nitin.dangayach

Originally Posted by saintsinner View Post
so panty finally installs the JBL mono amp

rattling to hoegi.. taxi jo hai
Try reading the above stuff again

Old 16th September 2008, 19:19   #32

Seems everone in the Pic is an installer congrts panky,hope your enjoying your ride
Old 16th September 2008, 19:30   #33

Congrats panky! another Bass making sq setup .Whats the individual pricing for the equipment? Any specific reason as to why the ports fire upwards? rather than the conventional way
Old 16th September 2008, 19:33   #34

Originally Posted by noidaboy View Post
Congrats panky! another Bass making sq setup .Whats the individual pricing for the equipment? Any specific reason as to why the ports fire upwards? rather than the conventional way
Here is the post by Navin Ji on ports hope it will clarify your doubts..

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/245408-post3666.html

The article is a bit technical but I think you will understand the idea.
Old 16th September 2008, 19:42   #35

Any specific reason as to why the ports fire upwards? rather than the conventional way
What is the conventional way for ports to fire?
Old 16th September 2008, 19:49   #36

OT:
Originally Posted by shrivz
Our plain ol aJay is busy explaining 3-way positions to MF!

Im sorry but I just can't stop.
Old 16th September 2008, 19:51   #37

no kidding.. i promise.. check the "2-way or 3-way" thread
Old 16th September 2008, 20:13   #38

Originally Posted by Bass&Trouble View Post
What is the conventional way for ports to fire?
Umm.. this way i think.

I have seen this way in a lot of installs.
BRRUUAAHH.. Upgraded!!-esw12.jpg  

Old 16th September 2008, 20:15   #39

Umm.. this way i think.

Doesn't make it a convention. Ports can be on any side of the box. In any shape. Depends on the placement etc.
Old 16th September 2008, 21:53   #40

Umm.. this way i think.

I think you did not read the Link I posted or you read it and did not understand a single thing in it.

Anyways here is another one...

Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post

Old 16th September 2008, 22:27   #41

when i had knowledge, i learnt from a known enclosure builder that port placement matters, but not to so much of an extent that it would make any difference to the humar ear. ports can be placed firing forward, upward, backward or sideways, it is all about getting your calculations right.

when i was making my enclosure tuned at 34hz i presume i needed a 30 inch long 4" port which could only be placed sideways to acheive this frequency. eventually, i did with a slot port for the same port volume.

building ported enclosures is a science..an expertise, and i'd say LBM is pretty good at it...
Old 16th September 2008, 23:53   #42

LBM sir
can you please post the following information which can help us get an idea of how to tune and build a ported box
Box volume ( vb) ?
Port dia chosen ?
Tuning freq ?

also why was the above frequency selected?

also is there a way to decide port placement?
the link that you posted that was highlighted by navinji mentions that the port can be on any face as long as the 1/4 th wavelenght rule is satisfied.
it doesnt say anything about the placement on any face of the box.
Can we place it anywhere on any face?

please dont say "depends"
please give a working example

Last edited by Magma : 16th September 2008 at 23:54.
Old 17th September 2008, 07:39   #43

^^ IMHO.. it depends!!!
Old 17th September 2008, 11:46   #44

Originally Posted by shrivz View Post
Please straighten out my concept! from the basics if necessary!
Originally Posted by shrivz View Post
Our plain ol aJay is busy explaining 3-way positions to MF!
Originally Posted by nitrous View Post
OT:

Im sorry but I just can't stop.

Yes, to explain the same to you he'll need a cow and an elephant. Both won't fit in your car. Try a pair of nitrous, that should work may be. Or read LBM's comment below:

Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
It is the temporary position soon to be changed
Old 17th September 2008, 12:03   #45

Originally Posted by moralfibre View Post
Yes, to explain the same to you he'll need a cow and an elephant. Both won't fit in your car. Try a pair of nitrous, that should work may be. Or read LBM's comment below:
I think you forgot dogs...lol

PS :- Dogs can hear very high freq.