Old 18th August 2007, 11:22   #16

Originally Posted by panky12345 View Post
Sorry for going OT: is there is a bass control for JBL 301.1? I'd love to have it in front cauz lot many times I just want to hear a song with little to no bass.
Panky ji there is a direct button on the 7950 for the Sub woofer setting...you can adjust it from there..
Old 18th August 2007, 12:58   #17

Sorry for going OT: is there is a bass control for JBL 301.1? I'd love to have it in front cauz lot many times I just want to hear a song with little to no bass.
Even I had a query regarding this.

There is an optional RLC - Bass control that can be used with GTO series monoblocks and GTO755.6.

It looks like this:

Sam bhai, can I buy this and use it with my CS300.1?

As per my understanding, it is just RCA input from HU and RCA output to the amp and can be easily installed. But I was wondering why it is not recommended?

Last edited by rocksterraghu : 18th August 2007 at 13:03.
Old 18th August 2007, 13:09   #18

Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
Panky ji there is a direct button on the 7950 for the Sub woofer setting...you can adjust it from there..
LBM bhai, aap mere ko 7950 kharidwaa ke hi dum loge!

How about settings? First I tune AMP (which would remain static by and large), then HU (variable)??
Old 18th August 2007, 13:13   #19

Originally Posted by rocksterraghu View Post
Even I had a query regarding this.

There is an optional RLC - Bass control that can be used with GTO series monoblocks and GTO755.6.

It looks like this:

As per my understanding, it is just RCA input from HU and RCA output to the amp and can be easily installed. But I was wondering why it is not recommended?
Is it universal? I have one from audiobahn that came with my audiobahn (crap) amplifier. Will it fit?
Old 18th August 2007, 13:27   #20

Is it universal?
That was my precise question to Sam bhai. See this link:

http://caraudiosecurity.com/shop/pro...ts_id/333.html

I was wondering why only the GTO amplifiers were mentioned, while all it does is connect through RCAs on both ends

Anyway, I'll leave this to Sam bhai. I am waiting with my card ready to be swiped if he says there will be no issues in using it with CS300.1.

By the way, I think we're hijacking this thread. Sorry mods, please move this to the 'Product Discussions' section if you wish to, thanks.

Last edited by rocksterraghu : 18th August 2007 at 13:28.
Old 18th August 2007, 16:58   #21

Originally Posted by rocksterraghu View Post
E

It looks like this:

Because baba, it is connected to the amplifier, not the HU. There is a specific jack used between the RLC and the amp (not RCA but a registered jack RJ14, similar in size to RJ11 )
This RLC (remote level controller) can only be used with these monoblocks
  • GTO301.1
  • GTO601.1
  • GTO1201.1
  • BPX2200.1
    and
  • The six channel amp GTO755.6
It cannot be connected to the CS300.1.

Moreover, though these are sold seperately, till stocks last, these are given FREE with the above monoblocks. (755.6 is not sold in India officially)
Old 18th August 2007, 17:41   #22

Looks real nice...when do Puneites get a demo?
Old 18th August 2007, 17:46   #23

Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
Because baba, it is connected to the amplifier, not the HU. There is a specific jack used between the RLC and the amp (not RCA but a registered jack RJ14, similar in size to RJ11 )
Thanks for the clarification Sam, I think I misconstrued this statement:

"Connects in-line between stereo and amplifier using standard RCA cables"

given here: http://caraudiosecurity.com/shop/pro...ts_id/333.html

The site may have mentioned that by mistake.
Old 18th August 2007, 18:53   #24

SAM, given your above reply.... Can I use my audiobahn wala control in my JBL 301.1 if I connect it to the amp replacing the jack?
Old 18th August 2007, 22:38   #25

SAM, given your above reply.... Can I use my audiobahn wala control in my JBL 301.1 if I connect it to the amp replacing the jack?

NO (20 character)
Old 19th August 2007, 08:58   #26

Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
NO (20 character)

WHY? dont you think rest everything is same, only jack is different?
Old 19th August 2007, 10:20   #27

Is it universal? I have one from audiobahn that came with my audiobahn (crap) amplifier. Will it fit?
No! if it does it is a pure accident.
Old 19th August 2007, 14:18   #28

WHY? dont you think rest everything is same, only jack is different?
the internal wires wiring could be different...
Old 19th August 2007, 14:49   #29

Then how could i find without installing Dr. LBM?
Old 19th August 2007, 16:57   #30

@Panky-bhai may just be right - that the difference could be only that of connector. Wouldn't one expect a simple poti inside that box? That is, only a simple variable resistor in series at some point in the amplification chain (wiper connected to one end, 2 pins effectively), or a traditional volume tap-off on the signal (3-pin connection). Passive component, no power; also perhaps there are no L or C components inside this box.

If it is the first one, then no luck, @panky-bhai, even replacing the connector will not make a difference . Unless, that is, the poti is wired like the second case internally, in which case the RJ connector is to prevent misuse / confusion and simplify wiring for the JBL mono-blocks.

If it is the second case - then it is only a matter of using the right connector for signal-in and signal-out. You could check how the connectors are wired in the Audiobahn one with a multimeter - resistance measurement.
1. There would be continuity between Input ground and Output ground (i.e. resistance < 1ohm), but variable resistance between the Input and Output signal pins
2. The resistance between the ground and the Input signal pin will NOT vary when you move the knob
3. The resistance between ground and Output signal pin will vary as you move the knob, from almost zero (Min position) to same resistance on the Input side (Max position).

If the above is true, then the Sub-out signal from HU could be wired to the Input of the Audiobahn poti, and the Output to the amplifier. I might be completely wrong, par try karne mein kya harz hai, hai na sir?