Old 12th February 2014, 09:07   #16

re: Tata Xenon CC 4X4 launched @ 7.64 Lakhs

Manikjeet, is it twin cab?
If so, then its great price. This can be registered as private vehicle I suppose?
I don't know why it was made official so late but this particular model has been available for a bit now. I registered an interest for the same on Tata website sometime back and the executive from the commercial vehicle sales who called me said that it can indeed be registered as a private vehicle.

At the price I was tempted too but decided to call it off since I don't have a proper parking for the beast. I still haven't given up on it completely though.
Old 12th February 2014, 09:40   #17

Originally Posted by AVR View Post
Hi Manikjeet,

Do you have more information or a brochure you can share? What all has been stripped to bring the price down? ABS? Still has AC/Power windows etc right?

More info would be great!
Adi

It has PS A/C 4 power windows tilt steering rear defogger.

Only difference is you dont get the beige interior, abs and the 2.2 l engine but yhe price is less by 4 lacs so whose complaint ing.

Originally Posted by extreme_torque View Post
I don't know why it was made official so late but this particular model has been available for a bit now. I registered an interest for the same on Tata website sometime back and the executive from the commercial vehicle sales who called me said that it can indeed be registered as a private vehicle.

At the price I was tempted too but decided to call it off since I don't have a proper parking for the beast. I still haven't given up on it completely though.
Earlier only 4x2 was available but its available in 4x4 now.
manikjeet is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 12th February 2014, 09:49   #18
AVR

Originally Posted by manikjeet View Post
It has PS A/C 4 power windows tilt steering rear defogger.
Only difference is you dont get the beige interior, abs and the 2.2 l engine but yhe price is less by 4 lacs so whose complaint ing.
Better off without Beige interiors here. Do you have pics of the interiors? Please take when you go look at it next...

Does this come with 235/70R16 or 215/75R16 tyres?

Too-bad it doesn't have a 2-Din music system

Old 12th February 2014, 10:48   #19

Just wanted to ask if the last seat has been modified for leg room or recline angle. I test drove then Xenon last year and the back seat was a major turn off. Plus the interiors were falling apart (in a 2 years old vehicle)
Old 12th February 2014, 11:01   #20

Earlier only 4x2 was available but its available in 4x4 now.
I specifically asked the guy if it is available in four wheel drive and can I buy it, he answered in affirmative. Also offered me a test drive which I did not take.
Old 12th February 2014, 11:49   #21

Originally Posted by extreme_torque View Post
I specifically asked the guy if it is available in four wheel drive and can I buy it, he answered in affirmative. Also offered me a test drive which I did not take.
May be he didn't get you but 4x4 was not available. I was looking to buy xenon for past 6 months and only put off was non availablity of 4x4.

And it was checked with tata motors and it has been mentioned on the crew cab thread as well.

And the brochure he showed me also mention it as a new variant.

Yes 2.2 was and is available in 4x4. Maybe he was confused with that variant.

Last edited by manikjeet : 12th February 2014 at 11:51.
manikjeet is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th February 2014, 12:33   #22

I inquired from couple of dealers in Pune and Mumbai. They have clearly indicated that it cannot be registered as a private Vehicle as the vehicle can carry a payload in excess of 250 Kgs .

i was informed that many people register it as commercial vehicle , but use the white color for the number plate. How does one confirm that Xenon can indeed be classified and bought as a private car?
Old 13th February 2014, 18:19   #23

Re: Tata Xenon CC 4X4 launched @ 7.64 Lakhs

Originally Posted by sudhakarg View Post
I inquired from couple of dealers in Pune and Mumbai. They have clearly indicated that it cannot be registered as a private Vehicle as the vehicle can carry a payload in excess of 250 Kgs .

i was informed that many people register it as commercial vehicle , but use the white color for the number plate. How does one confirm that Xenon can indeed be classified and bought as a private car?
Its a long process.

1. Go to RLA and Meet the MBI.
2. He will inspect the vehicle and you have to give a affidavit on Rs 100 Stamp that you are going to use it as a private vehicle.
3. Then you have get ruling from ARAI and Tata and GM of the dealer ship that Tata has got the same passed as a Passenger vehicle.
4. Submit the same to MBI.

I am in process of doing the same right now for my 4 4x4 Xenon purchased yesterday. All will be having private number.

MBI will also be told me buy VIP numbers. To smooth the process.
manikjeet is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 13th February 2014, 18:29   #24

.... my 4 4x4 Xenon purchased yesterday.....
Congrats on the new 4X4 Xenon, manikjeet
Hope to see a detailed ownership review soon !
Old 13th February 2014, 19:04   #25

Congratulations on the new xenon manikjeet! I dream to own one of these beasts in the future!
Throw us a few pictures of the truck.
Old 13th February 2014, 19:28   #26

Originally Posted by Blue Thunder View Post
Congrats on the new 4X4 Xenon, manikjeet
Hope to see a detailed ownership review soon !
Thanks Bro.
I will. I have driven around 200 Kms since yesterday and till now I have loved every moment of it.

Other 3 have been driven more.

One has already made 3 trips to Ludhiana today and the driver is totally in love with it.

One is having trouble engaging 4L.
One is with my dad today so will ask him about his feedback.
I am into realestate. So I bought all these for my work.

Originally Posted by Ashkait Kapoor View Post
Congratulations on the new xenon manikjeet! I dream to own one of these beasts in the future!
Throw us a few pictures of the truck.
Surely bro but the pic have to be toned down. So will do it at night And Thanks

Last edited by manikjeet : 13th February 2014 at 19:32.
manikjeet is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 13th February 2014, 22:20   #27

Congrats buddy. Please post a detailed experience. At this price its a real interesting product. Specifically the driving behavior, back seat comfort and the rattles.
Old 13th February 2014, 22:49   #28

Congrats manikjeet!

We are waiting for the snaps.
Old 14th February 2014, 09:17   #29
AVR

I will. I have driven around 200 Kms since yesterday and till now I have loved every moment of it.
Other 3 have been driven more.
If you have 4 then you've no choice but to have an ownership thread that people can follow to get an idea about the vehicles!

Congrats and looking forward to the pics soon!

Adi
Old 14th February 2014, 15:28   #30

Congrats ! Wishing you a Happy ownership experience and looking forward to some snaps, info, on the purchase..

RD