Old 4th January 2010, 20:31   #1

Solid awaaz in my vista

ME: do you find any difference in the music? (slowly increasing the volume of the HU)
DAD: haaaa solid awaaj hai re (yess solid sound my dear)
ME: Ya I changed the stock speakers.
MOM: arre thoda awaaj kami kar (lower the volume now)
and how much did u spend?
ME: Rs. xxxx/-
MOM: arre you had speakers in the car before "mag kay garaj hoti"? (then what was the need?) tension rising in her voice...
Wifey (trying to pacify the scene) hmmm sounds good to me too..
DAD: Yeah par AWAAZ SOLID HAI!!!

Note to all:
I am not a audiophile, dont understand the finer things in the music, but i know what sounds good and what does not.
the stock speakers did not and the present set up does (yes to a large extent).
again please dont raise your hopes guys it is a very budget set-up compared to many god-like here on the forum.

Its only due to the gurus/members here and their posts on various threads that finally i was able to gather enough courage & take a decision.
Its not the final set-up and I have kept a lot of room for future upgrades but I can second my Dad on one thing
Solid awaaz!!

will update with pictures soon.

Last edited by schitre05 : 4th January 2010 at 20:32.
Old 4th January 2010, 20:46   #2

LOL at first from title I thought its topic about rattle in vista. waiting for the pics of solid awaaz giving setup
Old 4th January 2010, 20:56   #3

at least post the details ( equipment, prices, installer etc )
Old 4th January 2010, 20:59   #4

Originally Posted by Hashim View Post
LOL at first from title I thought its topic about rattle in vista. waiting for the pics of solid awaaz giving setup
Me too. What about the speakers. I always like modifications to in-dash systems' speaker setups. This one would be fun to watch. Bring it on.
Old 4th January 2010, 21:28   #5

@ greenhorn yes! here go the details with pics

Head Unit: OE TATA clarion unchanged

Front: JBL GTO 608c 2 way components 6&1/2"
(removed the stock speakers and replaced these in their place with the help of wooden spacer rings)

Rear: JBL GTO 947 6x9" coaxials
(placed them on rear MDF tray, replaced the original parcel tray)

Total cost came up to Rs. 8100/-
The above cost includes the speakers + MDF tray+ fitting charges.
The above work was carried out at an accessory shop near Milan subway Andheri (Mumbai).
Future upgardes planned
JBL amp & JBL Bass tube

The quality of sound is hugely improved over the stock speakers. The stock ones sounded very hollow and weak, I dont know their make too. "Made in Malaysia" that was all written on the front speakers. The rear speakers are still in stock location (rear doors) I have just disconnected the wires

The JBL's made an immediate positive impact to the overall sound quality and listening experience in the car.

enjoy the pics.
Solid awaaz in my vista-dscf2057.jpg  

Solid awaaz in my vista-dscf2058.jpg  

Solid awaaz in my vista-dscf2059.jpg  

Solid awaaz in my vista-dscf2060.jpg  

Solid awaaz in my vista-dscf2061.jpg  

Solid awaaz in my vista-dscf2062.jpg  

Solid awaaz in my vista-dscf2063.jpg  

Solid awaaz in my vista-dscf2064.jpg  

Solid awaaz in my vista-dscf2065.jpg  

Solid awaaz in my vista-dscf2067.jpg  

Last edited by schitre05 : 4th January 2010 at 21:42.
Old 5th January 2010, 06:09   #6

Good to know you like the way your current setup sounds. I demo'ed the 947's coupled with an alpine HU in one of my friend's car & did not like the way they sounded (purely my personal opinion).

I suggest you demo some basstubes & subwoofer setups before you go on with your future upgrades. I believe everyone here recommends Sub setup over a basstube!
Old 5th January 2010, 07:48   #7

1. I would have preferred the 938 over the 947
2. I would have placed the tweeter in the stock location. of course , this does look bling, but has disadvantages too
Old 5th January 2010, 07:50   #8

congrats dude, Enjoy your sound. 608C is one of the best i ve heard in that price bracket.

Strange, you guys tell the real prices for ICE at home ? ;-)
Old 5th January 2010, 10:47   #9

Originally Posted by schitre05 View Post
I am not a audiophile, dont understand the finer things in the music, but i know what sounds good and what does not.

My sentiments exactly.

Originally Posted by Mi10 View Post
Strange, you guys tell the real prices for ICE at home ? ;-)
Well sooner or later the truth will come out so why not?
Old 5th January 2010, 12:38   #10

Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
1. I would have preferred the 938 over the 947
2. I would have placed the tweeter in the stock location. of course , this does look bling, but has disadvantages too
Yes! I had heard the 938 and felt it was good, (in somebody's car with a alpine HU and FLI components)
though when i went in for this setup not one shop in the whole lane had 938 in stock and thus ended up with 947.
I tried to place the tweeters in the stock location, removed the cover and saw how the original tweets were placed, did not like it and placed it the way they are now.
I would love to hear comments on the current positioning of tweeters and its disadvantages too.
cheers!!

Last edited by schitre05 : 5th January 2010 at 12:40.
Old 5th January 2010, 18:57   #11

Where and how did you get those wodden trims done? Looks like a good job? How much did they cost and are they just some stickers?
Old 5th January 2010, 19:50   #12

the JBL's are traditionally a bit bright. aiming them at your ears will only make it even more so.
If its stuck with just double sided tape, then you can try playing around with the positioning
Of course , if it sounds good to you, its irrelevant
Old 5th January 2010, 23:25   #13

Originally Posted by vista_qjd View Post
Where and how did you get those wodden trims done? Looks like a good job? How much did they cost and are they just some stickers?
These are ready made stickers with good quality 3m glue and they came with 3 years warranty against peeling. It has a high glossy finish and compliments the beige dash well. I got it done at my local accessory shop for around 900 bucks.
It should be readily available at any good car accessory store.
Cheers!!!

Last edited by schitre05 : 5th January 2010 at 23:26.
Old 11th January 2010, 22:23   #14

whats the current price of JBL GTO 608c?any better options at its price range!!
Old 11th January 2010, 23:02   #15

Kindly remove those "wooden" stickers from the dash, or else I will come with a screwdriver to your car soon.