Old 19th August 2009, 21:30   #46

Originally Posted by DocG View Post
Sir I highly respect your opinion, and I agree that there are a lot of other exotic brands out there which might even cost more or be better, would never argue with that. However what I think is that use something good as the minimum reference, whatever there is which is better is a step above.

It's like how everyone hits on Sony. Do they make a poor product? I don't think so. Why then are they hated so much?
Perhaps it's not the right product for you, perhaps your prejudice is baseless, but it doesn't take away from the fact that they have millions of happy customers, a majority of which are loyal!
Very correctly said sir. Eagerly waiting too see those test results. I'm sure that'll keep sum misconceptions of some people at bay (maybe even mine ).
Old 19th August 2009, 23:46   #47

Originally Posted by m4ugr8 View Post
And All users on TBHP who have installed such cables are fools right??
M4,

1. None of us ever stated that anyone (TBHPian or not) who has used branded cables are fools. I myself recommend branded cables to friends who I know will just give their car to a local ICE shop. This way I know that atleast the friend will specify the cables he/she wants. Just like DIYing a speaker's crossover needs a bit more knowledge than buying a speaker with a ready XO off the shelf so does using power cables that are not labeled and packaged by a audio brand.

Lastly, as a Mod I cannot allow pics of my car's stereo to be displayed on TBHP. I use/have used several components that are represented on TBHP by the Pros. By displaying my car it would give the wrong impression. Some of the Pros do not even know I use their equipment, I often just ask my installer to source the stuff at market prices.

Disclaimer: my wife's car stereo was installed by B&T. I have all bills and all payments were made by check. Not all the components used are products represented by B&T though. I requested him to do the install mostly because it involved components like Alpine's H650 which demand specialised knowledge and a lot of time and patience to set up right.

But could someone please explain to me why when it comes to RCAs or speaker cables why all the gurus point the other way?

The thing that I believe in is purpose build, and that alone. I have already been down to IIT Mumbai and had a sit down with some professors there

It's like how everyone hits on Sony. Do they make a poor product? I don't think so. Why then are they hated so much?
1. Skin Effect
2. Quality of solder and terminations (RCA plugs etc.) used
3. Interconnect cables work at low signal levels (typically mV) and hence are more suseptile to noise etc..
4. Tonally as well interconnect cables could/should be matched to the equipment hence a speaker with a extended high end can be gently rolled of using cable that is 'soft' in the highs.

DIY Silver RCA Interconnect Cables

When you go to IIT Mumbai, be sure to talk to Dr Uday Sheorey, Dr. V.M. Gadre (PACE), Prof. Girish Kumar (WilCom), or any of the other professors actively involved in transmission line technologies at SINE (BTW Feastsoftware, a FEA solutions provider needs money and an industry investor so ask your father if he wants to get involved).

As far as Sony goes. they do not make really bad sounding HUs but their HUs are very average and one can get better VFM from JVC etc. Their speakers though are bad. The rationale I can offer is the same as why does Bose for example garner such devotion by many (more so Indians).
Old 20th August 2009, 00:00   #48

Originally Posted by navin View Post
DA you are a riot! ...
Kya boss, aap bhi! I was just trying to explain the ... errr... maths of conductivity in metals.

... every single void will sooner or later be filled. ...
Sounds strangely like KA govt.'s promises on repairing potholes on Bangalore roads! And to complete the cycle of life, the voids keep reappearing after every rains.

... drape an infant in clothing off the side of the road or mothercare?
Considering Mothercare sales is <0.1% of the infant garment sales on Linking Road footpaths, the answer should be very obvious, isn't it? You are confusing logic with emotion, Doc. You must be an incurable romantic.

Ahem, guys, why are we doing aisi ki taisi of Ankit-baba's thread?
Old 20th August 2009, 00:20   #49

Originally Posted by bharti22shresth View Post
Very correctly said sir. Eagerly waiting too see those test results. I'm sure that'll keep sum misconceptions of some people at bay (maybe even mine ).
Sir, sorry if I missed this part, but can you please clarify for me are you commercially involved in car audio in any way? Sorry if you have mentioned it earlier

Last edited by greenh0rn : 20th August 2009 at 00:23.
Old 20th August 2009, 01:40   #50

The thing that I believe in is purpose build, and that alone. I have already been down to IIT Mumbai and had a sit down with some professors there, hopefully I will have all the information I need (like equations, theorems, laws etc) by the weekend. There on I will proceed with the tests under their guidence. Hopefully I will get some conclusive data.
Here are few of the basic test for wires...

