Old 18th January 2008, 18:27   #1

Swift: How do you remove the door panel

Sorry for asking such a basic question, but how do you remove the inner door panel on a Swift (rear door)? Just tell me what to press, where to pull and if I need any tools.

There's a really irritating rattle and its driving me mad. I preponed my 30000 km service just so that I could point this out to the Sai Service guys but they didnt fix it. So I'm gonna have to fix it myself.

Mods, please close/delete this thread as soon as a decent answer comes in. (But not before I read it please).
Old 18th January 2008, 18:34   #2

Things that need to be removed -

RVM panel
2 plastic clips
2 screws

The plastic clips are located one either side of the plastic frame. One is close to the hinges and the second on the other end of the panel. If you lightly press the small dot in the center of the clip it will release.

The screws are located in the slot behind the power window console and where the door lever is.

Once these are off with a little tugging the panel will come off. You will need to then disconnect the harness supplying power to the power window console lying at the back.

One thing though, the rattles might increase

Last edited by s0uljah : 18th January 2008 at 18:47. Reason: image courtesy damunn@swiftclubuk
Old 18th January 2008, 18:49   #3

Thanks sOuljah! Thats exactly what I needed to know. If it still rattles I'll probably go get the rear doors damped (although they dont have any speakers in them!)

Close/delete thread please, unless anyone else wants to vent their frustrations about the endless profusion of rattles in their Swift.
Old 18th January 2008, 18:49   #4

oye what a nice way...where do you got it yaar ?
Old 18th January 2008, 20:01   #5

Oye Soldier, where do you get stuff like that?

I need such instructions for Safari DICOR 3.0!
Old 18th January 2008, 20:09   #6

souljah share if you have copy of works manual please
Old 18th January 2008, 20:38   #7

And I need it for my Petra. Nice graphical directions.
Old 18th January 2008, 20:53   #8

i have a pain in the a** rattling sound coming from the driver door panel. It drives me nuts and the A.S.S was not able to rectify it for the last 1.5yrs!

let me try this! thanks mate! :-)
Old 18th January 2008, 21:17   #9

Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
souljah share if you have copy of works manual please
Not yet, but maybe we can work towards "getting" a copy
Old 18th January 2008, 21:44   #10

I need something like this for my Indica too !!
Originally Posted by prabuddhadg View Post
And I need it for my Petra. Nice graphical directions.
Old 24th January 2008, 15:23   #11

Hahaha.. from where did you come up with those pictures pal.. looks like everyone needs it

Do all cars have such rattles.. ? i thought swift was the one which had all the rattles...

Guys, just a word of caution.. dont do it yourself.. it might worsen it..
Old 24th January 2008, 15:46   #12

Pardon me, he asked for the rear door.
Old 24th January 2008, 16:05   #13

Originally Posted by rajshenoy View Post

Do all cars have such rattles.. ? i thought swift was the one which had all the rattles...
Btw - even Australian Swifts are reported to have the now-famous rattling.

Originally Posted by rajshenoy View Post
Guys, just a word of caution.. dont do it yourself.. it might worsen it..
Not really. If you have the damping material and adhesive ready, its a DIY. There's no technology inolved here. People go to professional shops since the job gets done quicker.
Old 24th January 2008, 16:11   #14

I have the workshop manual but, copying it is going to be a pain as it is hard bound.
Old 25th January 2008, 09:36   #15

Originally Posted by s0uljah View Post
Souljah, By any chance do you have similar instructions on how to completely dismantle a Swift and then build it up again (puzzle-style) . Just kidding.