Old 16th October 2009, 11:52   #1

Suitable AMP. for iDQ12 D4 V.3

Hello guys,

I currently own a Hyundai Accent and was looking to install an iDQ12 D4 V.3
and I am confused as to which AMP. is best suited to it. My budget for the AMP. is till 20k MAX.

visited GYRO and they suggested me the following:

1. Kenwood KAC-9104D
2. JBL GTO7001
3. Rockford Fosgate R500-1

My current setup:

1. Pioneer DEH-5750MP
2. Alpine SPS-170A (rear)
3. Sound Barrier(desi) AMP.
4. JBL GT5 1204 BR

Kindly help.

Thank you
Old 16th October 2009, 21:31   #2

Originally Posted by Sound_Affects View Post
Hello guys,

and I am confused as to which AMP. is best suited to it. My budget for the AMP. is till 20k MAX.

visited GYRO and they suggested me the following:

1. Kenwood KAC-9104D
2. JBL GTO7001

My current setup:

1. Pioneer DEH-5750MP
2. Alpine SPS-170A (rear)
3. Sound Barrier(desi) AMP.
4. JBL GT5 1204 BR

Kindly help.

Thank you
Your ID pumps about 600W RMS right?.
In that case all three amps will be under powering it (considering your connecting them as 4 ohm load)
RF amps are class apart but, thats only applicable to their Punch and Power Series.
Kenwood Amp u've mentioned comes the closest in terms of rated power(500 RMS) but most Kenny's are overrated
Old 16th October 2009, 21:46   #3

Hello guys,
and I am confused as to which AMP. is best suited to it.
1. Kenwood KAC-9104D
2. JBL GTO7001
All 3 are good amps the Kenny is known for it's VFM. I would take the JBL for the only reason that access to after sales service (should anythinggo wrong) is easier than RF and maybe even the Kenny.
Old 16th October 2009, 21:47   #4

Well dont you think you should first get a set of Comps? I mean you are buying a beautiful Sub, but to compliment that, you would need to have good set of comps.
Out of the list of amps you have mentioned, i think JBL would be good as they are really powerful amps.
Old 17th October 2009, 11:30   #5

@Mi10
That's the only reason i chose not to opt for Kenwood and list the other 2

@nitinralli
Cousins already getting a pair of ID CXS62 from US in December so right now going for sub.

Any other AMP. apart from these three if u guys think is good pl recommend
Old 17th October 2009, 13:01   #6

Before you put the sub in I think you seriously need to give a thought to getting good front speakers and a better amplifier. I am pretty sure you wont be very happy with your sub and mono upgrade. You will only get good quality of sound below 160hz(not a good idea to get the sub to play anything more than this) and the remaining frequencies from 160-20,000hz wil be totally lacking.
Old 17th October 2009, 16:34   #7

Nice choice there good to see one more ID lover, The best of the lot (what i think is the kenny) i think it is rated @ 500 x1 @4ohms and 900 x 1 @ 2 ohms so the idq will be pretty much happy if you feed it with that kind of power. If people say kenny are overrated it should do approx 6/700 @ 2 ohms. My vote goes to to kenny.

Good choice of components, As you are going with the cxs62 which amp you gone use to rum them ?
Old 17th October 2009, 19:14   #8

Kenny is overrated and will give out a true 650rms at 2ohms. Out of the choice mentioned I would say you can go for RF>Jbl>Kenny.
Another suggestion would be Alpine MRP-m500 if you could source it.
Old 18th October 2009, 00:32   #9

A D4 would mean 2 ohms.
I would advice you to go for Harman Kardon CA1500M.

600watts at 2 ohms and an amazing amp.
It will surely do wonders to your setup.
P.S. , you definitely need to upgrade the sound barrier ( it actually is acting as a barrier) plus get a good pair of front compos.
Old 18th October 2009, 11:08   #10

@cooldude,
as i have mentioned bro already getting COMPS by December so will just wait till then

@KK
planning to use HK CA470

@abhinav
how much is CA1500 for???
sound barriers acting like a WALL instead. COMPS will be here by Dec. and so the AMP

Thank you
Old 18th October 2009, 12:29   #11

Go for HK1500, No doubt they make good amps i think its for 30k, Ask abhinav about them as he using HK amps both 4 channel and a mono.
Old 18th October 2009, 13:48   #12

Originally Posted by karankapoor View Post
Go for HK1500, No doubt they make good amps i think its for 30k, Ask abhinav about them as he using HK amps both 4 channel and a mono.

Its way out of my budget, I have a budget of 20 k MAX
Old 18th October 2009, 15:18   #13

Its way out of my budget, I have a budget of 20 k MAX
Try sourcing it from UK, you can get it for 20-21K
Old 18th October 2009, 15:27   #14

20 k amp without B&W?I would think twice.JBL looks good, there A.s.s is better.Kenny is not bad.
Old 18th October 2009, 18:46   #15

I'll be buying all stuff with B&W, hows RF compared to JBL