Team-BHP > Commercial Vehicles

Old 1st November 2009, 17:09   #1

A Day with a Scheid Road Roller

First LooK
What a great way to start a Sunday.

We were just roaming around, running the car for an oil change. I spotted this. They were tying some rope under the belly of this beast. I pulled over and around, and found out that battery was completely dead and they were using a rope to start it. Of course push starting this multi ton beast is out of question.

Under (the hood) ki Baat
Not much i could dig from this machine. You know you don't usually have any interest in Road Rollers, despite the fact that we use their creations on daily basis.
All I could find out is that it was made by a German Company called Scheid in the 60s. It still has its original 4 cylinder DI engine. all the instrument panel is totally gone.

The Drive

This time i was lucky. The driver himself was the contractor/owner so he let me drive it for around 100 meters, and guess what, I was actually good at it, according to him..
Driving this is pretty easy. The accelerator is a round knob, you set the rate of acceleration. Its kind of fixed.
Put it in second Gear, and pull another lever, the Drive cum Clutch lever. You have to pull the Drive lever forward to go upfront and vice-versa.
There were groves set on the Drive Lever to set the Forward and Reverse Speed. There were no such thing as brakes on this. What fun!
The steering is hydraulic assisted, and felt very slick considering the fact that you are steering, wheels which are about 10 tons heavy, It will put BMW's PS to shame.

Images

The Machine
A Day with a Scheid Road Roller-1-machine-medium.jpg

The Men
A Day with a Scheid Road Roller-2-team-medium.jpg

A Day with a Scheid Road Roller-4-learning-medium.jpg

A Day with a Scheid Road Roller-5-learning-medium.jpg

A Day with a Scheid Road Roller-6-learning-medium.jpg

As always, poking something
A Day with a Scheid Road Roller-7-learning-medium.jpg

The ultimate driving experience
A Day with a Scheid Road Roller-8-drive-medium.jpg

Engine
A Day with a Scheid Road Roller-10-engine-medium.jpg

Look Ma! No firewall and Dashboard
A Day with a Scheid Road Roller-10a-engine-medium.jpg

The Wheel, is this the inspiration that many people add that useless knob on the steering of their otherwise beautiful ride.
A Day with a Scheid Road Roller-11-steering-medium.jpg

Last edited by Dippy : 3rd November 2009 at 17:30. Reason: Editing extra smiliey
SirAlec is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st November 2009, 17:16   #2

SOme more Images

Some More Images

The Cabin
A Day with a Scheid Road Roller-12-stuff-medium.jpg

Drive Lever, check the Groves.
A Day with a Scheid Road Roller-13-clutch-cum-rev-fwd-medium.jpg

Accelerator Knob
A Day with a Scheid Road Roller-14-accelerator-medium.jpg

Gear Lever. Its in 4th Now.
A Day with a Scheid Road Roller-15-gear-lever-medium.jpg

What a spectacular view.
A Day with a Scheid Road Roller-16-what-view-medium.jpg

A Day with a Scheid Road Roller-17-what-view-medium.jpg

A Day with a Scheid Road Roller-18-marque-medium.jpg

On the scale of 1 to 10, rate my work.
A Day with a Scheid Road Roller-18-work-done-medium.jpg

A Day with a Scheid Road Roller-19-marque-medium.jpg

A Day with a Scheid Road Roller-pull-medium.jpg
Old 1st November 2009, 17:37   #3

@SirAlec, that's an intresting drive you did.

1. Why does it need 4 gears ?
2. What was your top speed ?
3. If no brakes, then how do you stop it ?
4. Reverse kaise lagate ho ?
5. er, Average kya hai ?
Old 2nd November 2009, 11:08   #4

One of it's kind. Road Rollers are one piece of engineering often overlooked.

More details. 0-60, quarter mile, roll-ons!

Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
The Drive
Put it in second Gear, and pull another lever, the Drive cum Clutch lever. You have to pull the Drive lever forward to go upfront and vice-versa.
There were groves set on the Drive Lever to set the Forward and Reverse Speed.
There should be a video for this

There were no such thing as brakes on this. What fun!
Old 2nd November 2009, 12:39   #5

Holy cow, Sir Alec! How on earth do you manage to drive such interesting vehicles? Must have some convincing power to have their drivers / owners let you a spin. Maybe you use some of that magic the next time that you spot a super car too.

