Old 29th June 2007, 22:37   #31

A picture is worth 1000 words, after all!
Old 30th June 2007, 07:34   #32

Originally Posted by Bass&Trouble View Post
LBM, YOU are the DEVIL.
no sir I am still a child at my heart.

Originally Posted by santosh.s View Post
A picture is worth 1000 words, after all!
Very ture Santosh Ji
Old 2nd July 2007, 02:23   #33

Surface mounting?? I have a related question, it is know to be vulnerable to cleaner guys if mounted using double sided tapes. But doest it hold true if they are properly fastened using screws or nut-bolts?
ya it is vulnerable when mounted on the surface but one can cover then with some balloon to protect them while the car goes for service.

the better way is to tighten them with screw as the double table loses its grip in the vibrations in the car and the hot environment . but a spacer of sponge must be used so that the tweeter body does not vibrate with the dash.
Old 2nd July 2007, 07:14   #34

Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
ya it is vulnerable when mounted on the surface but one can cover then with some balloon to protect them while the car goes for service.
Most curious. Are you telling me you cover your tweeters with condoms (I assume that's what you mean) before you send the car for service?

While very innovative and functional, it would look extremely funny.
Old 2nd July 2007, 08:09   #35

Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
Most curious. Are you telling me you cover your tweeters with condoms (I assume that's what you mean) before you send the car for service?

As in that TV ad, jor se bolo...condooooooom!
Me too wondering what kind of balloons are expected here? Polythene sheet with bubbles, one that is used for packing?
Old 2nd July 2007, 10:01   #36

I guess screws is the best bet as they dont leave too much of a mark when you sell the car you can just cover up the screw holes with m-seal or something.

Whereas regarding protection for the tweeter this came to mind after reading L_B_M's post:
I can just picture it L_B_M giving his car for service. the service engineer wants to take it away to the service bay. but alas at the last moment he realises that his tweeters aren't protected. runs after the car shouting ruk jao ruk jao tweeter par condom lagaana hai. the service guy stunned stops the car L_B_M then removes a packet of condoms from his pocket and neatly puts it on the tweeters and tells the service guy tweeter ko protect karna padta hai. seeing L_B_M put condoms on the tweeters the service guy faints. lol!!!

Sorry L_B_M no offence meant hope you dont mind.

Last edited by Vid6639 : 2nd July 2007 at 10:03.
Old 2nd July 2007, 10:25   #37

As in that TV ad, jor se bolo...condooooooom!
Me too wondering what kind of balloons are expected here? Polythene sheet with bubbles, one that is used for packing?
Originally Posted by vid6639 View Post
seeing L_B_M put condoms on the tweeters the service guy faints. lol!!!Sorry L_B_M no offence meant hope you dont mind
Tchah, and @iraghava was calling me a "dirty old man" !!!
Obviously either you guys don't have kids at home or don't celebrate birthdays.
Old 2nd July 2007, 10:41   #38

Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
Tchah, and @iraghava was calling me a "dirty old man" !
The difference, Der Alte, is that these guys are young - they do NOT qualify. it is we who are OLD and hence qualify for such title. They call me Crazy Old Man.

BTW just so that you feel better Dirty Old Man can be acronymed to "DOM". Happy?
Old 2nd July 2007, 15:26   #39

Hmm yes I want to write condom but I thought balloon will be a good decent word for it...a normal balloon cannot stretch much but the condom can also cover my 3inch dome midrange driver without any problem...

but guys seriously is that a nice idea....it can also work as a scent also...like banana, vanilla flavor.
Old 2nd July 2007, 15:28   #40

[quote=vid6639;486218]seeing L_B_M put condoms on the tweeters the service guy faints. lol!!! quote]

and LBM says "Better safe than sorry"! It reminds me of a joke:

What is the similarity between a pregnant woman and a burnt toast?

kaash, ek minute pehle nikaal liya hota!!
Old 2nd July 2007, 15:38   #41

Originally Posted by vid6639 View Post
I guess screws is the best bet as they dont leave too much of a mark when you sell the car you can just cover up the screw holes with m-seal or something.

Whereas regarding protection for the tweeter this came to mind after reading L_B_M's post:
I can just picture it L_B_M giving his car for service. the service engineer wants to take it away to the service bay. but alas at the last moment he realises that his tweeters aren't protected. runs after the car shouting ruk jao ruk jao tweeter par condom lagaana hai. the service guy stunned stops the car L_B_M then removes a packet of condoms from his pocket and neatly puts it on the tweeters and tells the service guy tweeter ko protect karna padta hai. seeing L_B_M put condoms on the tweeters the service guy faints. lol!!!

Sorry L_B_M no offence meant hope you dont mind.
no problems sir....
Old 2nd July 2007, 15:49   #42

Tchah, and @iraghava was calling me a "dirty old man" !!!
Obviously either you guys don't have kids at home or don't celebrate birthdays.
Not without reason sir, not without reason

And yes you're partly right, Sam & Vid don't have kids while LBM's daughter is very young yet!
Old 2nd July 2007, 16:24   #43

Originally Posted by iraghava View Post
Not without reason sir, not without reason
Ahem, I was talking about kids and real balloons, which obviously @LBM wasn't.

And, with the guys going on and on about condoms, flavours and "my 3inch dome midrange driver", I think I should retire to the hills - "man changa to kathauti mein Ganga"!!!
Old 2nd July 2007, 16:59   #44

Ahem, I was talking about kids and real balloons, which obviously @LBM wasn't.
actually it was the balloon but I liked the condom idea better.
Old 2nd July 2007, 17:33   #45

So condoms get other duties as well!!!!

BTW, why do Blaupunkt name their HUs after name of places?