Team-BHP > Commercial Vehicles
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 15th April 2020, 15:45   #901
BHPian

Re: Combat Aircraft of the Indian Air Force

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sutripta View Post
What would be the velocity at end of burn, and at outer limit of range? Approx how long is the burn time?

Regards
Sutripta
I'm no expert and many of these statistics would be classified but this is what I found on the internet:

"All estimates of the AIM-120A suggest it's boost stage duration is 6s, whilst it's sustain stage lasts 5s. Since the C-5 has more fuel
than the A, and as it is a boost only motor, this puts the estimated burn time between 7 and 9s."

Source: AIM-120C-5 Performance Assessment for Digital Combat Simulation Enhancement
Revision 2 September 2014
By Thomas Tyrell, United Kingdom Christian Funk, United States of America
Nagy Marton, Hungary

http://www.zaretto.com/sites/zaretto...sment-rev2.pdf

The AIM-120 has a max velocity of Mach 4 (during the boost phase) after thats it glides to its target. Some numbers I found on the net:

The time it takes for a missile to lose 25% of its velocity after burn out at supersonic speeds.

Never @ > 100,000 m (~300,000 ft) ; in space
~150 seconds @ 24,000 m (~80,000 ft)
~70 seconds @ 18,000 m (~ 60,000 ft)
~25 seconds @ 12,000 m (~ 40,000 ft)
~10 seconds @ 6,000 ft (~20,000 ft)
~5 seconds @ Sea Level

The velocity when it reaches the target will depend on the height it was launched and how the target is manoeuvring. If the target keeps manoeuvring aggressively (like the Su-30s did vs the AMRAAMs launched by the F-16s) it will bleed energy by constantly changing course while decelerating and eventually fall from the sky.
Foxbat is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 15th April 2020, 16:19   #902
Distinguished - BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat View Post