Team-BHP > Commercial Vehicles

Old 20th November 2008, 21:24   #76

Originally Posted by Ram View Post
Food for thought:

Imagine that Maruti-Suzuki were to make a Tata Sumo equivalent -- a big and basic station wagon.

Imagine that this Maruti-Suzuki Sumo was made to Suzuki standards of
build & weld quality, paint quality, smoothness of engine and power train, reliability and after sales service.

Would we still think that the Tata Sumo was a serious competitor to the Maruti Sumo?
The answer to the question is already on this thread:

Originally Posted by AMATMO View Post
yes , ram whats your point
+1 to that.
Old 21st November 2008, 07:27   #77
Ram

Originally Posted by Steeroid View Post
The answer to the question is already on this thread:
So? Is it about a nod of agreement?

Originally Posted by Steeroid View Post
Originally Posted by AMATMO View Post
yes , ram whats your point
+1 to that.
Fully one year, three months and eight days after my post? Rip van Winkle!
Back in July 2007, when I put those pics, the Renault Fourgon was already a seventeen year old thing.
Old 21st November 2008, 09:45   #78

I have no idea why Ram went OT on this thread with his post on the Sumo. That post is, at best, food for thought for Maruti-Suzuki.
Old 21st November 2008, 11:07   #79
Ram

hrag: The discussion had veered towards comparing the Tata Ace with the Maruti Omni van.

And my thought at the moment was:
"How would we Team-BHpians compare an earlier Tata product, the Sumo with an equivalent from Maruti (were there one such product)".

I felt that the feel of Maruti's workmanship to a customer, somehow beat the feel of Tata's workmanship. In this, the Swift and Dezire were somewhat a notch above the Indica and Indigo.

Hope it was not way off topic. No offense intended to anybody.

Ram
Old 21st November 2008, 11:08   #80

Suzuki has the APV already sold in indonesia and other countries, but dunno why are they launching it here with the 1.3 DDIS. its a bit weird looking but hey, the qualis also didnt win any buyers by the way it looked.
Old 21st November 2008, 11:18   #81

So? Is it about a nod of agreement?

Fully one year, three months and eight days after my post? Rip van Winkle!
Back in July 2007, when I put those pics, the Renault Fourgon was already a seventeen year old thing.
Please read my reply again w.r.t the context.

As for Rip van Winkle, I would think that comment would be more appropriate to your original post about the Winger (#63 on this thread) on 27th July 2007 when the company itself had made a press release in 2006 about a panel van being readied for launch based on the Renault Trafik?
Moneycontrol >> News >> Business >> Tatas' passenger vehicle set for early 2007 launch
Not forgetting the fact that your enlightening post came a few months after the Tata-Trafik was discussed on this forum in great detail here:
Tata Motors Minivan Trafik - Team-BHP
AMATMO's comment may have been delayed, but it certainly contained a very valid question.

Last edited by Steeroid : 21st November 2008 at 11:34.
Old 21st November 2008, 11:34   #82

Reading these posts make me feel like Dhrutharashtra in Mahabharata. " Yeh kya ho raha hai" - and for the folks who dunno the language - " What is happening"

-Vijay
Old 21st November 2008, 11:48   #83

Vijay, even if you felt like Tiku Talsania, you would not be too off the mark.

Totally OT, by the way.
Old 21st November 2008, 12:22   #84

Now I am completely lost :(
Old 21st November 2008, 14:09   #85

prabhuav : Now I am completely lost :(
Vijay, the right way to say it is " Yeh Kya Ho Raha Hai ".

Sorry, guys. Couldnt help myself.
Vijay, pls do a look-up on the web for Tiku Talsania. Hopefully you will recognize him, and his punch line "Yeh Kya Ho Raha hai ?!"

Guess we should all get back to discussing the Winger Magic instead of a hypothetical comparison that was suggested.

Last edited by condor : 21st November 2008 at 14:17.
Old 21st November 2008, 14:31   #86

Originally Posted by directinjection View Post
Remember, the Sumo Grande is also a Tata Sumo!
Originally Posted by condor View Post
Wrong.
Really?

Originally Posted by condor View Post
The Sumo & the Sumo Grande are not the same. Apart from the body style, I dont see any part of the Sumo being taken fwd to the Grande - not the body, not the WB, not the chassis, not the engine, not the seats, not the wheels /tyre sizes .. nothing.

Nothing Except the four letters that say "SUMO".
Didn't I mention that the vehicle has been constantly evolving?

Just consider the following evolutions of Suzuki Alto:
  1. 1983 model Maruti 800, with straight bonnet
  2. 1986 model Maruti 800, with slanting bonnet
  3. The jelly bean Maruti Zen, now discontinued
  4. Maruti Alto whose Indian production has just crossed a million
  5. The just launched A-Star
Although different from one another, they were still called Suzuki Alto internationally. IIRC, there was another Alto in between 4 and 5, not launched in India.

Most auto brands follow the same practice.
So why should Sumo be different?
Old 21st November 2008, 20:39   #87

When Tempo Traveler of Force motors (Then Bajaj) playing still. The model was as old as 1977.

In India itself it is 22 years old (Launched in 1986)

Mercedes-TN/T1- Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Why can't Winger? The only reason is investment is lesser (By using same dyes, design, engine etc..) so the product could be sold cheaper.

I feel lot better in Winger than traveling in Sumo's side rows (office Cab)
Old 21st November 2008, 21:01   #88

directinjection : Didn't I mention that the vehicle has been constantly evolving?
If you look at extent & amount of differences between those two, it is more a re-invention than an evolution.

Beyond that, it's your take. I am very very familiar with one of them, so my persective is going to be what I have said.
Old 22nd November 2008, 10:49   #89

If you look at extent & amount of differences between those two, it is more a re-invention than an evolution.
The Grande? It's hardly a re-invention. The Grande is exactly the same under the skin as the Sumo except for a new engine and some evolutionary tweaks here & there.
Old 22nd November 2008, 10:55   #90

@GTO, that does not convince me one bit. Remember, the Sumo is my primary ride. The Grande is not the Sumo we have been seeing for more than a decade.