Old 19th January 2008, 18:31   #61

Ama yaar Panky-bhai, you want Panipat battle once again or what?
Old 20th January 2008, 03:04   #62

by any chance, do you like Bose?
I dont know what made you ask this question but just for your info, I hate BOSE.....I would appreciate if you could explain the correlation.
Old 20th January 2008, 03:15   #63

BTW, I would also want to mention, unlike Nakamichi's home audio products which have the typical bright Japanese shiny sound....their Car audio stuffs are much more matured and natural sounding...I would love to discuss another view on this topic but with someone who has properly auditioned them. BTW, the only brand that I found has more competitive/better sound in this price range is Hertz IMHO.

P.S I haven't auditioned brands like Illusion Audio, Kicker and few more.
Old 20th January 2008, 10:07   #64

I have been to Koyas Coimbatore a few times and I find their service very satisfactory. So much so that I am planing to drive my new Getz all the way to Coimbatore to get it done. They never rush the job or cut corners.
Old 20th January 2008, 10:25   #65

Originally Posted by Pani View Post
BTW, I would also want to mention, unlike Nakamichi's home audio products which have the typical bright Japanese shiny sound....their Car audio stuffs are much more matured and natural sounding...I would love to discuss another view on this topic but with someone who has properly auditioned them. BTW, the only brand that I found has more competitive/better sound in this price range is Hertz IMHO.

P.S I haven't auditioned brands like Illusion Audio, Kicker and few more.
I had tuned a set of Nakamichi component speakers with a rockford amp few months ago, The customer picked it up from the nakamichi store on hosur road, he said he had paid some 25k for the pair, Dont remember but it might be the SPS2-650 compos, they sounded very very clean.
I would say even JL Audio component speakers are good, but in some places even they are not the best. Speaker sound is very subjective, one man's food is another's poison.
Old 20th January 2008, 11:38   #66

Probably a delayed reaction, but I've been AWOL for a while so all is fair. lol
Trust me Deralte, JBL and Polk doesnt even hold a candle to Naks...price point being similar. I could have easily gone ahead with a JBL component for the fronts but they sounded pretty ordinary to me.
You did not mention the price of the Nakamichi components in your post but this
The customer picked it up from the nakamichi store on hosur road, he said he had paid some 25k for the pair, Dont remember but it might be the SPS2-650 compos, they sounded very very clean.
gives me an idea of the price.

Pani-did you listen to componentsets costing 25K from all other brands in comparison with the Nakamichis?
Old 20th January 2008, 16:14   #67

Based in user experience etc will it be possible to compile a list of "Team-BHP recommended" installers?
Old 20th January 2008, 22:53   #68

^ If that might not be so kosher with some, I think that we could at least compile a list of "Team-BHP would never recommend" installers.
Old 21st January 2008, 00:32   #69

Trust me Deralte, JBL and Polk, Naks...price point being similar. I could have easily gone ahead with a JBL component for the fronts but they sounded pretty ordinary to me.
JBL components cost roughly between 4-6k. Polk costs a bit more. Also you have the momo series.

How much for the Nakamichi components, I hope to audition your friends setup sometime if its possible?
Old 21st January 2008, 10:32   #70

I had tuned a set of Nakamichi component speakers with a rockford amp few months ago, The customer picked it up from the nakamichi store on hosur road, he said he had paid some 25k for the pair, Dont remember but it might be the SPS2-650 compos, they sounded very very clean.
Hi Blueraven,
I am aware of this component speaker from NAK but they are priced at 14k from the Bangalore dealer...25k...seems something terribly wrong.

You did not mention the price of the Nakamichi components in your post but this
gives me an idea of the price.

