Old 20th February 2009, 10:48   #1

Head Unit below 5k

Guys Suggest me a good HU below 5k
I don't need any Bluetooth , USB or Aux ( as am happy running mp3, wma or audio disc)

But there should be no compromise on SQ & should have decent equaliser + sub setting ..
If possible i need 3 RCA out..

I have stand by option of 5950 which is installed in other car which for time being i don't want to touch ..
Old 20th February 2009, 10:50   #2

hunt for a second hand pio unit.
Old 20th February 2009, 10:55   #3

my eyes are open for that as well but am looking for new one , may be i get something for my requirement
Old 20th February 2009, 11:08   #4

try pio 3050 or 5050.... awesome bang for the buck!
Old 20th February 2009, 11:10   #5

indicate the prices please!!
Old 20th February 2009, 11:10   #6

buy a second hand alpine !!!. so many of them in the classifieds!
Old 20th February 2009, 11:13   #7

chiragh yaar. please do not buy a 5k HU for your setup. please make sure you spend well on a good HU. 5K HU will no doubt be better than your existing sony, but dont expect too much of a difference. id say, get a kenwood 5039 atleast!!!!!!! or a pio 5050UB
Old 20th February 2009, 11:14   #8

Well, I think Pioneer 2990/2950 is available below 5K.
Old 20th February 2009, 11:32   #9

frank as i said 5090 is on backup .. if i don't get anything i will swap it with my other car..

how is the alpine HU which comes with honda city type 3

Last edited by Technocrat : 20th February 2009 at 13:45.
Old 20th February 2009, 11:49   #10
F50

4050 comes for around 5k. But why you want to go in for such HUs?
Old 20th February 2009, 12:35   #11

Chirag, 2 months back when I got the Pio 5050UB, it costed me 6700/- w/o B&W!

it wont come under 5k for a brand new piece i'm sure! you can try 4050UB or 3050UB
Old 20th February 2009, 12:54   #12

any info on JVC headunits?
Old 20th February 2009, 13:01   #13

Originally Posted by frankmehta View Post
chiragh yaar. please do not buy a 5k HU for your setup. please make sure you spend well on a good HU. 5K HU will no doubt be better than your existing sony, but dont expect too much of a difference. id say, get a kenwood 5039 atleast!!!!!!! or a pio 5050UB
I would disagree with you here Frank.

Classic example of my friend:
Bought an all Sony setup. On my recommendation changed his rear speakers to GTO 937 / 4" JBL GTO after he knocked his Sony 6x9 and 4". As he bought everything in grey (gray) his HU stopped reading CDS after a while. He though of changing the HU. Budget was 3-4K. Changed the HU to JVC. His speakers started sounding better.

The he buys a new car shifts his Santro setup to the new car. After sometime ICE bug bites him he goes and buy the same equipment for Santro:

4" JBL
GTO 937
Desi Alpine Amp
But this time he buys a Kenny HU 5039. The system sounds way better than before and the only change was HU. But now he is thinking of changing the HU to Pio as he doesn't like the display and confusing menu options in Kenny and i would agree with him on that.

Will update as soon as he gets a Pio HU.

Your options for sub 5K HU''s are:
1. JVC KDG 735
2. Kenny 5039
3. Pio 4050
4. Panasonic

Chirag i hope you are coming to the meet this Sunday. Why don't you audition some HU's JVC, Kenny, Pio there and decide.
Old 20th February 2009, 13:02   #14

panasonic ones are good.. it has 3 pre-outs and no usb.. it as aux at the back !!
very nice systems.. got it fixed abt 2 weeks back.. should be abt 6K with B&W.
look at the panasonic india website..(no prices there though)
Old 20th February 2009, 13:18   #15

Originally Posted by abhibh View Post
I would disagree with you here Frank.

Classic example of my friend:
Bought an all Sony setup. On my recommendation changed his rear speakers to GTO 937 / 4" JBL GTO after he knocked his Sony 6x9 and 4". As he bought everything in grey (gray) his HU stopped reading CDS after a while. He though of changing the HU. Budget was 3-4K. Changed the HU to JVC. His speakers started sounding better.

The he buys a new car shifts his Santro setup to the new car. After sometime ICE bug bites him he goes and buy the same equipment for Santro:

4" JBL
GTO 937
Desi Alpine Amp
But this time he buys a Kenny HU 5039. The system sounds way better than before and the only change was HU. But now he is thinking of changing the HU to Pio as he doesn't like the display and confusing menu options in Kenny and i would agree with him on that.

Will update as soon as he gets a Pio HU.

Your options for sub 5K HU''s are:
1. JVC KDG 735
2. Kenny 5039
3. Pio 4050
4. Panasonic

Chirag i hope you are coming to the meet this Sunday. Why don't you audition some HU's JVC, Kenny, Pio there and decide.

i think i will come for get together ..

what time is it .. please pm me all the details!!

please tell me the price for kenwood 5039 in grey

Last edited by chiragh_bir : 20th February 2009 at 13:21.