Old 19th February 2010, 00:22   #1

Verna Gets some Basic ICE after 20 months & 30k kms !!

As most of you folks knowing me would know that I still did not have any ICE at all in my Verna which is close to 20 months & 30k km's.

Till now my music was fulfilled with my I Pod BUT I thought it was high time till I got some basic ICE.

Went this morning to a friends shop who is a wholesale dealer of various brands like Alpine, JBL, Sony & others.

So I went and finalised the following -

All Prices - with B/W and discounted ( ? ) MRP mentioned on Box.

HU - Alpine CDE 9846E - 4700 Rupees ( MRP 6990 )
Front Door Speakers - Rockford Fosgate 6'' - 2800 Rupees ( MRP 3490 )
Rear Speakers - Ovals Sony Xplod 6 x 9 300 watts - 2500 Rupees ( MRP 2990 )

Installation - 200 Rupees
Any Wiring ? - I guess it was free, I have no clue if there was any !

TOTAL - 10,500 Rupees

Got this installed at a local car accesories shop as my friend had no installer with him at that time.

Sound Output is very clear and satisfactory BUT at volumes above 20 on the HU ( 75 % of max vol ) and it starts getting uncomfortable. The installer says an Amplifier would make a huge difference so my next step would be to get a 2/4 channel amplifier - preferably Alpine or JBL.

I was going to get JBL Speakers ( GTO Series ) BUT he did not have any in stock and I had to install today else I would have never gotten this done. It was another few thousand rupees so I thought I'd save some.

I will share pictures tomorrow. Took a few on my blackberry so not too clear.

NOTE - This is a very basic ICE install and possibly one of the cheapest here on the forum. I am not a music guy and this setup pleases me fine.

I listened to over 1 hour of songs ( all genres ) and am 90% satisfied with what I heard.

Please give your suggestions / thoughts and feel free to ask anything.

Varun Kochar

Last edited by vkochar : 19th February 2010 at 00:25.
Old 19th February 2010, 09:45   #2

A Few Pics

Here are a few photos I took of the Boxes in the car. No Installation Pics as it was basic and no damping etc !

Also I am sorry - The Alpine Model Number is 9871E !

Verna Gets some Basic ICE after 20 months & 30k kms !!-img00137201002181404.jpg
Verna Gets some Basic ICE after 20 months & 30k kms !!-img00138201002181404.jpg
Verna Gets some Basic ICE after 20 months & 30k kms !!-img00139201002181404.jpg
Verna Gets some Basic ICE after 20 months & 30k kms !!-img00140201002181405.jpg
Verna Gets some Basic ICE after 20 months & 30k kms !!-img00141201002181406.jpg
Verna Gets some Basic ICE after 20 months & 30k kms !!-img00143201002181407.jpg
Verna Gets some Basic ICE after 20 months & 30k kms !!-img00144201002181408.jpg

Last edited by vkochar : 19th February 2010 at 09:47.
Old 19th February 2010, 10:01   #3

So finally you have got the ICE installation done. Congratulations.

Even I ended up getting the ICE done before 2009 Diwali trip to Indore. Just like you, I had one day to get the ICE done. So I picked up whatever I could get at the dealer and ended up spending 25k. I had evaded this task for more than 3 years but then finally I had to concede to my wife and son.

Happy listening.

-Biju

Last edited by pjbiju : 19th February 2010 at 10:03.
Old 19th February 2010, 10:31   #4

Oho ji Mubarakaan kochhar sahab!

Excellent choice of HU..the only weak point is (you guessed it right).. Humara apna Sony!
Old 19th February 2010, 13:03   #5

Originally Posted by panky12345 View Post
Oho ji Mubarakaan kochhar sahab!

Excellent choice of HU..the only weak point is (you guessed it right).. Humara apna Sony!
Thanks Panky !