Pani-did you listen to componentsets costing 25K from all other brands in comparison with the Nakamichis?
Hi Sam,
I have very clearly mentioned that I went ahead with Nakamichi Coaxials for the fronts and not the components (they have only one component speaker and that costs 14k and the whole setup costed just 20k) it costed around 5k. It sounded much better than JBL components IMO.
Here is my post regarding the setup

1. Nakamichi 6.5" coax for the fronts (Nakamichi components are far too expensive at around 14k or so)
2. Hertz Deici series tweeters again at the front dash board
3. Nakamichi 6 X 9 coax at the rears, these speakers were put in two ported boxes
4. Pioneer 5750 (I dont remember the exact model) HU. It has 7 band equalizers which greatly helps in tuning up the sound in the car.
JBL components cost roughly between 4-6k. Polk costs a bit more. Also you have the momo series.

How much for the Nakamichi components, I hope to audition your friends setup sometime if its possible?
s0uljah Ji,
Hope I have cleared your doubts about the NAK prices.
BTW, you are most welcome to listen to my friends system. Just let me know when. Anytime during the evening is perfectly fine with me.
Old 21st January 2008, 11:30   #71

Originally Posted by rmonie View Post
Based in user experience etc will it be possible to compile a list of "Team-BHP recommended" installers?
Originally Posted by vebmetal View Post
^ If that might not be so kosher with some, I think that we could at least compile a list of "Team-BHP would never recommend" installers.
The post discussing recommended installers is already there somewhere here.

The list of "never recommend" installers might not be kosher, since, as all facts may not be available for review, it would be difficult to preclude prejudice. Also, since the workmen (karigar) at the installers keep changing, the quality of work would vary even at a 'bad' installer. In very few joints the owners actually do it themselves.

Is it possible to create a sticky table with name of installer, location, and rating (on a scale of 10; 10 = Team JBGMP)? Searching posts is rather inconvenient, as one does not get all the information in one place.
Old 21st January 2008, 12:52   #72

Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
The list of "never recommend" installers might not be kosher
I have wanted to prepare a list of recomended installers but...

1. some of these installers are members on TBHP and this might run counter to our policy of non-commercialisim
2. this list can hardly be exhaustive and collating a nationwide list is cumbersome.
3. I fear the volume of PMs I will get will triple, manymembers will like to promote their favourite installer.
Old 21st January 2008, 13:59   #73

Folks,
I upgraded my ICE in the scorpio as under,
Boston Components 6.5" in the front.
Active center speaker-Alpine.
Monoblock AMP separately for TWIN COIL PIONEER SUB12"
JVC-HU-Model AVX 2.
Pioneer 6x9 oval in the rear
Xenos 9.2" roof mount Monitor.

Whenever i plai 5.1 ch movie the sound is crisp and feel the install is worth the money spent.

But when i play audio the effect is not on expected lines.Find it flat.
My installer sound works was good in evertyhting but,somehow i am unsatisfied with the way it sounds.
Can anyone help pls.
Old 21st January 2008, 15:05   #74

Originally Posted by PRADEEP KUMAR View Post
But when i play audio the effect is not on expected lines.Find it flat.
My installer sound works was good in evertyhting but,somehow i am unsatisfied with the way it sounds.
Get the DVD of a movie (with songs!) and an audio CD (not MP3) of the songs of the same movie. If you compare the same song, perhaps you will be able to figure out what specifically dissatisfies you: singing drowned out by instruments? bass too loud?

What one can make out is that your system has not been tuned well. If you tune it well (yes, you can do it yourself if there is no one to help) for music playback from audio CD, the sound from DVD movies will also come out right.
Old 23rd January 2008, 19:49   #75

Originally Posted by PatienceWins View Post
Sad to know your experience. Stay away from Auto Planet in Koramangala, behind BDA complex.
They just push whatever they have margin. Later I learnt that the speakers were fake. No after sales support. They charge everything on MRP. Installation is pathetic. Stay away from this shop.

I have had a totally different experience with Auto Planet, Koramangala.

I have got both ICE and Home Theater (off topic) setup done by Palanikumar of Auto Planet, and he seems to have very good knowledge of Audio Setup.

They were proffessional in advising the range of products and I went with Pioneer HU and Nak combination for my City.

I have heard good responses from my friends who have been to them for Icing, who have brought Nak products from them.