Old 19th February 2008, 17:22   #31

Originally Posted by Bass&Trouble View Post
Lol. Didnt mean Mr. Rishabh Sehgal DIY-Specialist by "you". I think you should replace all the "you"s above with "one". I just meant to stress the point that generally if the tweeter is so much closer to the listener than the midwoofer, no amount of attenuation would help balance it out.

Sounds like LBM... grrr. But seriously, this must be one of LBM's friends I would presume. Kya locha hai LBM Maharaj?
even i was wondering if this "you" is singular or plural. lol. sorry for misunderstanding. :-)

i totally agree with you no amount of attenuation will help. i have seen people installing 2 pair of ts 20s. one pair on the dash and the other right above the seatbelt mounting point.

is there a guy named harpreet or something like that who is planning on upgrading the comps? im not sure if he is the guy.

send me a pair for testing lol. long term test. i will post the results here. hehe. how much do they cost? and what kind of tweet is there?

Originally Posted by moralfibre View Post
May be the guy who made that statement is slightly bright. I can vouch for the fact that most of the Pune team-bhpians are running this component set. They chose this set after auditioning for long hours, etc and no one has termed it bright by any standards. If you want a consensus just make a few posts in each of these threads:

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/sound-...lowing-sq.html

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/sound-...-part-2-a.html

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/sound-...zed-swift.html

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/sound-...rk-begins.html

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/sound-...-4-1-alto.html

Apart from these guys the best response we ever managed to hear was in the Ford Ikon of swale84. It will put many a component sets to shame. I don't know if it is acoustics or not but we believe in our ears and none of us here in Pune have been disappointed. Shrivz is using Illusion Electra XO's and Electra tweeters in his Baleno and these tweeters replaced the JBL 506 component tweeters to make it less bright.

That said your ears are your best judge. Please go ahead and audition and you'll replace your existing set for sure (I don't know what you run) .

At what price? May be I can help.
i will definitely audition them someday.

i was told its on the brighter side. i wasn't sure.

dont know why but i always have strong opposition against it(in the form of lbm lol) kidding.
Old 19th February 2008, 19:34   #32

Originally Posted by clipto333 View Post
i totally agree with you no amount of attenuation will help. i have seen people installing 2 pair of ts 20s. one pair on the dash and the other right above the seatbelt mounting point.
You were running a pair of TS20's weren't you?

send me a pair for testing lol. long term test. i will post the results here. hehe. how much do they cost? and what kind of tweet is there?
What form would the results be in? The component set costs a meagre Rs. 6490/- and I am not going to say that again because this will result in an increase in price if B&T keeps on hearing this statement.

i was told its on the brighter side. i wasn't sure.
dont know why but i always have strong opposition against it(in the form of lbm lol) kidding.
Kidding or not, that is plain stupid.

And for subs I'd recommend the Ground Zero Radioactive series over and above many. Heck even the Titanium series (new gen) are awesome SQ subs. Determinus, swale84, shrivz etc will agree with me on that.
Old 19th February 2008, 19:48   #33

Thanks for the replies guys, this was what I came here for, to get some recommendations from everyone even if it gets me confused. And well about the sub, I haven't ever felt the need for a sub in all this time, but maybe i could change my mind after listening to some good setups, I don't want the sub to overpower the mids and highs, I like my music balanced and very accurate, I mean i would like all the components to play at the same volume as they would in the real world.

To explain myself better what I mean is that when there is a live performance all the instruments have relative volumes, i would like to maintain those exact volumes but from what i have heard (which were by no standards good setups) the lows tend to overshadow everything, but maybe a finelty tune setup could change my mind. Also I have a budget constraint so I was planning to go for a components(front)+coax(rear)+4 channel amp setup to which a mono block+ sub can be added any time.

Hey what is the price of the Audison LRx 4.1k, which also brings me to the question, is it harmful to the speakers to use an amp like LRx 4.1k whose power output is more than the RMS of the speakers? From what I have read elsewhere on the site is that it is not harmful as the output is rarely continuous and hence is not a problem. Is this true in the case of LRx 4.1k (2x130 + 2x140 W at 4ohms) paired with the Hi Energy HSK 165 comps (125w rms) and HCX 165 coax (100w rms). Once agan thank you guys! You rock
Old 19th February 2008, 20:27   #34

Originally Posted by clipto333
is there a guy named harpreet or something like that who is planning on upgrading the comps? im not sure if he is the guy.
I have zero clue about aforementioned individual, nor any further details about what other gear the set in concern is being used with.

Aap to yaar, authorized tweeter brightness testing center ban gaye ho. Come to Bombay, anyway that plan of yours is far overdue. Will make it worth your while. Not in any audio sense. Ishan has contacts here also.