BUT I know I am going to sound stupid BUT the Sony's actually sound very good. I can hardly notice the Rockford's !!
Old 19th February 2010, 13:31   #6

Originally Posted by vkochar View Post
Thanks Panky !

BUT I know I am going to sound stupid BUT the Sony's actually sound very good. I can hardly notice the Rockford's !!
Rasgulle kee mithaas ke anubhav ke liye karele ki karvahath kaa anubhav jaroori hai dost!
(in other words...)
You're hardly noticing RF's beacuse your rear soundstage is overpowering the front, ideally it should be opposite when the car is self-driven (I assume thats your case)..

Now welcome to the confusion and happy upgrading!!

Last edited by Rehaan : 20th February 2010 at 09:27. Reason: Clarifying about the hindi for those who do not understand.
Old 19th February 2010, 13:47   #7

Congratulations Kochar Ji. ICE looks good. Two ques:

Why not comps insted of co-ax's in the front?
Why not a USB HU?
Old 19th February 2010, 13:50   #8

Originally Posted by live2drive View Post
Two ques:

Why not comps insted of co-ax's in the front?
Why not a USB HU?
See what I told you Kochhar ji!

Well done, live2drive!!
Old 19th February 2010, 13:55   #9

Hahah panky! That's how cruel the ICE section is. Makes one spend till eternity.
Old 19th February 2010, 14:01   #10

Good choice of HU & RFS, but its high time to dump the Sony & go for JBL.
That would make good setup rather than a decent one.
Old 19th February 2010, 14:05   #11

The main reason for not opting for Comps and a USB HU was budget. I would have to shell out a further 5k for components and a USB HU.

I am a simple guy who likes his music the simple way and not the way you folks do

One problem - The HU protrudes out on both sides leaving about less than an inch visible. Makes it looka bit ugly BUT then all Verna's have this problem more or less as the fascia is tilted a bit to the driver's side. Any suggestions of covering this up ? I guess a band or a belt could do the trick ! Advise please !

I do not mind investing in an amp soon. Any suggestions ? 2 channel / 4 chaqnnel ? Alpine ? Cost please ?

Last edited by vkochar : 19th February 2010 at 14:07.
Old 19th February 2010, 14:10   #12

One problem - The HU protrudes out on both sides leaving about less than an inch visible. Makes it looka bit ugly BUT then all Verna's have this problem more or less as the fascia is tilted a bit to the driver's side. Any suggestions of covering this up ? I guess a band or a belt could do the trick ! Advise please !
I faced similar problem too. The only solution is to drill a few holes in the casing on which the HU is screwed on(whatever it is called) to achieve the flush mount effect. Let me dig up a pic from my install. Will post it in a while.

EDIT: Here you go:
Verna Gets some Basic ICE after 20 months & 30k kms !!-dsc04024-1296-x-972.jpg

Verna Gets some Basic ICE after 20 months & 30k kms !!-dsc04026-1296-x-972.jpg

Last edited by live2drive : 19th February 2010 at 14:19.
Old 19th February 2010, 14:58   #13

I am a simple guy who likes his music the simple way and not the way you folks do

I do not mind investing in an amp soon. Any suggestions ? 2 channel / 4 chaqnnel ? Alpine ? Cost please ?
Oh no.. We're going to make this happen soon! Soon, you'd be discussing THD, RMS, Imaging, Sub, Comps and what not

Alpine (genuine) is a costly affair ~ 20-30K just for the amp.. Given your equipment, go for a 4 channel Sony ~ 3-4K.

Upgrade the fronts to comps, run them off 2 front channels and LPF the rear two channels to your 6X9s in case you dont want to invest in a sub (as of now!)

This is the best that you can do.
Old 19th February 2010, 15:03   #14

Varun, congrats & wish you many more road trips with good music in the background

and feel free to ask anything.
You know what's coming next - when's the party & where?
Old 24th February 2010, 09:36   #15

Kochhar Sahab, what about the upgrade plans?