Conductor Resistance
Test for overall dimensions and thickness of insulaion and sheath test
Physical tests for insulation and sheath
a) Tensile strength and elongation at break
b) Loss of mass test
c)Ageing in air oven
d)Shrinkage Test
e) Heat shock test
f) Hot deformation
Insulation Resistance Test
High voltage test (Water Immersion Test)
Flammability test

More on this later today ....

Mods (Navin Ji and Deralte) please shift the cables related discussion to this thread)

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/ask-gu...ut-cables.html

Last edited by low_bass_makker : 20th August 2009 at 01:44.
Old 20th August 2009, 02:06   #51

Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post

Ahem, guys, why are we doing aisi ki taisi of Ankit-baba's thread?

Lol Let them do it , i am still not able to find kicker wiring kits yet , they are outta stock so all my work is stuck up due to the wiring thing
Old 20th August 2009, 10:05   #52

Originally Posted by ankit_chd View Post
Lol Let them do it , i am still not able to find kicker wiring kits yet , they are outta stock so all my work is stuck up due to the wiring thing
Stuck because of wiring? Or the title(car) change?
Old 20th August 2009, 11:14   #53

Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
Also you wanted a bling install what would a black dull power cable achive that. So Enjoy ICE.
my definition of a BLING install is not good quality wires. Obviously for me they form a very very integral part of my system, but my installer and me made sure, Whether a DULL looking power cable or a good looking kicker one, It is not shown and not visible unlike most installs I see in NCR.

Even if I did not want a BLING install, I would have still made sure I use good quality wires. and where is abhinav.gupta88?? He would be the best judge in this case, He was using Finloex before and now Kicker. He can tell the difference.
Old 20th August 2009, 11:25   #54

Difference?

I cannot feel any difference.

They are flexible, they are pretty thick. But i did not find a difference in the working of both. My amps used to power up and the system used to run perfectly before and same now.

I had a heavier system earlier and a very less power system right now. And still there is no difference.

For their extreme VFM factors, i'll suggest Finolex.

However if you have the money and resources, you can go for the kicker.

Using the finolex would mean you could save up on a lot of money.
Old 20th August 2009, 11:27   #55

If anyone here has any standard at which the Branded car audio cable is test at except cheesy marketing words ?...like here goes for kicker

KICKER’s ground-breaking virgin-PVC Hyper-Flex insulation and multi-strand construction allows you to bend, twist, and contort the cable in any way imaginable for an ultimate installation experience while delivering maximum current flow. Wire comes in metallic cobalt-blue and gun-metal gray translucent insulation that remains ultra-flexible under hot or cold temperature extremes.

Virgin plastics means fresh PVC And I do not thing finolex will be using recylce plastic for wires, the finolex also uses the same multi stand construction, but since the strands are thinner in kicker which gives better flexibility other than that no use, Under hot and cold any ranges ???

For the normal cables we have the following standard..

THE BUREAU OF INDIAN STANDARDS & IS 694 - Copper (ICPC) India

Last edited by low_bass_makker : 20th August 2009 at 11:31.
Old 20th August 2009, 11:56   #56

Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
If anyone here has any standard at which the Branded car audio cable is test at except cheesy marketing words ?...like here goes for kicker

KICKER’s ground-breaking virgin-PVC Hyper-Flex insulation and multi-strand construction allows you to bend, twist, and contort the cable in any way imaginable for an ultimate installation experience while delivering maximum current flow. Wire comes in metallic cobalt-blue and gun-metal gray translucent insulation that remains ultra-flexible under hot or cold temperature extremes.
If anyone here knows someone at Finolex, please find out if they need a freelance marketing consultant I would write kickass marketing copy for their cables- more so if they are in the mood to introduce a new sub-brand or as someone suggested, Finolex 'auto' cables.

I will be happy with 2% royalty on all sales of this new brand!
Old 20th August 2009, 12:50   #57

Originally Posted by shreyasma View Post
Stuck because of wiring? Or the title(car) change?

Car has been already changed
wiring is the main problem area for me .
Old 20th August 2009, 13:11   #58

Ankit, why is wiring a problem area? Are you waiting for the test reports?
Old 20th August 2009, 13:30   #59

Originally Posted by greenh0rn View Post
Ankit, why is wiring a problem area? Are you waiting for the test reports?
No No , kicker wiring kits are out of stock .
Though i have L/T wires with me right now , m still deciding what to do n what not to do .
Old 20th August 2009, 14:13   #60

Originally Posted by ankit_chd View Post
No No , kicker wiring kits are out of stock .
Though i have L/T wires with me right now , m still deciding what to do n what not to do .
What all amps do you plan to put and what gauge finolex do you have ?