Old 27th August 2007, 13:30   #16

Originally Posted by clipto333 View Post
i think the jbl would be better. it can pump 104w rms x4 at 4 ohms or 104 x 2 and 284x1(2chs bridged) at 4 ohms.
The Kenwood 8401 does 180W if rear two channels bridged. Good enough for a 10" ID sub I guess. or even for the 10" SVC Hertz sub. Right na?
I guess I will not talk of the 6.5" components front. 8401 should power them very well.

Actually, I like the Kenwood because it's nice and laid back. Smooth sounding.
But JBL makes more economic and thus common sense for the money.

CONFUSED!
Old 27th August 2007, 15:44   #17

Originally Posted by ScarySkulls View Post
And thus when connected, the amp sees a load of 2ohm? (which makes it put out more power).....
Please correct if if wrong.
And how to connect such a sub to the terminals?
1. Amp is NOT 2 ohm stable in bridged mode, its only 4 ohm stable in bridged mode.

2. In series to present a 4 ohm load i.e. 1 +ve and 1 -ve mila ke each coil kaa.
Old 27th August 2007, 17:00   #18

The Kenwood 8401 does 180W if rear two channels bridged. Good enough for a 10" ID sub I guess. or even for the 10" SVC Hertz sub. Right na?
I guess I will not talk of the 6.5" components front. 8401 should power them very well.

Actually, I like the Kenwood because it's nice and laid back. Smooth sounding.
But JBL makes more economic and thus common sense for the money.

CONFUSED!
180w would be good but the subs you are referring to have low sensitivity.
the id 10" sub has 86.5dB sensitivity whereas the hertz es250 has 93dB.

you need double the power for a 3db increase. so i guess the hertz would be more suitable for the kenwood. this is the reason i think my hertz 15" sub has good output considering its in a sealed enclosure. i think gill should go ported if he wants to get the kenwood amp.

the energy 165 comps i have are powered by a 944 i.e. 75w per ch. i still feel the need to upgrade to a 100w per ch amp. 60w would be adequate but not optimum.

from what i know, the kenwood is a good amp. it is smooth and sweet sounding.

double check with the gurus and correct me if im wrong.

clip
Old 27th August 2007, 17:55   #19

180w would be good but the subs you are referring to have low sensitivity.
the id 10" sub has 86.5dB sensitivity whereas the hertz es250 has 93dB.
Clip think for a sec. If the ID is having 86.5 db senstivity and the hertz is having 93 db senstivity then if we power both of them with equal power then the Hertz would be 6.5 db more loud or we can say 4 times. Can it be possible. 4 times think again.

But according to me if you wanna compare senstiviy I would consider there senstivity of the subs to be...

ID ID V.3 D2-> 85.5
Hertz ES250-> 86

HiFi Speaker Design © mhSoft 2007
Old 27th August 2007, 18:20   #20

Guys quickly need ur feed back on this as we are about to order the products:-
which one should i go for with my system,am not asking which one is better.Plz note this:::--
OPtion 1-
The Image Dynamics Store, The BEST Way To Buy Image Dynamics Car Audio! - Image Dynamics High-end car loudspeakers and signal processors, CTX5X7 - Image Dynamics 5"x7" Coaxial System with Titanium Tweeters, CTX4 - Image Dynamics 4" Coaxial System wit
option 2-
HERTZ by Elettromedia - Special Car Stereo
Hertz esd250 sub.
quick fedback will be appreciated
Old 27th August 2007, 18:36   #21

and i thought IDs were good at subs only.
Old 27th August 2007, 19:20   #22

the energy 165 comps i have are powered by a 944 i.e. 75w per ch. i still feel the need to upgrade to a 100w per ch amp. 60w would be adequate but not optimum.
considering the fact that we listen to similar music, I guess I will value your feedback very well.
Looks like I'm now more skewed towards 75.4

Yes, Kenwood is smoother sounding, but not many people can make that out very easily.
Old 27th August 2007, 19:20   #23

Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
Clip think for a sec. If the ID is having 86.5 db senstivity and the hertz is having 93 db senstivity then if we power both of them with equal power then the Hertz would be 6.5 db more loud or we can say 4 times. Can it be possible. 4 times think again.

But according to me if you wanna compare senstiviy I would consider there senstivity of the subs to be...

ID ID V.3 D2-> 85.5
Hertz ES250-> 86

HiFi Speaker Design © mhSoft 2007
so in your opinion, sensitivity doesnt affect output. im not saying 4 times but it does make a difference. i would like to have other gurus opinion on this one. so i request navinji, sam bhai, gunbir, B&T(since we are gonna be partners , you have to stand by my side lol) and others for their take on sensitivity of a sub and its effect on output.

i bought the hertz 15 incher because of the high sensitivity and im sure a less sensitive sub would have less output with same input power.

got to go.

clip
Old 27th August 2007, 19:23   #24

Originally Posted by Gill View Post
Hertz esd250 sub.
This DVC wont work.

You are well advised to make the ID Sub final. Stop taking so much tension on this and go out for a walk with GF.
Old 27th August 2007, 23:43   #25

so in your opinion, sensitivity doesnt affect output. im not saying 4 times but it does make a difference.so i request navinji, sam bhai, gunbir, B&T(since we are gonna be partners , you have to stand by my side lol) and others for their take on sensitivity of a sub and its effect on output.
where did I said that sensitivity does not make difference it does but the rating given which is 93 db is not at 1watt/1meter which the real measuring unit to compare two products it will be quite less which will be close to 86 which is the true figure to compare two subs...

Also if the driver is 96db 1w/1m sensitivity then it will surely sound 4 times louder that is for sure no doubt in that...

And I think Navin Ji, Sam Bhai, B&T will agree with me....

I think your 15 inch es380 is having senstivity of 88.2 not 95

Last edited by low_bass_makker : 27th August 2007 at 23:47.
Old 28th August 2007, 18:35   #26

Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
where did I said that sensitivity does not make difference it does but the rating given which is 93 db is not at 1watt/1meter which the real measuring unit to compare two products it will be quite less which will be close to 86 which is the true figure to compare two subs...

Also if the driver is 96db 1w/1m sensitivity then it will surely sound 4 times louder that is for sure no doubt in that...

And I think Navin Ji, Sam Bhai, B&T will agree with me....

I think your 15 inch es380 is having senstivity of 88.2 not 95
then sir how do the manufacturers measure sensitivity? what you are saying is that the sensitivity figures given by hertz is not accurate? does ID gives the rating at 1w/1m?

does an increase of 3 db mean double loudness? i dont think so. for a 3db increase, you need double the power, it doesnt mean the loudness will be double as well. correct me if im wrong.

got to go, will reply later

clip
Old 28th August 2007, 18:49   #27

An increase of approx 10 dB is perceived as doubling the volume, AFAIK.
Old 28th August 2007, 20:32   #28

This DVC wont work.

You are well advised to make the ID Sub final. Stop taking so much tension on this and go out for a walk with GF.
dont take any tension. just get an id 10" with a jbl 75.4 and enjoy the music. with your GF of course.

clip
Old 28th August 2007, 22:09   #29

Originally Posted by nura View Post
An increase of approx 10 dB is perceived as doubling the volume, AFAIK.
Sir from where did you got to know this...
Old 28th August 2007, 22:53   #30

I am posting a few links which suggest this. I don't think anyone is 100% sure about it.
Power Mad! - How Much Amplifier Power Do You Really Need? - What You Need To Know About Amplifiers and Amplification
What is a decibel?
Measuring and Calculating Sound Levels
Lenard Audio - Education - Db. Frequency. Ohm Law.