Team-BHP > Commercial Vehicles

Old 25th July 2014, 15:00   #1

Review: Isuzu D-Max

The Isuzu D-Max has been launched in India at a price of between Rs. 5.99 - 7.09 lakhs (ex-Mumbai).

What you'll like:

• All variants are competitively priced
Best-in-class build quality. Can handle abuse
• Powerful diesel engine. An impressive performer, even on the open road
• Easy to drive. Balanced road manners & controlled body roll
• By CV standards, the interiors are user-friendly (fit & finish, ergonomics, NVH, air-conditioning)
• Car-like equipment (tilt steering, power windows, height-adjustable seat belts, dead pedal, cup-holders, coat hook etc.)

What you won't:

• Can be registered as a commercial vehicle only. Also, you need a CV driving licence
• Awfully thin dealer network. Present in merely 6 states today
• Available as a 2-seater. Competition offers rear seats
• A generation older than what's available internationally
• ABS or 4x4 aren't part of the options list
• Proper rear bumper is conspicuous by its absence

Review: Isuzu D-Max-1.jpg

Last edited by GTO : 26th July 2014 at 14:45.
tsk1979 is offline   (34) Thanks
Old 25th July 2014, 15:00   #2

The "Pickup Truck" segment never really took off with private owners. However, the commercial side is a totally different story. In India's tiny lanes and narrow roads, it's the likes of the sub-1 ton & 1.5 ton pickups that rule the roost. The bulk of the market is dominated by Mahindra and Tata, with their bare bones basic pickup trucks powered by anaemic engines. Recently, Tata introduced a 115 PS light truck albeit only in BS-III form, which means there is nothing modern or contemporary for the metros. Despite the market opportunity, the current vehicle space is mostly dominated by entry-level vehicles, a majority of which lack even air-conditioning.

Enter the Isuzu D-Max.

The D-Max wants to be an affordable, comfortable light truck for small businesses. It's target is the owner driven sector. Of course, there are lower variants for those with full-time drivers, but for the space-cab version, the target is the self-driven segment. Thanks to our taxation structure and a totally different set of rules for commercial vehicles, this breed is very rare. That said, with the economy growing and the new government expected to give a boost to small businesses, manufacturers are optimistic about sales for small commercial vehicles. Plus, stringent norms restrict the entry of big trucks in most big cities; pickup trucks have filled this void. In the congested areas of Indian cities, the only vehicles doing duty are mini trucks. Small CVs are cheaper to buy & own, offer better fuel-economy and can handle narrow roads (where a full-size truck can be a difficult proposition).

Isuzu wants to crack this barrier by offering more luxury at a slightly higher price point. The company's dealer network is still in its infancy though, and we'll have to see how aggressively the sales & service network spreads across the country.

India gets the older 1st-generation D-Max which was introduced back in 2002 in Thailand. The Rs. 20 lakh MU-7 SUV is based on this pickup truck itself. The 2nd-generation D-Max (image gallery) had its international unveiling in 2012. Price & nature of competition are the main reasons why India sees the older generation on sale. Isuzu is basically testing the waters right now. It's factory at Andhra Pradesh isn't even ready yet. The plant is scheduled to start production in year 2016. Till then, Isuzu has a contract-manufacturing agreement with Hindustan Motors to assemble its UVs. Built from CKD kits, nearly all components are imported.

While the D-Max isn't flamboyant looking like the Tata Xenon, it's not dull either. Viewed head on, the pickup does have character. This is the 'classic truck' look. Bonnet scoop and the dollops of chrome do help quite a bit. Body-coloured bumpers on top variant only:

The trapezoidal clear lens headlamps are simple H4s, with the indicator sitting right above:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-3.jpg

Isuzu badging is prominent:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-2.jpg

No fog lamps, although aftermarket stuff would fit in here:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-11.jpg

The side profile. Ground clearance is 195 mm:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-6.jpg