Umm, not sure.. because I was myself as opposed to that statement as LBM, if not more. Maybe its a matter of knowing what is right or wrong as opposed to hearing from someone.
Old 19th February 2008, 21:12   #35

Originally Posted by Magma View Post
please stop saying that!!
im scared ajay ji will increase the prices if he gets convinced of it!
P.S : im gettin EL 6.1 myself but waiting for my car
Or you could be like me and buy everything before you get the car.

Honestly
Old 19th February 2008, 22:09   #36

Originally Posted by Magma View Post
please stop saying that!!
im scared ajay ji will increase the prices if he gets convinced of it!
P.S : im gettin EL 6.1 myself but waiting for my car
Magma-ji, if you happen to be around central bombay tomorrow, call me.
Old 19th February 2008, 22:14   #37

Originally Posted by clipto333 View Post

Phaji I did not understand what you meant there.
Old 19th February 2008, 22:17   #38

autolycus which all models have you auditioned till now ?
Old 19th February 2008, 23:59   #39

Come to Bombay, anyway that plan of yours is far overdue. Will make it worth your while. Not in any audio sense. Ishan has contacts here also.
Abey oye, wait till I come to Mumbai next time around!
Old 20th February 2008, 10:33   #40

Feel free to plot the tweeter with Melissa or the like and publish results here as compared to your ideal tweeter. Or I could do it..
you have MLSSA?

I just meant to stress the point that generally if the tweeter is so much closer to the listener than the midwoofer, no amount of attenuation would help balance it out.
besides you'd need time alignment for it to sound natural.
Old 20th February 2008, 11:45   #41

Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
autolycus which all models have you auditioned till now ?
None till now, as I have mentioned in an earlier post I will be getting a Civic this summer and will install the ICE in it straight away rather than strip it out of the swift and reinstall it. So I have not auditioned anything till now.

PS: Also I have my exams coming up, it will be better if I concentrate on them
Old 20th February 2008, 11:52   #42

Originally Posted by navin View Post
you have MLSSA?
Its spelt Melissa. She stays in the neighbourhood.

Don't myself have MLSSA, but have access.
Old 20th February 2008, 15:59   #43

Its spelt Melissa. She stays in the neighbourhood.
Don't myself have MLSSA, but have access.
Funny guy. It is pronouced Melissa (and is an acronym for Maximum Length Sequence System Analyser for Transfer-Function Measurement) and uses FFT to an impluse to calculate a result.

I first heard of Melissa in 1990 (I think it was already 2-3 years old at the time) and got to use it. I even spent time writing a utility that allowed MLSA plots to be scaled and printed on inkjets.

"Because MLSSA measures directly in the time domain, it is a simple matter to discover any room reflections that might contaminate the measurement and then window them out of the results"
source http://www.mlssa.com/pdf/MLSSA-Brochure.pdf

The low frequency limit will simply be 1/Time in milliseconds.

I guess you were talkng about this Mellissa
"No one hears his lonely sighs, There are no blankets where he lies.
In all his deepest dreams the Gypsy flies, with sweet Melissa"

- Allman Brothers Band.

Last edited by navin : 20th February 2008 at 16:02.
Old 20th February 2008, 16:00   #44

Originally Posted by moralfibre View Post
You were running a pair of TS20's weren't you?

What form would the results be in? The component set costs a meagre Rs. 6490/- and I am not going to say that again because this will result in an increase in price if B&T keeps on hearing this statement.

Kidding or not, that is plain stupid.

And for subs I'd recommend the Ground Zero Radioactive series over and above many. Heck even the Titanium series (new gen) are awesome SQ subs. Determinus, swale84, shrivz etc will agree with me on that.
yes i was. but not on the b pillar. never liked them though.

That is Rude.

I would audition them when i go to bombay.

And fyi, im running hertz energy comps.

I have zero clue about aforementioned individual, nor any further details about what other gear the set in concern is being used with.

Aap to yaar, authorized tweeter brightness testing center ban gaye ho. Come to Bombay, anyway that plan of yours is far overdue. Will make it worth your while. Not in any audio sense. Ishan has contacts here also.

Umm, not sure.. because I was myself as opposed to that statement as LBM, if not more. Maybe its a matter of knowing what is right or wrong as opposed to hearing from someone.
i thought maybe you know the guy. see i was told and thats what i said. i wont gain anything by terming a tweeter bright. :-) im really sorry if i offended you in any way. didn't really mean it.

im stuck here bhai. will definitely let you about my plans. and i would force ishan to come along. ;-) lol.

Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
Phaji I did not understand what you meant there.

i was just joking around. didn't mean to offend you. :-)
Old 20th February 2008, 18:09   #45

Originally Posted by navin View Post
Funny guy. ... I guess you were talkng about this Mellissa
No, no, no, Navin, he is referring to one of @iraghava's contacts in his (@B&T's) neighborhood, which he does not have, but has access to.