Team-BHP > Commercial Vehicles

Old 13th May 2022, 11:02   #16

Re: Indian Railways introduces 'Baby Berth' for newborns

Originally Posted by adisan View Post

But won't Indian Railways plan for some means by which such berths will be allotted only to people with infants?
Yes. Cross posting the original thread.

Originally Posted by TusharK View Post
Passengers will have to mention the names of the children aged below 5 years at the time of booking to avail of this service.
aashishnb is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th May 2022, 11:42   #17

Do they know something known as "Human Centric Design"?
Old 14th May 2022, 11:49   #18

I'm sure that whosoever came up with this design idea never had the chance as a kid to travel overnight with their mother on an Indian train. Had it been the case, the child berth wouldn't have looked like this. On the contrary, just an extra-wide berth with the extra part foldable would have done the job here.
Old 14th May 2022, 12:08   #19

Another jugaad where the intention was right, but poorly executed. No mother worth her salt would want to have her baby below 1 years hanging precariously from that end railing.
And no consideration for the Single traveller on the opposite berth who loses real estate space in an already congested cubicle in the day time? Will they get an option to chose a cubicle without this berth?
If they bring back the senior citizens discount, the railways will get more blessings than by introducing these weird contraptions.
Old 14th May 2022, 12:36   #20

Originally Posted by hrman View Post
If they bring back the senior citizens discount, the railways will get more blessings
Also if they bring in new discounts for Senior-BHPians!
adisan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th May 2022, 13:25   #21

This is a typical Babu-thought out and designed contraption.
No mother would allow her child to balance on this tiny shelf in a moving train without a safety net and exposed from all sides ,that too towards the outer side.
As Bhpian Gunin had mentioned,1st AC berth is the best-prefer it with twin 5 yr olds or else both of us would be sleeping with a sore elbow & shoulder from Guwahati to Tinsukia(home minister's adobe )
Atleast the Railways could have requested ideas and designs from the aam -aadmi before making parents and preprimary kids beta testers.
eyedocgb is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 14th May 2022, 14:29   #22

Seriously sad implementation. Very dangerous. Imagine if some piece of luggage falls off, the small baby would be in the direct line of impact. Just feel so sad that this would have been approved by the highly educated babus and netas. IR has made a mockery of themselves.
ajayc123 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 14th May 2022, 20:21   #23

Not sure what is the point, as all others have rightly commented here. I'm sorry but we in India have this strange acceptance of dividing what should be indivisible.

3-wheelers can sneak up a on the side of a 4 wheeler in its lane, then two more 2-wheelers can fit snugly too. Kids are safe in their monther's lap in a car. And now this.

And team-bhp is busy improving on a hopeless jugaad. How has this passed even cursory safety testing?

Give the child a separate berth, with added restraints, period.
Old 15th May 2022, 11:55   #24

If your destination is 1 or 2 days drive max and can afford it, invest in a good child seat and please drive. For infants this is the best case scenario. You get privacy, you get flexibility (in terms of stoppages, luggage) and you will drive according to your family. Most importantly neither will you annoy others, nor will you have to get worked up on it.

If you must travel in train, spend additional dough and book a 2nd AC ticket. If you a kid that is a little mobile at bed, you simply cannot co-sleep. We had a traumatic experience travelling in Sleeper/3rd AC type coach. With the middle berth up, you'll have to sit in a precarious position.

With a 2nd AC, you'll be able to properly sit and will have enough real estate to co-sleep. 1st AC is a bit extreme, since its almost par with flight rates.

For toddlers, book a separate seat if its a day train. It is impractical to keep the child on the lap for extended time frame. We've bought a seat once our kids were 3+. With Trenitalia, I used to get a ticket for my then 1-2.5 year old son.

Those side rails for 'infants' are just amusing. Our younger one was 7 when we took the Rajdhani and Grand Trunk 2nd AC last December. Even he would at times get off the lower berth middle of the night. It probably will take him another 2-3 years for us to be confident to put him in upper.

About the news, if you really want to help infant parents, rather than doing such stupid contraptions. Provide a 2nd AC lower berth through a quota
narayans80 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th May 2022, 16:10   #25

Originally Posted by narayans80 View Post

About the news, if you really want to help infant parents, rather than doing such stupid contraptions. Provide a 2nd AC lower berth through a quota
I don't know why after more than a century, we are still unable to understand that it is not just the British ruling class that use the Indian Railways, but that we have to expand availability of berths and seats to serve the "natives", a population of more than a billion people. My guess is that our rulers are citizens of a different nation, but have disguised themselves to look like us.
Old 16th May 2022, 07:39   #26

Originally Posted by dr.aviansh View Post
I'm not sure about making my infant sleep on the outer corner with that slippery Rexine.
Even as an adult, I could never lay down on that Rexine without using a bedsheet.Almost in any kind of trip with an infant (exceeding 5-6 hours), we normally carry a small bed or soft blanket.

Originally Posted by srini1785 View Post
Our once upon a time railway minister had the brilliant idea of increasing berths in Sleeper class and the engineers came up with this :
Earlier these kind of births were seen in some sleeper coaches and Garib Rath trains. Now they are on most A/c coaches under 3-Economy class.