The clean theme is carried onto the rear. Shockingly, there is no rear bumper at all!! Expect the shiny rear to get all sorts of nicks and dents:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-4.jpg

215/70 R15 tyres that would look better on a sedan. Not difficult to understand the choice though. This is the cheapest & most common size available for heavy lifters. But still, Isuzu could have done better, especially for a vehicle with so much power. The skinny tyres have robbed it of half the marks earned in the looks department. Look at the wheel well, there's ample amount of clearance to move to larger rims (e.g. 235/60 R16):
Review: Isuzu D-Max-7.jpg

No exposed metal. Everything is painted:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-painted.jpg

Panel gaps aren't tight, yet uniform:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-panel-gaps.jpg

Chromed ORVM:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-13.jpg

You get the standard small blinkers on the sides, with nothing on the wing mirrors. Actually a good thing for the segment:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-12.jpg

These pull-type chrome door handles wouldn't look out of place on a 20 lakh SUV!
Review: Isuzu D-Max-14.jpg

Pull-out radio antenna from the nineties:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-antenna.jpg

Spacecab decal dominates the mid-cabin area. Space cab gets a 1.5 feet longer cabin:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-15.jpg

Butterfly windows at the rear:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-butterfly-windows.jpg

The tail-lamp cluster is neat & functional. Lack of a fog light is shocking:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-8.jpg

More chrome at the rear. Also notice the paint quality. It's very good actually, something you don't see on a vehicle from this segment:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-5.jpg

Isuzu sticker at the rear (not a plastic nameplate):
Review: Isuzu D-Max-9.jpg

The "bed" area. 1.1 ton payload on the space cab variant. No liner means a whole lot of scratches:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-17.jpg

The tailgate opens flat for easy loading. Nifty feature = The lock is connected to the central locking system, meaning you can easily make it a lockable bed:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-18.jpg

Missing edge liner = lots of dust in the bed:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-edge-liner.jpg

Lower (non-space cab) versions get a basic bed & higher 1.2 ton payload:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-19.jpg

Only space cab gets an internally-operated fuel filler. Base variant has to do it the old school way:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-fuel-tank.jpg

Here's all the versions (and colour options ) parked together. The non-space cab variant is only available in the base trim level. The space cab has a bare bones as well as top-end variant (which we tested):
Review: Isuzu D-Max-16.jpg

A look at the differences & pricing:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-variants.png

Two parting exterior shots:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-20.jpg

Kerb weight = 1,650 kilos:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-21.jpg

Last edited by GTO : 26th July 2014 at 14:44.
tsk1979 is offline   (28) Thanks
Old 25th July 2014, 15:00   #3

Step inside and the first thing running through your head is how "un-truck" like the interior is. It feels just like that of a regular car. Sure, the plastics are hard and there are no dollops of carpeting all over...remember this is a commercial vehicle. Having a beige soft-touch dashboard will be an epic disaster.

The interiors feel well-screwed together and parts feel very durable. Unlike some of its competitors, nothing here will fall off after 6 months of abuse. It can safely be said that the level of refinement inside the space cab is rather high for the segment. The air-conditioner is effective too.

The seating position is low and the ergonomics don't scream "truck". From the pickup segment, this is probably the nicest vehicle to be in:

Big steering wheel gets tilt adjustment:

The instrument cluster is simple and legible. Has a temp gauge to please those CV owners used to keeping an eye on the needle (in their Tatas & Mahindras). Only the top variant gets a tachometer. No MID:

Headlamp levelling switch is electronic, and not cable-type as found in some cars (like the Etios!). Unused switch location can be useful for roof-mounted auxiliary lights (admit it, you did think of them):

Hard, durable stalks:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-6.jpg

Wipers get no intermittent function, only high/lo and mist:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-7.jpg

Well-spaced footwell has a block'ish dead pedal too. No wiring clutter at all. An OBD port peeks out:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-11.jpg

Fusebox is conveniently located:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-fuse-box.jpg

Seat fabric quality is acceptable. Standard key, no buttons or remote control. The D-Max has central locking and yes, the doors auto-lock on the move:

