Originally Posted by prabhuferrari View Post
Am facing a very strange issue with this Head unit just on Android auto. When I make a phone call people at the other end complain of echo. This goes away if I press the mute button whenever they speak. Else they hear their voice echoing. No such problem on Apple CarPlay. Has anyone else faced this issue ?
I'm facing the same issue in my car. Have you found a solution to this problem? Or does anyone else have any info on this issue? Any help will be greatly appreciated.
niteshbids is offline  
Old 17th April 2018, 21:37   #41
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 591
Thanked: 288 Times

Quote:
Originally Posted by niteshbids View Post
I'm facing the same issue in my car. Have you found a solution to this problem? Or does anyone else have any info on this issue? Any help will be greatly appreciated.

No solution. I just mute when the other person speaks and I mute when I speak. Was tough in beginning but used to it now. Kind of defeats the purpose though.
prabhuferrari is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th April 2018, 21:58   #42
BHPian
 
niteshbids's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Patna
Posts: 148
Thanked: 338 Times
Re: Review: R340G head-unit in my Polo GT TSI

Quote:
Originally Posted by prabhuferrari View Post
No solution. I just mute when the other person speaks and I mute when I speak. Was tough in beginning but used to it now. Kind of defeats the purpose though.
That's sad. I wish there was a better and permanent solution to this problem.
niteshbids is offline  
Old 10th May 2018, 10:51   #43
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Eranakulam
Posts: 276
Thanked: 194 Times
Re: Review: R340G head-unit in my Polo GT TSI

Hi all

I recently got an RCD 330 - part number 6RF035187E for my 2015 Polo GT TSI

Details of the unit

Review: R340G head-unit in my Polo GT TSI-img_20180509_194402_hdr.jpg

When I connect my phone (Xiaomi Mi5) to use android auto, I get the following error

Review: R340G head-unit in my Polo GT TSI-screenshot_20180510082448712_com.google.android.gms.png

I tried using 2 other phones and cables (Xiaomi Redmi 4, Samsung Galaxy S7) - same error

I can set the car's time on the instrument cluster, but I do not see any option to set the date (either on the instrument cluster or on the radio itself)

I searched around google for the solution to this error and various steps given were to un-install and re-install android auto, disable "set time automatically" option in phone, enable usb debugging etc. I tried all of them and still the same error.

Any pointers on how this error can be solved?

Thanks
Games Goblin is offline  
Old 18th May 2018, 20:22   #44
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 103
Thanked: 46 Times
Re: Review: R340G head-unit in my Polo GT TSI

Quote:
Originally Posted by Games Goblin View Post
Hi all

I recently got an RCD 330 - part number 6RF035187E for my 2015 Polo GT TSI

Details of the unit

Attachment 1759545

Thanks
James,

Where do you buy this from ? Aliexpress ?
rauldsouza is offline  
Old 21st May 2018, 23:18   #45
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Eranakulam
Posts: 276
Thanked: 194 Times
Re: Review: R340G head-unit in my Polo GT TSI

Quote:
Originally Posted by rauldsouza View Post
James,

Where do you buy this from ? Aliexpress ?
Hi Raul

Yes, I obtained this unit from Aliexpress. I have tried many solutions I found browsing through the web, but unfortunately none of them worked. Looks like I will be returning this unit.
Games Goblin is offline  
Reply

Most Viewed
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Copyright 2000 - 2023, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks