Old 12th June 2007, 15:55   #31

Originally Posted by panky12345 View Post
Eye - opening post.....interesting finding Rags!!
umm.. It was LBM that found this post, where is rags involved in this? Silly panky.

But yes, most curious.

From last year's post
Originally Posted by Tool
Complete Car is wired with Stinger Expert Series + Entire Power Wiring is Done with Stinger Expert series 0 guage Wires .I have also made sure that the distance from the capacitor to any amplifier .. alpine or blaupunkt does not exeed 12 inches (1 foot) and even those cables are monster 4 gauge. + Install = 25,000 Rs. + 17 foot stinger 0 guage power wire cost me 70 $ and the stinger RCA's cost me 260 $. got those from the states yesterday.. sister got them down so thats about 15,000 Rs
You got a 9dB increase by changing after replacing that stuff?

I think there must be an mistake somewhere. Either in that post you made last year, or in this one.

Edit: I don't doubt you brother tool, just curious. Because that Stinger Expert 0 Gauge is pretty superlative power cable. If you already had that, what would you upgrade to?

Last edited by Sam Kapasi : 12th June 2007 at 15:58.
Old 12th June 2007, 18:22   #32

Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
Tool what was the reading you are getting with +9db sound.....139 db and earlier it was 130 db like wise....
Tool you did not mentioned the figures ?????
Old 12th June 2007, 20:09   #33

Hahah Gunbir Bro.. tooo funnyyy hehehehehe. Made me Crack up .
Especially after last night. Had a dude Ram into the back of my car. No damage to the GEAR. But i need a new dicky . Will post pics. Why me god?? why me ?? hehehehe
AS for the 0 guage stingers..
Yes thats true .. had wired with 0 guage Stingers .My stinger 0 guage expert wires had got very badly cut so had them removed a very long time ago.
Had them intially but were cut somehow during installation or after because of a faulty installation. I scrapped that wire after seeing a deep gash in the rubber jacket.
When i wasent getting the desired result in terms of quality i went to another installer (Fm Drive in bandra) and its was him who pointed this out to me that my wire was cut very bad.
(this was way before i ordered my IDQ's from Sir Gunbir, Was still running my audiobhan Sub and wasent happy so i got the system checked out and found this at Fm drive thanx to Mr pankaj.he owns the place.).
These were my pre Team bhp days i didnt know much in this regard... wasent paying attention during that install.Like said said its my loss..not knowing about Team BHP.Would have wired the car myself dammit !!
My old stinger Expert Series RCA's are still doing Duty on my dad's RS though and going super Strong.
Ran my system on 4 guage audiobhan super flow cable cables till i could raise enough cash to get the connection audison's Main Power Cables.
Bro lbm i hit 127.29 DB as peak at 30 volume on Hu.(on my 4 guage audiobhan cable)
Now at 30 volume on HU i hit 136.08 as peak
Hope this clears things up.
Big Big Boom again everyone.
Thanx Again Gunbir

Last edited by Tool : 12th June 2007 at 20:13.
Old 12th June 2007, 20:14   #34

Also you can have covered the damaged part of the stinger power cable with insulation tape...

I hate to ask you again ....which equipment did you used to measure .01 db resolutions.

Last edited by low_bass_makker : 12th June 2007 at 20:23.
Old 12th June 2007, 20:29   #35

meyer sound labs Sound Mapp.It also does Db measurements.
Did it on laptop. At the Studio. Can find out Exact details about software version and stuff if you want.
Also measured on a Radio shak DB meter but thats low resolution. Gives only 3 digits and not ultra accurate. It gave me a difference of 7 DB

Last edited by Tool : 12th June 2007 at 20:37.
Old 12th June 2007, 22:55   #36

Tool. Just one question. Did you change the connectors when you changed the cables. I suspect the 7-9db difference might be due to a bad connector or even a partial cold solder on one connector. Another possibility could a change of battery (from old to new).
Old 12th June 2007, 23:59   #37

Also you can have covered the damaged part of the stinger power cable with insulation tape.
Thats called jugaad. Many people cannot afford to do that, they rather buy new cables

Last edited by Autophile : 13th June 2007 at 00:04.
Old 13th June 2007, 00:17   #38

Originally Posted by Autophile View Post
Thats called jugaad. Many people cannot afford to do that, they rather buy new cables
and spend 60k on them also.....
Old 13th June 2007, 00:49   #39

and spend 60k on them also.....
These words don't suit a person who has spent almost 60K on subs, 30K on front stage powered by 2 lakhs worth of amplifiers hooked on to 30K headunit and 50K processor & controller and who just bought Sommer / Supra cables with Neutrik Connectors.

Interconnect cable at 750 Rs. a meter is not cheap by car audio standards. Thats 15K just for signal cables excuding the Neutrik Interconnects.

You could afford to buy these cables which are pointless for a guy with 20K ICE budget but you did as you may justify them.

Tool did the same thing, whats the big deal?
Old 13th June 2007, 09:45   #40

Note from mod: Guys lets just discuss the equipment, not the rights or wrong of spending 60K/100K or 2L on audio. Its a personal choice, so let it be
Old 13th June 2007, 12:06   #41

Originally Posted by Autophile View Post
These words don't suit a person who has spent almost 60K on subs, 30K on front stage powered by 2 lakhs worth of amplifiers hooked on to 30K headunit and 50K processor & controller and who just bought Sommer / Supra cables with Neutrik Connectors.

Interconnect cable at 750 Rs. a meter is not cheap by car audio standards. Thats 15K just for signal cables excuding the Neutrik Interconnects.

You could afford to buy these cables which are pointless for a guy with 20K ICE budget but you did as you may justify them.

Tool did the same thing, whats the big deal?
Phaji you get angry very fast.....cooldown ho jayo...

the rca from HU to processor

6 meter x 750 = 4500
4 plugs = 600

rca from processor to amp

20 meters x 175 = 3500
12 plugs = 1800

total comes to Rs 10400 and I am using Acoustic Research 16 gauge speaker cable costed me Rs 3200 for 100 feet which is not used fully

for power cable Finolex 0 gauge it costed me Rs 1600 and thimble and other stuff costed me Rs 500

for the woofer wire I am using L&T (Safe and Sure) 12 gauge wire it costed me approx Rs 200

so total wiring cost is 10400 + 3200 + 1600 + 500 + 200 = 15900
Old 13th June 2007, 12:31   #42

total comes to Rs 10400 and I am using Acoustic Research 16 gauge speaker cable costed me Rs 3200 for 100 feet which is not used fully

LBM, after all these installs and reinstall you must have lot of connectors and wires left over. Could you save them for me
Old 13th June 2007, 12:34   #43

LBM, after all these installs and reinstall you must have lot of connectors and wires left over. Could you save them for me
Yes there are but the are in shorter lengths and will require joints to make them long......
Old 13th June 2007, 12:37   #44

great idea. between Tool's and LBM's left overs you should be quite well covered. Sam's "left overs" can also be useful. :-)
Old 13th June 2007, 13:48   #45

Yes there are but the are in shorter lengths and will require joints to make them long......
Hmm I will try and get the amps placed in such a way that no joints are needed. Worst case I will buy some cable too. So just keep some for me.

Originally Posted by navin View Post
great idea. between Tool's and LBM's left overs you should be quite well covered. Sam's "left overs" can also be useful. :-)
Good, now I don't have to worry about. Sam's left overs can be sticky, so I am told. Otherwise I am game