The center console. Chilling air-conditioner and chunky gear lever. Notice the simple A/C vents. No fancy 3-way adjustment like in modern cars. Two axis stuff:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-18.jpg

Base variant doesn't get air-conditioning. Pulley is ready in the engine bay, which means a plug & play install:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-no-aircon.jpg

All variants get a lighter and 2 small cupholders here:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-19.jpg

Seatbelts are height-adjustable on all variants:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-25.jpg

The doors open wide. Lower seating position means easier ingress and exit:

Small (500 ml) bottle holder & long but thin door pocket:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-13.jpg

Driver's window gets 'auto-down' functionality:

Door handle reminds me of the Maruti 800:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-10.jpg

Only top variant gets an internal fuel lid release. The extra seat lever you see allows you to slide the seat & lean it forward, in case you want to utilize the "space" in the space cab:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-14.jpg

Speaking of space behind the front seats, no, it's not much. Don't even think of extra seats here. Good for luggage. The only way to sit here is this:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-15.jpg

This area has two additional cup holders. Jack neatly tucked away in this version:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-16.jpg

Rear cab area gets speaker pods:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-26.jpg

Can easily take a lot of luggage. Having a lockable cabin with decent storage is a good thing. Cushioned area (on top) means it will indeed be used as an 'unofficial' 4-seater by the masses:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-17.jpg

ORVMs aren't adjustable, internally or externally! I was sceptical about the coverage, but with the curve in the outer glass, there's no blind spot...no matter what your driving position:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-20.jpg

Left side ORVM gets a convex mirror. Coverage is satisfactory:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-21.jpg

IRVM is inadequate. With luggage on the bed, you'll be solely dependent on the wing mirrors. IRVM does have day & night mode (prismatic):
Review: Isuzu D-Max-22.jpg

Driver's rearward view:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-23.jpg

The D-Max has something many 10 lakh cars don't...a coat hook!
Review: Isuzu D-Max-24.jpg

Basic sunvisors. No vanity mirror or flaps to hold toll receipts:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-27.jpg

Look at the recommended tyre pressures. This is one load carrying beast!
Review: Isuzu D-Max-12.jpg

Last edited by tsk1979 : 26th July 2014 at 15:48.
tsk1979 is offline   (25) Thanks
Old 25th July 2014, 15:00   #4

Vehicle warranty of 3 years / 100,000 kms:

The surprise package with the D-Max is the 2.5L diesel engine. With 136 horses and 294 nm of torque (starting from 1,800 rpm), this is the most powerful vehicle in its class. The engine is Euro IV compliant too, which means you can buy it in the metros (commercial registration only).

Twist the key and the engine rumbles to a rather clattery idle. Standing outside, this is just another commercial vehicle, with a characteristic clatter & noise. In fact, it sounds uncannily similar to the 140 BHP Tata Xenon. Blip the throttle and the rpm needle readily jumps, with an audible turbo whistle to match.

Everything changes once you roll up the windows. Gone is the clatter, gone is the noise. The level of sound deadening is truly fantastic. Isuzu could have used the cost cutting knife here, yet they smartly chose not to. Some hatchbacks can take sound deadening tips from this vehicle, especially the noisy red Liva sitting in my garage. As you press the ultra-light clutch, you realise that the driving experience is very car like. The gearshift is precise; not Honda precise mind you, but still better than most diesel beasts south of 30 big ones. The gears slot true and perfect.

Isuzu calls themselves the "diesel engine specialists". My initial thought was "Meh, just another powerful truck like the Xenon. A 136 BHP 2.5L diesel in this decade is nothing phenomenal. If it had 200, then we'd be talking". Slowly, as I drove, my tune changed to "Oh yeah"! Next time you are in your diesel SUV, slot to third gear at idle rpms. Let the vehicle putter at idle in third gear, then stomp on the accelerator. You'd be hard pressed to find any acceleration for the first few seconds.

