Battery Effect due to ICE Usage

I drive a viva crdi and have the following ICE set-up

Pio 6850
Sony 4-Channel Amp
Pio Sub-Woofer
Blaunpunkt Front Comps
JBL Rear co-axials

My question is can i play my music even if my engine is switched off? I mean will this drain the battery or something?

Is it different for a petrol engine against a diesel one?

Please advice
Old 11th January 2007, 14:49   #2

Better not play music with the engine off. You have an amp and a sub. That is reason enough. Extended sessions will drain the battery. Short sessions (5 minutes or so) may not cause as much harm, but why take the risk?

I never use my ICE with the engine off -- not even for a minute. And now I've got into the habit of switching off my HU before turning the engine off, so starting the engine later will not strain the battery, with 2 amps and a HU to power-up along with the engine. I have a 1.2 (Petrol) Palio, by the way.

I'm not sure if a diesel car will behave differently.
Old 11th January 2007, 15:18   #3

My wife's car has 2 amps (a Blau velocity 504 and a PA275) she has run her system for about 5-10 minutes with the car off without a problem but any extended session would drain the battery to the level where there wont be enough cranking amps to start your car.
Old 11th January 2007, 15:30   #4

I have a 6850 also. I use its inbuilt volt meter when I use the system witht he engine off. I use it max till about 12.1V remaining. Have never faced a problem.
Old 11th January 2007, 15:39   #5

Get a battery with higher Ah.
For example if your car needs a 55Ah battery, get one which is rated at 65Ah. This should take care of medium length sessions.
Old 11th January 2007, 15:44   #6

check this thread
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/car-en...much-load.html
Old 11th January 2007, 15:59   #7

Thank You

Thanks a bunch folks, Since mine is a new car, dont intend to change the batter just for the sake of music.

I reckon will stick to music on the move

I got my answer. Mods, Kindly do the needful
Old 11th January 2007, 16:03   #8

At low volumes, i think you can easily run for about half an hour with no trouble. At higher volumes i'd say 15 minutes.

But be careful. Imagine the scenario.

You're with your lady, sitting by the sea, whispering sweet nothings. You play soft romantic music to get her into the mood. And it's your lucky day. The lips meet, the hands explore. The sweetest time flies by accompanied by beautiful songs.

Then it's late and she has to go home. And your car doesnt start and she can't steer, so you ask her to push. There goes love, down the toilet. Better to start your car and play music.
Old 11th January 2007, 16:08   #9

Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
But be careful. Imagine the scenario.

You're with your lady, sitting by the sea, whispering sweet nothings. You play soft romantic music to get her into the mood. And it's your lucky day. The lips meet, the hands explore. The sweetest time flies by accompanied by beautiful songs.

Then it's late and she has to go home. And your car doesnt start and she can't steer, so you ask her to push. There goes love, down the toilet. Better to start your car and play music.
Thanks Sam-bang on target, thats exactly i am afraid of
Old 11th January 2007, 16:22   #10

Never try this in your car

And you get her all panting by the wrong means. LOL. sam, you are a riot.

i have used/been using my ICE for extended periods, say 80-120mins with the engine off. so far sam's scenario has not happened to me. but i would not recommend anyone to try this & curse me for giving false ideas.

BTW, i have a DVD player, amp, sub, LCD screen all running at that time & my battery is DIng Dong Amaron. I guess it also depends on the car's running & the battery condition also. If you are driving for extended periods in the night, then your battery is not at full charge, in a petrol engine scenario. On the other hand, if you drive extensively during the day, then your battery is in top charge, just like sam is when he sits in his car under the moonlight.

Last edited by esteem_lover : 11th January 2007 at 16:25. Reason: Title
Old 11th January 2007, 16:58   #11

Battery should have top charge even with headlights and AC on. I have driven 8 hours at night with Headlights(130/110W), AC and ICE system(mp3 player at medium volume).
Check the voltage at your battery terminals with Lights and AC on, if it falls below 12.5 there is trouble brewing with your alternator.
Old 11th January 2007, 17:07   #12

@tsk1979...it will charge, but there will be moments when you are stuck in the traffic with the headlights & AC on, there will be a discharge in petrol engines.
Old 11th January 2007, 21:00   #13

Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
so you ask her to push.
Asking is one thing, and happening is another. Faced with such a request, the only thing mine would push is me.. down a cliff.
Old 11th January 2007, 23:57   #14

Originally Posted by esteem_lover View Post
@tsk1979...it will charge, but there will be moments when you are stuck in the traffic with the headlights & AC on, there will be a discharge in petrol engines.
In my indica diesel even at idle with headlights and AC on it stays above 12, in the 12.5 range. So battery is always charging.
Old 12th January 2007, 00:11   #15

in idle with ac & headlights on, the ideal position is being neutral, else the battery could get screwed up. i really dont know much about diesels. i had a 118 with nissan diesel engine & it had absolutely no battery hassles, basically because the diesels do not require the battery power when the engine is running, but the petrols always require battery power