Old 8th June 2009, 18:22   #76

Pankaj Ji go for the Clarion you will enjoy every bit of it.
Old 8th June 2009, 19:36   #77

Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
Pankaj Ji go for the Clarion you will enjoy every bit of it.
Can someone please point out the benefits if installing the clarion and chucking out a Pio HU (7950) I think TA is the single most important factor for this? Does TA really make that much of a difference? There was a world before TA too right
How much of a difference does TA make in an alto ?
@razor sorry to hijack your thread buddy.
Old 8th June 2009, 19:41   #78

ta wont make too much of a difference in the alto, as far as I see it.
yes, for a car with a boot, it makes a sea of a difference. but then again, I have no experience of extended listening to TA in a hatch.
Old 8th June 2009, 21:09   #79

It does make a difference Frank.
Having heard LBM's car at a length with and without TA ( While auditioning the Carbons some time ago), i could so very well understand that no matter which car you have, TA is really pretty helpful.
Unless you place the Mid bass on the dash itself
Old 9th June 2009, 10:38   #80

Originally Posted by arpandiv View Post
Can someone please point out the benefits if installing the clarion and chucking out a Pio HU (7950) I think TA is the single most important factor for this? Does TA really make that much of a difference? There was a world before TA too right
How much of a difference does TA make in an alto ?
@razor sorry to hijack your thread buddy.

I said for the clarion as it is a better sound HU than the current Pioneer series. TA is just a bonus you will get.
Old 9th June 2009, 18:37   #81

Arpan, TA does make a difference. I was using Pioneer 5050 in my Getz till the Clarion 'bhoot' struck me.

Believe me, I have tried playing the Clarion without TA also. Obviously, it sounds better than the Pioneer even without TA, but the point that I want to stress here is that TA does make a noticeable difference in a hatch also.
Old 9th June 2009, 18:47   #82

@lbm, NG
Okay what i want to learn is why is clarion better sounding then Pio. I have a Pio6850 so if i junk it and put in the clarion 785 without using TA will i get better sound ? if yes then why.
Old 9th June 2009, 18:57   #83

I think you will.
The Pioneer is a bit harsh whereas Clarion will sound more sweet.

Your highs would be warmer and less harsh. The vocals will be better and the sub will be sounding a lot better. ( all conclusions based on a friend's install who changed from Pioneer to Clarion and felt a lot better)
His too was using the 6850.
Old 10th June 2009, 09:34   #84

Originally Posted by arpandiv View Post
@lbm, NG
Okay what i want to learn is why is clarion better sounding then Pio. I have a Pio6850 so if i junk it and put in the clarion 785 without using TA will i get better sound ? if yes then why.
Yes you definitely will. On the facts side, because of these reasons:
1. 24 bit DAC
2. 6v RCA preouts

And this is what the above translates into:
Originally Posted by abhinav.gupta88 View Post
I think you will.
The Pioneer is a bit harsh whereas Clarion will sound more sweet.

Your highs would be warmer and less harsh. The vocals will be better and the sub will be sounding a lot better. ( all conclusions based on a friend's install who changed from Pioneer to Clarion and felt a lot better)
His too was using the 6850.
+ balanced, natural sound in all ranges - low, mid, high. There are so many details that are brought out by the Clarion that I was amazed. Maybe the processor in the Pioneer suppresses these in order to 'jazz' up the music (what appeals to the masses).

The same song sounds quite a lot different. Hell, I dont need to explain all this yaar, you have already heard my setup. Better still, come with your test tracks (high quality mp3s) and have an audition to clear your doubts.
Old 10th June 2009, 12:11   #85

Thanks guys.. this was the exact info I was looking for.
Old 10th June 2009, 15:03   #86

The Pioneer 6850 had Burr-Brown converters - those are one of the best around and not found in other Pios (even the 6950 didnt have them). Do make sure that you audition a couple of other HU's before junking this one.
Old 10th June 2009, 16:05   #87

6850? Burr Brown?
Old 10th June 2009, 16:13   #88

Originally Posted by jaibir View Post
The Pioneer 6850 had Burr-Brown converters - those are one of the best around and not found in other Pios (even the 6950 didnt have them). Do make sure that you audition a couple of other HU's before junking this one.
Originally Posted by nitrous View Post
6850? Burr Brown?
Double shocked! I thought other than the P80 series, Pioneers didnt have any good dacs!!
Old 10th June 2009, 16:25   #89

I don't know if 6850 had Burr or not, but it sure sounds anyday better than 6950, 7950 and the newer models.
Old 17th June 2009, 23:39   #90

611a is here!

After the arrival of the Clarion 785, it's the turn of the Infinity Reference 611a mono amp! Sadly, like the HU, the amp too will be moth-balled and kept in storage for a while until the time comes to fit it. For now, here are some pics.

ICE for Phoenix-dsc00154.jpg

ICE for Phoenix-dsc00156.jpg

ICE for Phoenix-dsc00157.jpg

ICE for Phoenix-dsc00158.jpg

ICE for Phoenix-img_2967.jpg

ICE for Phoenix-img_2968.jpg

ICE for Phoenix-img_2971.jpg

ICE for Phoenix-img_2973.jpg

ICE for Phoenix-img_2982.jpg

ICE for Phoenix-img_2983.jpg

ICE for Phoenix-img_2985.jpg