Not the D-Max. Any gear, any rpm, it is just eager to pull. 800 rpm in 3rd gear sees 20 kph and from there, the same gear pulls all the way to a 100. Heck, 1100 rpm in 5th gear sees about 50 kph on the speedometer. Start pulling, and this thing goes like an electric locomotive. There exist few 140 BHP UVs with variable geometry turbos that behave like the D-Max. If you've taken your UV mountain driving, you know that the Achilles heel is low end torque. It's where many entry-level common-rail diesels falter.

With a 1.5 ton payload capacity, low end torque has to be good. There is no alternative. So what do we have here? A torque monster not capable of running in a straight line? Well, this is where the 'specialist' bit comes in. As I stomp the pedal with the stopwatch ticking away, 0 - 100 is dismissed in less than 12 seconds (with the air-con running, mind you). It's capable of effortlessly cruising too. 100 kph in 5th gear is seen at 2,000 rpm. That is the start of the 1800-3200 rpm peak torque band.

If you are a frequent highway traveller, you would have encountered that silly pickup truck, throttle on full, belching smoke and trying to outrun anything & everything. With a blip of the throttle on your hatchback or sedan, you leave him behind as soon as you approached the 3 digit mark. Try that with an Isuzu. This pickup pulls to 120 kph+ at 2500 rpm, smack in the middle of the peak torque zone. The needle just climbs and climbs. At around 3,000 rpm comes 140 kph and the D-Max is still not out of breath. Its only when you cross 150 that the truck starts losing its pep. I saw 160 kph and have no doubts on the declared 175 kph top speed. Give it enough road and the Isuzu will hit that number. Not your typical commercial vehicle then, is it? Best part is the noise....or rather the lack of it. Most commercial vehicles would drown you in the din of road & wind noise at these speeds. The D-Max has adequate insulation and the unwanted sounds are well under control.

NOTE: All high speed tests were conducted on a private track. Team-BHP does NOT recommend or encourage illegally high speeds on public roads.

The end of the test track is coming up and, as I stomp on the brakes, I am brought down to earth. This vehicle has a very serious problem = Brakes. Don't get me wrong, the calipers & discs are just fine. They bite true and they bite hard, but without any ABS, those skinny 215s are just going to be laying rubber on the road. The most powerful vehicle in its class runs on skinny tyres and doesn't have ABS! This is a true "duh" moment. What was Isuzu thinking? Yes, its competitors don't offer ABS, but they don't embarrass hot hatches either. This is a glaring omission. Hopefully, Isuzu will make a correction here and offer ABS as standard (there's a law to that effect coming soon).

At the front is a coil-spring independent suspension, while the rear has a leaf-spring design (7 leaves). The stiff suspension results in a bumpy ride. A contributor are the leaf springs which are an absolute requirement for load carrying functionality. That said, it's no bone jarring thud. The bumpy ride is similar to most leaf-sprung SUVs. Things might get better with load, as is usually the case with these kind of vehicles.

I found the D-Max' handling to be predictable, even with the skinny tyres. The low stance means body roll isn't scary (far lesser than its competitors). It's easy to drive and grip levels are reasonable. Like other RWD trucks though, push hard and it will lose its tail. Fun on the track, not on public roads. Be cautious.

Add a performance chip, grippy tyres and we could have our own truck racing championship. If the D-Max ever comes with a 4x4, I feel this is the ideal vehicle to run the raid or desert storm. Isuzu says there are no plans to offer a 4x4 variant until local production is achieved (it's currently built from CKD kits).

Runs like a horse on the open road:

When the bed is empty, expect loss of traction on uneven surfaces. No limited slip diff means lots of wheel spin:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-loss-traction.jpg

Engine can handle -30 degree C!

Service interval is 5000 kms. However, oil change interval is 20,000!

