Old 3rd October 2005, 00:27   #31

navin ji, thanks for the advice. But guru ji, can u comment on my post #27, in this thread regarding the boss c800 amplifier.
Old 3rd October 2005, 00:33   #32

gunbir thanks,

You really cleared my doubt regarding Boss. I was just tempted by the rms rating of boss.
Now i say as straight NO to boss.

Thats the advantages to keep in touch with u guru logs!!!
I would really consider the pionner amp u suggested, JBL and blaupunkt amp while buying.

Again: NO TO BOSS FROM MY SIDE, FROM NOW ONWARDS
Old 3rd October 2005, 02:11   #33

hi,
Tell me how much does custom fabricated .75" or 1" mdf tray cost (approx).
Old 3rd October 2005, 02:59   #34

Originally Posted by amit_baghe
hi,
Tell me how much does custom fabricated .75" or 1" mdf tray cost (approx).
about 800-1000 bucks..get ur magic wands out and let ur bargaining skills get u the best deal...
Old 3rd October 2005, 10:19   #35

navin ji, thanks for the advice. But guru ji, can u comment on my post #27, in this thread regarding the boss c800 amplifier.
I have never heard BOSS amps. I am not too sure that the market has any good news about them either. Hence it makes sense to avoid them.
Old 3rd October 2005, 22:41   #36

ok its time now,
on thursday i am getting my new car system for hyundai accent

HU - Blaupunkt
Subwoofer- Kicker 12" in rear parcel tray with custom fitted MDF "75 or 1".
Pionner = REV range speaker (yelow ones) already installed
Amp - Blaupunkt GTA470
Wiring - Codd wires( excuse me if i spell wrong) around Rs 1500

How would the system sound.
Post your rating out of 10
Old 3rd October 2005, 23:52   #37

ok its time now,
on thursday i am getting my new car system for hyundai accent

HU - Blaupunkt
Subwoofer- Kicker 12" in rear parcel tray with custom fitted MDF "75 or 1".
Pionner = REV range speaker (yelow ones) already installed
Amp - Blaupunkt GTA470
Wiring - Codd wires( excuse me if i spell wrong) around Rs 1500

How would the system sound.
Post your rating out of 10
You should consider Pioneer 6100F in the same price band as Blaupunkt GTA470!
Old 3rd October 2005, 23:57   #38

Navin & team, isn't a 12" kicker too much for a 1"mdf tray??? and is it a free-air sub??

I thot subs were best installed in a box and in da boot... sahi hai kya???

And Amit, don't pay anything more than 900- 1000 for an 1" mdf tray.. I paid 850 for my tray, 1"...
Old 4th October 2005, 00:11   #39

Originally Posted by k_ajay
Navin & team, isn't a 12" kicker too much for a 1"mdf tray??? and is it a free-air sub??

I thot subs were best installed in a box and in da boot... sahi hai kya???

And Amit, don't pay anything more than 900- 1000 for an 1" mdf tray.. I paid 850 for my tray, 1"...
well if u think a 12'' sub is too much for a mdf tray take a look at the thread "5.1" where a MB has 2 ID subs fitted on an mdf tray..so the weight should be bearable..and most of the subs these days can be used as free air or in a sealed enclosures..i think only pioneers used to make subs individually for free air and box enclosures with a variation in certain parameters,not sure if they still do make them..

well it all depends on how u need the bass to be in ur system,based on that u can choose whether to go in for a free-air or a sealed one or in the spare wheel enclosure..this will give u clear idea regarding woofer enclosures:

Enclosures for Woofers:

Sealed box — A sealed box is an airtight enclosure housing your subwoofer. A sealed box is best for any music that demands tight, accurate bass. Expect flat response, deep bass extension, and excellent power handling. Since a sealed enclosure tends to require more power than a ported box, use an amplifier with ample wattage for optimum performance...

Ported box — A ported box uses a vent (called a port) which allows movement of air in and out of the enclosure chamber. This additional air movement reinforces low bass response. You get more output from a ported box than you would from a sealed box at any given level of amplifier output. Some people simply prefer the sound of ported boxes for rap, techno, or any hard-driving music because they play louder than comparable sealed boxes...

Bandpass box — A bandpass box is a special type of ported box designed for maximum slam. The woofer is mounted inside a dual-chambered box; the woofer fires from the sealed chamber into the ported chamber, and sound waves emerge from the ported side. Because the sound that comes out of the port is extra loud within a narrow frequency range, bandpass boxes are considered super efficient. Their aggressive sound is popular with many hip-hop, techno, and metal fans...

Free-air subwoofers — A free-air system consists of woofers mounted to a board attached to the rear deck or placed in the trunk against the rear seat. The trunk acts as the enclosure housing the subwoofer. Free-air systems save space and have flat frequency response. The woofer must be specifically designed for free-air use, and the trunk must be airtight for best results..

hope that helps ur query..
Old 4th October 2005, 00:22   #40

ok nice maclern, for that theory on boxes.

Tell me how much would a ported box cost around.

Also tell me free air sub that i can install in the rear tray
Old 4th October 2005, 00:36   #41

ok nice mclaren, for that theory on boxes.

Tell me how much would a ported box cost around.

Also tell me free air sub that i can install in the rear tray
well for a free air sub ul need a 1'' mdf tray and will cost u about 1k..
and for the sealed box its anywhere btwn 1.5k-2k.. for ported its around 2.5-3k..hope that helps..
Old 4th October 2005, 00:40   #42

You can get a MDF box sealed/ported from MDF board starting at 1k and upwards... depending on the quality of the carpet, connectors, etc!
Old 4th October 2005, 01:16   #43

fine i'll take look for a proper tra before installatin.

Is Blaupunkt GTA 470 and Kicker 12" Single Voice Coil a good combination?

I did hear a 12" kicker with sony 504, it was good.
Comment on the same
Old 4th October 2005, 01:21   #44

fine i'll take look for a proper tra before installatin.

Is Blaupunkt GTA 470 and Kicker 12" Single Voice Coil a good combination?

I did hear a 12" kicker with sony 504, it was good.
Comment on the same
well if u had a choice to make btwn the 504 and the gta 470,i say stick to the blau..sonys just VFM..but the blaus way better..
Old 4th October 2005, 01:44   #45

aseem bhai, u also relpy on my post #43 in this thread.

Aseem according to u, i should also consider Pioneer 6100F.
I my be wrong, but as per my findings Blau GTA 470 seems to be a better amp than Pioneer 6100F.
Isnt it?
Please explain