I pulled over and around, and found out that battery was completely dead and they were using a rope to start it.

It still has its original 4 cylinder DI engine.
Not to forget, the engine looks cleaner than the one in my Jeep! Super clean, must be well maintained.

Driving this is pretty easy. The accelerator is a round knob, you set the rate of acceleration. Its kind of fixed.
There were groves set on the Drive Lever to set the Forward and Reverse Speed.
"How to drive a road roller". Only on Team-BHP

P.S. I can think of some cars that I'd like to use this road roller on.
Old 2nd November 2009, 12:45   #6

Interesting Ride.

Someday, even I would like to lay my hands behind the wheels of a traktor, lorry and finally the super comfy VOLVO BUS. I dont know where to begin from, but eagerly on the look out for an opportunity.
Old 2nd November 2009, 13:24   #7

From Nano to Road Roller to Lorry to super cars!!
This is Team-BHP. Period.
Old 2nd November 2009, 14:05   #8

@neon wheels:
sir you forgot the boeing and that rolls royce powered ship.
Old 2nd November 2009, 15:13   #9

Beautiful stuff SirAlec.

Just wanted to add a picture of some cool wheels (sorry not the greatest quality) :
A Day with a Scheid Road Roller-26102008.jpg

cya
R
Old 2nd November 2009, 15:53   #10

Originally Posted by condor View Post
@SirAlec, that's an intresting drive you did.

1. Why does it need 4 gears ?
2. What was your top speed ?
3. If no brakes, then how do you stop it ?
4. Reverse kaise lagate ho ?
5. er, Average kya hai ?
1. Just like you, I am new to this. Hence I have no idea. But the best bet is that while doing highways or straight line, maybe it can be used on its top gear to get the job done much faster.

2. No idea, Due course of time, it had lost all its dashboard. It felt like 20-30 kmph.

3. The Drive lever has neutral position. No engine stall as the rpm was already increased with the accelerator knob.

4. Pull back the Drive lever. This is interesting, it can go in reverse in top gear. Hence effectively it has eight gears (4fwd+4Rev)

5. 2.5 liters of Diesel per hour. This is good stuff considering the fact that they charge anything between Rs.500-Rs.900 plus diesel Per hour. Plus transportation charge from their premise to work location.

Holy cow, Sir Alec! How on earth do you manage to drive such interesting vehicles? Must have some convincing power to have their drivers / owners let you a spin. Maybe you use some of that magic the next time that you spot a super car too.
Whats fun in that. . Actually i did drove one for 3kms. i coudn't go past its 2nd gear.
What I wanted to drive was Ingresol Rand, but they are normally doing highways. ANd when ever I am on highways, that means i have to reach somewhere in a hurry. Hence no stopping over.

Originally Posted by Rehaan View Post
Beautiful stuff SirAlec.

Just wanted to add a picture of some cool wheels (sorry not the greatest quality) :
Attachment 219863

cya
R
Thanks for sharing.

Last edited by SirAlec : 2nd November 2009 at 15:57. Reason: typos
Old 2nd November 2009, 16:12   #11

Wow what a great drive you had RR.
How much cc is the engine?
Kithene Bhp?
Old 2nd November 2009, 16:52   #12

Great report

Sir Alec thanks for detailed of interesting TD. Scheid sound like german name..is it?

what else we can ask? NVH, leg room

Any idea what is the on road cost of Roller ?
recshenoy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd November 2009, 23:59   #13

^^^^
Yeah its a German. But I guess its defunct now, as i could not find any specs of this machine anywhere.

NVH is very high, you will be scared stiff if you drive it for a whole day.

Its like about Rs.40 lakh ex showroom.

PS: Any idea about the taxation on these vehicle. they are higher or lower than our cars.??
Old 3rd November 2009, 00:18   #14

@ siralec, first a TATA truck now a rr. awesome!!
btw, how was the feeling of driving a rr and what is the cc of the engine?? is it a DI or an IDI or a TD??
Old 3rd November 2009, 17:15   #15

^^^ I have no idea about the cubic capacity of this engine. If somebody can provide more info on this, will be grateful.

Its a Direct Inject.