Intercooler air inlet often means insects etc. The D-Max has a mesh shield. Easy cleaning:

Air intake sits fairly high, as does the ECU:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-6a.jpg

Lots of stuff made in Thailand. ECU doesn't have an enclosure and seems susceptible to water. A rubber cover (like the Safari) would have been nice, considering our weather conditions & love for pressure washes:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-6b.jpg

Adequate insulation on the firewall:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-6d.jpg

Engine gets a solid guard below, but the oil sump is exposed (rear of picture). Bolt holes for aftermarket plates appear to be available:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-7a.jpg

76 liter fuel-tank gets a solid metal guard. This one can take a beating. ARAI rating = 13.26 kpl:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-7b.jpg

Brake discs are properly protected against road grit. Notice the caliper housing design as well:

Stuff normally given to workshops only (like belt tension) is mentioned in the owner's manual:

It tells you how to decode the VIN, a rarity!
Review: Isuzu D-Max-vin.jpg

Helpful information on minor repairs (e.g. bulb replacement):
Review: Isuzu D-Max-bulb-replacement.jpg

Proper tool kit, with spanners & pliers:
Review: Isuzu D-Max-tool-kit.jpg

Last edited by GTO : 26th July 2014 at 14:42.
tsk1979 is offline   (27) Thanks
Old 25th July 2014, 15:00   #5

Neat information about this breed (shared by Isuzu)

Review: Isuzu D-Max-1.png

Review: Isuzu D-Max-2.png

Review: Isuzu D-Max-3.png

Review: Isuzu D-Max-4.png

Review: Isuzu D-Max-5.png

Review: Isuzu D-Max-6.png

Disclaimer : Isuzu invited Team-BHP for the D-Max test-drive. They covered all the travel expenses for this driving event.

Last edited by GTO : 26th July 2014 at 14:49.
tsk1979 is offline   (52) Thanks
Old 26th July 2014, 14:54   #6

Re: Review: Isuzu D-Max

Thread moved from the Assembly Line to Commercial Vehicles. Thanks for sharing!
Old 26th July 2014, 15:38   #7

First of all , thank you guys for the review , excellent job as usual .Really impressed with the over all built quality , hope Mahindra and Tata take up some learning cues from here. If they had a four wheel drive version available, i would probably sell off my already rusty 2013 bolero pick up and buy this almost immediately . Isuzu , please give us the four wheel drive version soon .
Old 26th July 2014, 16:04   #8

Excellent Review.

This is a very smart change from or regular pick-ups available in the market currently. I am really impressed with the engine; Innova needs that engine in lower state of tune, may be 120 bhp and it needs this motor now ( at no additional cost ).
And even Fortuner with similar state of tune of this motor can do good IMO.
Brakes, did I not read that its mandatory for all CV to have ABS ? And this car can only be registered as CV, then how come it lacks ABS ?

Did Isuzu share any plans to aggressively increase dealer network ? A good product is one thing, not having sufficient backup is another. Considering the manner in which these pickups are abused, it would be nice on Isuzu's part to have a well planned extension of dealer and service network, a wide spread and effective network.
aaggoswami is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th July 2014, 16:15   #9

Originally Posted by aaggoswami View Post
Excellent Review.

This is a very smart change from or regular pick-ups available in the market currently. I am really impressed with the engine; Innova needs that engine in lower state of tune, may be 120 bhp and it needs this motor now ( at no additional cost ).
And even Fortuner with similar state of tune of this motor can do good IMO.
Brakes, did I not read that its mandatory for all CV to have ABS ? And this car can only be registered as CV, then how come it lacks ABS ?

Did Isuzu share any plans to aggressively increase dealer network ? A good product is one thing, not having sufficient backup is another. Considering the manner in which these pickups are abused, it would be nice on Isuzu's part to have a well planned extension of dealer and service network, a wide spread and effective network.
Yes, they shared the plans. The biggest expansion will start only after plant in AP is ready after 2 years.
As for ABS, once the legislation comes in, I think they can easily go for it.
That said, do not expect Toyota level blitzkreg. Isuzu makes good vehicles, but their pockets are not Toyota deep. Expect a layered approach here.
tsk1979 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 26th July 2014, 16:31   #10

Nice write up, especially the stats towards the end, impressive! Such a shame that this cannot be registered as a private vehicle, would have given the xenon XT a serious fight, not that people are queuing up to by the xenon anyways but its the only sensible lifestyle option available right now.

