Old 12th July 2008, 16:07   #76

Amps Mounted

Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post

@xeta, is you parcel shelf made of MDF or wood-framed thin ply? There are some rather thick patties visible below. If so, you should at least put some damping material below the sheet.
@DerAlte : I think it is MDF. I'm not very sure. Anyway, I would definitely take a look at the material. I think I will have some damping material in excess after damping the front two doors. I will apply that below the sheet. Thanks for the info.

@Greenhorn : I did change the front speakers, but that was a month back. I took those photographs later. But definitely an suggestion/input for the front speakers is absolutely welcome. So please let me know if there is anything I need to do to improve more on the SQ.

Phew!! It took me 4 hours to mount the amps today. Man, now I understand how tough it is for the mechanics who work through the day. The ground wires were short in length. Bought some Finolex wires to substitute. Used corrugated pipes to pass the power, ground and rem cables ( for some temporary neatness). Will take care of the rest of the cables, when I fit stinger cables on.
Here are some pictures.
Indica Xeta ICE upgrade-dsc00600.jpg  

Indica Xeta ICE upgrade-dsc00601.jpg  

Indica Xeta ICE upgrade-dsc00602.jpg  

Indica Xeta ICE upgrade-dsc00603.jpg  

Indica Xeta ICE upgrade-dsc00604.jpg  

Old 12th July 2008, 23:33   #77

I'd outlined what needs to be done in one of my previous post. I'd also added links to the pics
Old 13th July 2008, 00:49   #78

Originally Posted by ultimatechamp View Post
Count me in the list too please.I will be so much grateful to you guys.
@Ultimatechamp : I have already procured the damping material. However, if you need I can provide you the contacts to get fot yourself.
Old 14th July 2008, 17:44   #79

Originally Posted by XetaGLGRocks View Post
@Ultimatechamp : I have already procured the damping material. However, if you need I can provide you the contacts to get fot yourself.
Thats ok pal, just give me all the details like which one(Noisekill/Dynamat/Fonomat) did you get? what size ? and obviously the cost? where are you getting this fitted from,or is it all 'DIY'? You can pm me also if you want to.
Old 14th July 2008, 23:21   #80

Thats ok pal, just give me all the details like which one(Noisekill/Dynamat/Fonomat) did you get? what size ? and obviously the cost? where are you getting this fitted from,or is it all 'DIY'? You can pm me also if you want to.
@UltimateChamp : I opted for Noise Kill. Got it from Bass&Trouble. For my Indica front doors, 25 Sq. Ft. is supposed to be more than enough for the two door layers. The cost of Noise Kill is Rs. 150 /Sq.Ft.
I am planning to DIY the damping part. There were quite a number of posts explaining how to take off the Door pads in an Indica. Hopefully I will not mess it up .

Have PM-ed you my cell number.
Old 15th July 2008, 11:17   #81

@UltimateChamp : I opted for Noise Kill. Got it from Bass&Trouble. For my Indica front doors, 25 Sq. Ft. is supposed to be more than enough for the two door layers. The cost of Noise Kill is Rs. 150 /Sq.Ft.
I am planning to DIY the damping part. There were quite a number of posts explaining how to take off the Door pads in an Indica. Hopefully I will not mess it up .

Have PM-ed you my cell number.
Thats neat mate.
Havent yet got your pm though.
Old 22nd July 2008, 19:14   #82

Alpine/Stinger/Ichibahn

Hoorray!!
Alpine CDA9886 has arrived along withe the STinger wiring kit. Had to buy 2 Ichibahn RCA interconnects and a Ichibahn Fuse holder also.

Planning to do the installation on coming Sunday.
I'll make sure I take a lot of photographs.
Old 22nd July 2008, 22:56   #83

Hoorray!!
Alpine CDA9886 has arrived along withe the STinger wiring kit. Had to buy 2 Ichibahn RCA interconnects and a Ichibahn Fuse holder also.

Planning to do the installation on coming Sunday.
I'll make sure I take a lot of photographs.
Thats great Xeta bhai
Still waiting to audition your complete set-up when its done.
By the way,where did you source the Ichibahn RCA interconnects and Ichibahn Fuse holder from? Did the Stinger wiring kit also arrive from US of A?
Cant wait to lay my eyes on your wonderful set-up,or lay my hands on them!!
You making me jealous dada !
Old 23rd July 2008, 13:50   #84

Thats great Xeta bhai
Still waiting to audition your complete set-up when its done.
By the way,where did you source the Ichibahn RCA interconnects and Ichibahn Fuse holder from? Did the Stinger wiring kit also arrive from US of A?
Cant wait to lay my eyes on your wonderful set-up,or lay my hands on them!!
You making me jealous dada !
Patience is virtue, Daktar Babu.
Will definitely have audition sessions.
The Ichibahn Interconnects and fuse have been sourced from Bass&Trouble. The Stinger kit is indeed sourced from the US.

So have you decided on the components as of yet? When is your upgrade starting?
Old 25th July 2008, 17:28   #85

The Squad has arrived

Guys, here are the pics of the Alpine 9886 HU, Stinger kit and the Ichibahn Interconnects and fuses.
Can't wait till Sunday for the installs to be done.
Indica Xeta ICE upgrade-slide1.jpg  

Indica Xeta ICE upgrade-slide2.jpg  

Old 25th July 2008, 17:55   #86

Wow, drool maal HU and nice accessories you got. Waiting for a detailed listening report with Alpine in place. And ofcourse install pics too.
Old 25th July 2008, 18:13   #87

Looking forward to a great install buddy.
Give us reports and pics as you proceed. The problem is once we get to enjoy the ICE, we forget to take finished pictures.
Old 25th July 2008, 18:18   #88

Originally Posted by speedzak View Post
Looking forward to a great install buddy.
Give us reports and pics as you proceed. The problem is once we get to enjoy the ICE, we forget to take finished pictures.
No worries! I will be busy taking the photos when the installation will be on.
Photos will definitely come along.
Old 25th July 2008, 23:08   #89

So have you decided on the components as of yet? When is your upgrade starting?
Excellent things you got there boss.Wish I got the same HU at the same price you got.
I think it will be Illusions ultimately for me,for the front compos but maybe JBL 937s for rear.Got to pm Bass n Trouble.

Had one mishap at home,so laying low for a while.
Old 28th July 2008, 00:28   #90

Everythings on board!!!! Upgrade done

Guys! ICE upgrade complete ( So it seems).

Nura had given me the contact of this installer. This guy does factory installations for Alpine, JVC etc.
I had called him and set the appointment for Sunday(today) morning 10 AM.
He called me and asked me to go down to Moto Mania in Ballygunge. I reached there sharp at 10AM. Installer sahab arrived at 10.30 AM with 2 associates.

The job went on till 6.30 in the evening.
I must say the guy did a very good job. No loose ends at all.
At the end of the day, it was a pleasure to hear the setup on my way back home.

The only bad thing is that I discovered that the earlier installer had thrown away the grommet on the firewall through which the power cables were laid.
Will have to have something there to block the hole.

Here are photographs of the install. I am very tired to write anything more today.
Indica Xeta ICE upgrade-slide1.jpg  

Indica Xeta ICE upgrade-slide2.jpg  

Indica Xeta ICE upgrade-slide3.jpg  

Indica Xeta ICE upgrade-slide4.jpg