Old 16th June 2009, 16:05   #31

Originally Posted by esteem_lover View Post
Only your PSU is to be replaced, right ?
Yea! just a new PSU. Approx 4k as per iride.

Oh ya. Need a hard drive also. Another 3k.

My usage is 99% of audio(not even FM)
Old 18th June 2009, 19:14   #32

I am thinking of Opus 360w for my carputer. I won;t need it but then there is only $5 difference between 250W and 360W PSUs.
And since I am told that 360W will not draw higher power from my battery (for same output), so why not?

Last edited by ST7677 : 18th June 2009 at 19:19.
Old 23rd June 2009, 12:12   #33

I have also been bitten by the Carputer bug. Have bought the following items already;

1. Lilliput 7 " Touchscreen
2. Pico-PSU 150 Watts Power Supply
3. Holux Bluetooth GPS receiver.

It will be a looong project as finances are at an all time low.
Old 23rd June 2009, 14:37   #34

Esteem_lover, share the pricing and did you got it shipped with providers, or someone is bringing them to you.
Old 23rd June 2009, 14:50   #35

Originally Posted by ghpk View Post
Esteem_lover, share the pricing and did you got it shipped with providers, or someone is bringing them to you.
just entering the band wagon! I've got the car PC built up. needs to be integrated to my car, a black alto or a getz (alto is my everyday car). interestingly, we had built this PC for a stretch limo we had made 3 yrs ago. after the show, we pulled the PC out and ever since its been unused. only now the whole exercise is taking shape. we are currently making some flash based applications to run as the interface on the touch screen.
Will keep you guys posted.
Old 23rd June 2009, 15:11   #36

I am also looking for building up carPC for my Indica Vista. Right now finances are tight. Here are the stages which I am planning to do it in...

1) First get he music system with good quality. Already started work on this. Changed to front components. Now Planning for rear ovals. Then I will have four channel amplifier in place. I am doing with current OEM HU. I am not changing this because anyway after carPC I have to scrap Head Unit.

2) Then I will go for touch screen monitor and PSU for car PC and couple this with my current home PC (If current Home PC is not power hungry and I think it is not). Problem is that getting touchscreen monitor. Because iRide is quoting too much price for lilliput around Rs.14k. Another guy with name AMS is quoting Rs.11k. In US we can get it for $150 which is cheaper option and ask a friend to bring it to India. And some chinese trade website also offers at cheap price with worldwide shipping but does anybody have experience with this kind of shopping. If anybody could guide me in import process and implications, then that would be a great thing.
I would be happy if all of us who are interested in carPC, club their orders then we can bargain with indian sellers. But I know lot of trust and coordination is required in this activity.

It seems that major problem is Touchscreen Monitor with right price.
Old 23rd June 2009, 15:29   #37

cheapest i see on mp3car for lilyput is $224.99
Old 23rd June 2009, 15:35   #38

on ebay US it is $173. I mentioned earlier $150. Actually it is $173

http://cgi.ebay.com/Lilliput-7-EBY701-NP-C-T-VGA-Touch-screen-free-ship_W0QQitemZ200347494176QQcmdZViewItemQQptZCar_V ideo_Navigation?hash=item2ea5a42720&_trksid=p3286. c0.m14&_trkparms=65%3A12|66%3A2|39%3A1|72%3A1205|2 40%3A1308|301%3A1|293%3A1|294%3A50

Another option I do not know how it will work.
Get 7" LCD monitor( normal Chinese DVD player car monitor), which you can manage it for around Rs.2500 to Rs.3000. And modify/change its input circuitry so that it will accept VGA inputs. (its not VGA to RCA conversion). I heard it somewhere but I could not recall where. But sure there is way to do this. Get 7" touchscreen attachment which is not available easily in India, it should cost around Rs.2k to 2.5k and bundle all things together to get your touchscreen monitor. It could give more DIY satisfaction and will save cost.

Last edited by sushantr5 : 23rd June 2009 at 15:41.
Old 23rd June 2009, 15:43   #39

Sushant, even in the US, Lilliput costs around $ 200, not 150%
Old 23rd June 2009, 16:25   #40

i really dont know that how much USD i paid for my lilliput, but i remember it was around Rs.8k including shipping to india about 1.5 yr ago. from ebay from US
carpc in india is going to rock.
we already have 19 carpcs and few more to come in near future. this population is growing like india's populations.. lol

Last edited by monty9991 : 23rd June 2009 at 16:27.
Old 23rd June 2009, 16:53   #41

Originally Posted by monty9991 View Post
i really dont know that how much USD i paid for my lilliput, but i remember it was around Rs.8k including shipping to india about 1.5 yr ago. from ebay from US
carpc in india is going to rock.
we already have 19 carpcs and few more to come in near future. this population is growing like india's populations.. lol
Monty...The item you purchased, did it directly ship to your door? or you needed custom clearance kinda thing to do?
Old 24th June 2009, 15:16   #42

Originally Posted by sushantr5 View Post
Monty...The item you purchased, did it directly ship to your door? or you needed custom clearance kinda thing to do?
well i purchsed 2 at same time.so i was charged custom for one screen. and that was too about Rs. 1000-2000 nothing more.
Old 30th June 2009, 20:01   #43

dont we get M4-ATX in indian market ?

Last edited by contactme27 : 30th June 2009 at 20:05.
Old 1st July 2009, 00:53   #44

Monty ji, you purchased around 18 months back, major price difference now is
dollar was Rs.37 or so at that time, now its whopping 49+
so it turns out to be same cost in USD but a increased cost in INR.

I feel the Expensive Dollar pain everyday in business. eeeek
Old 1st July 2009, 14:16   #45

dont we get M4-ATX in indian market ?
May I know why you are interested for M4 over Opus or DSATX?