The fact that the D-Max can only be registered as a commercial vehicle explains some of the cost cutting involved and its surprising that Isuzu has still gone on to include some of the equipment it has. The tyres as you said, do look small but i believe that is to some extent, aid fuel efficiency which is paramount to users in this sector.

• ABS or 4x4 aren't part of the options list
Wasn't ABS made compulsory for all commercial vehicles in India?
Old 26th July 2014, 17:12   #11

Originally Posted by Shadowbane View Post

Wasn't ABS made compulsory for all commercial vehicles in India?
Not yet. April 2015 is the deadline
http://www.team-bhp.com/news/abs-wil...les-april-2015
batterylow is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 26th July 2014, 19:58   #12

can you confirm what exact engine this uses.! I have searched and asked everywhere, nobody seems to know.

I will not be surprised if this is 2 valver/cylinder. Because it produces very less torque at that much high rpm!
Old 26th July 2014, 21:11   #13

Wow. a pleasant surprise indeed.
Thought TeamBhp had almost forgot about reviewing this truck, and i too was waiting for the reviews of Corolla and Mobilio, completely forgetting about the Dmax.

And also looks like the TBHP FB post stole my words straight from my mind.
"136 BHP, 294 Nm of torque, 0-100 in <12 seconds, top speed of 175 km/hr" 15km/l these were the exact words that i texted my buddy when the Dmax brochures were out.

Wish the Dmax becomes a success, forcing Mahindra and Tata to launch more competitive stuff and also when the Isuzu plant goes full steam they launch the double cab version on white plates.
DicKy is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 26th July 2014, 21:25   #14

I'm surprised they've managed to offer the D-Max for Rs. 7 Lacs - especially considering the engine & NVH levels. And you mention that currently all components are imported. What could happen to the price after localization?

And I'm now looking forward to review of Isuzu MU-7. If they manage to sell it for Rs. 20 Lacs on road, then Toyota will finally have some competition. Think about it - Isuzu MU-7 has just the following over the D-Max -

- Alloys & better tyres
- extra 2 row of seats
- leather interiors
- Infotainment system
- Extra metal (SUV body)
- ABS & airbags

How much will that add up to?
SmartCat is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 26th July 2014, 21:55   #15

Lovely review. Thanks for sharing with us.

I am absolutely chuffed to see a vehicle of such quality at such a competitive price. The plastic bits on the inside, the paint job and the fit and finish of the trim looks top notch from those photographs. Great to hear about the NVH rating which can shame some new cars. Hope the quality stays up like this even after localization.

Throw in a twin cab, 4x4, ABS and a private number plate and this Isuzu would be a great companion for guys having a farm and/ or looking at a bit of fun with trails. Yeah, better rubber too!

Any gear, any rpm, it is just eager to pull. 800 rpm in 3rd gear sees 20 kph and from there, the same gear pulls all the way to a 100. Heck, 1100 rpm in 5th gear sees about 50 kph on the speedometer. Start pulling, and this thing goes like an electric locomotive.

As I stomp the pedal with the stopwatch ticking away, 0 - 100 is dismissed in less than 12 seconds (with the air-con running, mind you).

At around 3,000 rpm comes 140 kph and the D-Max is still not out of breath. Its only when you cross 150 that the truck starts losing its pep. I saw 160 kph and have no doubts on the declared 175 kph top speed.
Those traits are mind boggling for a Diesel engine meant for load carrying! This Isuzu can easily outrun and out-accelerate a Swift D!

What a machine! Got BHP? is the ideal sticker for this one.

Last edited by deetjohn : 26th July 2014 at 21:58. Reason: adding text.
deetjohn is offline   (6) Thanks