Team-BHP - Mahindra Navistar World Class Trucks launched

-   Commercial Vehicles (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/commercial-vehicles/)
-   -   Mahindra Navistar World Class Trucks launched (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/commercial-vehicles/72976-mahindra-navistar-world-class-trucks-launched-3.html)

@ Trapezio

Any idea which engines are going to be launched in the Indian versions of the Prima? The Tata's site doesnt list the specifications.

Originally Posted by Finject (Post 1668190)
@ Trapezio

Any idea which engines are going to be launched in the Indian versions of the Prima? The Tata's site doesnt list the specifications.

Just to clarify, this Prima is a wide range starting from 11 tons to 75 tons. Once the entire range is launched it will have over 12 engines from four manufacturers. This is in simple words a huge project particularly by Indian standards.

Right now the humblest one available (you can book it) in India is the 280hp engine from Cummins. The biggest one is a 13,000 cc 565 BHP diesel engine (from a post by GTO).

The high powered ones will not be launched in a hurry since market is at best marginal for such trucks in India. They are aimed mainly for developed countries.

The Navistar range from M&M looks bland as compared to TATA Prima series trucks. TATA has put in a better effort in terms of making the trucks look very good. It will be interesting to know the performance comparison

[quote=Trapezio;1668224] range starting from 11 tons to 75 tons. Once the entire range is launched it will have over 12 engines from four manufacturers. This is in simple words a huge project particularly by Indian standards.

Tata? , Cummins, then?

Originally Posted by hillram (Post 1668070)
Looks like a mediocre effort to enter Heavy Duty Truck Arena for Mahindra.
They should have tied up with Iveco instead.

At present Navistar International makes the largest pick-up truck available on the market in the United States. The International CXT is the largest pick-up available to the non-commercial consumer. Navistar is also the prime supplier of MRAP armored vehicles to the US military.

So let's not just go ranting on any and every thing that Mahindra is doing.
About the looks, what are you guys smoking?

I think both the Mahindra navistar and the Tata Prima look great and also look the SAME!! lol: except I actually *like* the mahindra grill, it looks Macho!:cool:

Mahindra Navistar World Class Trucks  launched-110409firstprimaworldtruck4028simage_1024x768.jpg

Mahindra Navistar World Class Trucks  launched-big06.jpg

Originally Posted by zubin_raheja (Post 1668642)

I think both the Mahindra navistar and the Tata Prima look great and also look the SAME!! lol: except I actually *like* the mahindra grill, it looks Macho!:cool:

A lot has to do with the engine technology too. Prima is a carcker of a truck with loads of customizations and killer looks. But what sets Mahindra Navistar apart from Tata Prima is the engine technology of the MAXXFORCE 7.2 engine. This engine is definitely superior as compared to the one in Prima.

Originally Posted by zubin_raheja (Post 1668642)
At present Navistar International makes the largest pick-up truck available on the market in the United States. The International CXT is the largest pick-up available to the non-commercial consumer. Navistar is also the prime supplier of MRAP armored vehicles to the US military.

So let's not just go ranting on any and every thing that Mahindra is doing.
About the looks, what are you guys smoking?

Attachment 258243

Attachment 258244

I somehow like this Mahindra truck looks like a butch. Tata Prima is looking more classier and my guess is would be seen in limited numbers as compared to the Mahindra.

I am not sure of what size this Mahindra Navistar gonna be but the yellow dumper at display in Auto Expo at TATA stall was like a never ending thing, I think just to climb into that it had 3 platforms.

:OTWhen and how do they move the vehicles out of the stalls after Expo finishes?

Originally Posted by tarun83 (Post 1694675)
I somehow like this Mahindra truck looks like a butch.

I agree with you on the matter.

Originally Posted by tarun83 (Post 1694675)
When and how do they move the vehicles out of the stalls after Expo finishes?

:OT Well if the vehicle is of the production line and works they drive it out after the show is over.

If it is a concept or a prototype, then they wrap it up safely put it behind a truck/trailer and send it back to where ever it needs to go next.

The bigger question is if they drive the trucks down before the show starts and then set about cleaning it or they move it on the back of the trailer.

I googled for Mahindra Navistar truck prices and didn't come across any solid results. How much do these trucks cost?

The Volvo trucks with 600HP still remain the most powerful trucks in India. the price of brand new Volvo trucks utilised for on-and-off road purposes is in the range of Rs 45-65 lakh. Just want to see what is the price difference between the Mahindra Navistar and Volvo trucks.

As a fleet owner of trucks what i look forward from AL / TATA / M&M / EICHER / VOLVO is a truck which would RUN maximum KMS with lesser maintenance , a long run before overhauling of spares and a best in class fuel efficiency.
Finally, Prices right.

So, anybody who gives me the closest match would be a winner.

*MY OPINION

The Mahindra Navistar trucks will start selling in March or April 2010. Till then the actual prices will notbe known. But I am thinking the price should be in vicinity of 20-21 lakhs.

Originally Posted by capt.chandru (Post 1696073)
As a fleet owner of trucks what i look forward from AL / TATA / M&M / EICHER / VOLVO is a truck which would RUN maximum KMS with lesser maintenance , a long run before overhauling of spares and a best in class fuel efficiency.
Finally, Prices right.

So, anybody who gives me the closest match would be a winner.

*MY OPINION

Any plans of new trcuks by Eicher or AL? They seems to be still selling those old aged trucks!

:OT

Just curious capt.chandru. Could you kindly advice which all trucks you own currently. A link to ownership report will do instead!

Mahindra has another advantage in joining hands with Navistar apart from the Mahindra Navistar Commercial Vehicle series.

Mahindra could partner with Navistar to build its TR series pickups at a Navistar plant in US. The TR series pickups are based on Scorpio platforms and meant for US markets. This could help Mahindra save the so called "chicken tax" that charges a 25% tariff to pickup trucks produced in countries outside of the U.S.

Originally Posted by nkrishnap (Post 1668244)
TATA has put in a better effort in terms of making the trucks look very good. It will be interesting to know the performance comparison

I'm guessing that the Mahindra navistar trucks will have a price advantage over the Tata global trucks. Mahindra's utility vehicles like Xylo and Bolero have been sweeping awards and topping Customer Satisfaction. Mahindra will want to keep riding high on this success with Mahindra Navistar so you can expect good customer staisfaction standards for Mahindra Navistar.

Originally Posted by Torqy (Post 1665568)
Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarrrrrgggghhhh.
Oh No! That RABBIT TEETH GRILL AGAIN..

Are their designers visually challenged?

:(

Well thats a funny one. I liked the "visually challenged" comment.:uncontrol