Old 5th July 2007, 19:37   #46

Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
Currently I tinker with lexicon (my profession) and play with my whammy bar (my hobby)
Sam, after your 'visit OT' advice to @panky, all your descriptions sound like "there is something black in the pulses"-type of double entendre!
Old 5th July 2007, 20:43   #47

Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
I used to play my P-80RS with the PXA-H701 along with the required stuff.
Why don't you play it anymore? Did anything go BOOM?
Old 5th July 2007, 20:49   #48

Is OT got something to do with Geylang?
Old 5th July 2007, 20:52   #49

Well, yes and no. The basic nature of business is the same as geylang. But it is more, umm.. specialised and refined. With various categories on different levels of OT. Add to that music and alcohol and karaoke.

By the way we are dangerously OT. I suggest we stop or next we will be discussing other fiery things like roti-prata and mee goreng.

Last edited by Sam Kapasi : 5th July 2007 at 20:55.
Old 5th July 2007, 21:55   #50

Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
What, and where, were you playing?

That explains some parts in your writings (you haven't answered my earlier question about the book), Germany and a little bit of USA. The reason why you stopped must have been something traumatic so I wouldn't ask (I had one, I can empathize).

OK, I'll take your word for it. Tried doing a CSI-style image enhancement on your avatar - nope, FUBAR. How about hosting the 'strip somewhere?
Der Alte,
It is a nice git. I have donated it to a friend along with my Strat, 2 Marshalls, and a bag full of nylon Jim Dunlops. since he is active and I am not. He's changed the intonation on it so it is now even faster. 3 years or so ago I tried it and damn, the git almost took off. Those who have a git that is way too much for them to handle will understand.

I played for myself. For a few friends weddings (covers of rock songs - nobody likes orignals, atleast not my orignals). For a few women I tried to bed or did I?

Well I stopped because I ran out of inspiration. Unlike the Yeti I was horrible with the ladies and everytime relationships crashed I would play. I would write soppy love ballads (except one song about sodomy and necrohpilia which was written as a challenge to write anythnig but soppy love ballads). So one day I get a girl, get married, and am happy and since I am not miserable anymore I dont feel like playing and dont care to write.

The strip was a 4 part strip (I think it was 4 or 5 parts) written by a young friend who I dont see around anymore. He moved on and so did I.

Last edited by navin : 5th July 2007 at 21:59.
Old 5th July 2007, 23:13   #51

Originally Posted by iraghava View Post
Why don't you play it anymore? Did anything go BOOM?
yaar i was trying to be in past tense here...

everything is fine. and planing for the third Steg now.
Old 6th July 2007, 11:04   #52

kya yaar.... i just logged in after 2 days to see lotta replies....ab saare mere peeche pad gaye!!

bhaiyon, he does sells and stocks Pio/JBL/Sony/JVC etc etc. I checked about 7950 ONLY, to which he replied that he needs to check out and he never called me back with prices. so i assumed that he might not have that model.
Old 6th July 2007, 11:22   #53

Originally Posted by panky12345 View Post
kya yaar.... i just logged in after 2 days to see lotta replies....ab saare mere peeche pad gaye!!

bhaiyon, he does sells and stocks Pio/JBL/Sony/JVC etc etc. I checked about 7950 ONLY, to which he replied that he needs to check out and he never called me back with prices. so i assumed that he might not have that model.
check it out now he might be having now. but dont get the Hu from the Singapore..
Old 7th July 2007, 13:00   #54

nah LBM, after all the suggestions, I've decided NOT to buy HU from Singapore. Actually, the purpose of starting the thread was simple, if I could save some money as I did while shopping in US. Never been to singapore before, as such wanted some suggestions!!
Old 7th July 2007, 13:01   #55

I thought Orchard Towers was a good suggestion, you know.

But yes, this is a good conclusion. It is pointless to buy a Pioneer HU from singapore. The grey rate here is almost the same and even though you don't have a warranty, atleast you have someone responsible for a short while.

Last edited by Sam Kapasi : 7th July 2007 at 13:03.
Old 7th July 2007, 16:17   #56

Originally Posted by panky12345 View Post
nah LBM, after all the suggestions, I've decided NOT to buy HU from Singapore. Actually, the purpose of starting the thread was simple, if I could save some money as I did while shopping in US. Never been to singapore before, as such wanted some suggestions!!
But do get some othere stuff from Singapore ....
Old 9th July 2007, 13:01   #57

Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
But do get some othere stuff from Singapore ....
Sure. You can get soe excellent tubes, and OPTs there. panky if you want to know where to get KT88 or 6550 or even 807 and some really nice custom OPT (from EL84PP to 807 SE) let me know.

Even some relatively esoteric stuff like the Augie 15" dipole fullrange drivers, Fostex and Lowthers, etc are available. Jordan is still not well represented there though.
Old 9th July 2007, 13:50   #58

LOL navin!! it'll take me ages to understand all the figures/names you mentioned!!
Old 9th July 2007, 13:50   #59

Originally Posted by navin View Post
Sure. You can get soe excellent tubes, and OPTs there. panky if you want to know where to get KT88 or 6550 or even 807 and some really nice custom OPT (from EL84PP to 807 SE) let me know.

Even some relatively esoteric stuff like the Augie 15" dipole fullrange drivers, Fostex and Lowthers, etc are available. Jordan is still not well represented there though.
Brilliant idea. Maybe some Fostex's with Helmholtz-resonator-type phase plugs OB-mounted Linkwitz-style will elevate @panky to nirvana.

But, Navin-ji, you must give @panky the location of the shops, and then the schematics when he is back, otherwise instead of attaining nirvana he will be trishanku.

@panky-bhai, don't worry about the costs, your credit cards will work.
Old 9th July 2007, 13:58   #60

Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
Maybe some Fostex's with Helmholtz-resonator-type phase plugs OB-mounted Linkwitz-style will elevate @panky to nirvana.
there is this place opposite SIM LIM square where I go. will get names later in panky wants.