Team-BHP > Commercial Vehicles

Old 2nd March 2011, 11:59   #1

2nd Bus & Special Vehicle Expo 2011: 9-12 March 2011: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh

Yesterday i got an email from my brother , there is commercial auto expo which will be held between 9-12 March 2011 in Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh .

Website hosted for above mentioned show : Bus Expo

Moderators if there is already a thread for same please merge it .
2nd Bus & Special Vehicle Expo 2011: 9-12 March 2011: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh-image001.gif  

Old 3rd March 2011, 07:51   #2

Re: 2nd Bus & Special Vehicle Expo 2011: 9-12 March 2011: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh

Hey all buddies in Hyderabad, please get some pictures for us and some scoops too. I heard that TATA will be lauching their new integral coach called TATA DIVO with technology from SCANIA
Old 3rd March 2011, 08:03   #3

Re: 2nd Bus & Special Vehicle Expo 2011: 9-12 March 2011: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh

Good to know that Hyderabad is on the map of Auto Shows. Any idea which all manufacturers are coming and what all can be expected?
Old 3rd March 2011, 08:32   #4

Originally Posted by TheARUN View Post
Hey all buddies in Hyderabad, please get some pictures for us and some scoops too. I heard that TATA will be lauching their new integral coach called TATA DIVO with technology from SCANIA
Hey Tata has nothing to do with Scania!
The Divo is the next variant from the available Hispano range.
Powered by 280 HP engine.
This is already launched a month back but anyway it will be showcased there in HYD.
Old 3rd March 2011, 16:25   #5

The previous variant was also an Indianised Hispano Divo body only. I think its only a change of engine, though I hope its more than that.
Old 5th March 2011, 02:55   #6

Copied off the visitor information tab from the link posted above -

• Airlines
• BPO’s
• Corporate Business Houses
• Department of Fire & Safety
• Educational Institutions
• Entrepreneurs
• Film Production Houses
• Hospitals
• Home Ministry
• Metro Rail
• Municipal Corporations
• Media Houses
• Overseas / Official Delegations
• Press / Media Officials
• Radio Channels
• Railway Ministry
• State Road Transport Corporations
• Television Channels
• Tour Operators
• Tourism Ministries of State Governments
• Transport Ministry
• Travel Agencies / Tour Operators

Normal public not welcome?
Old 13th March 2011, 11:39   #7

Guys .. Here are some pictures from the bus show in Hyderabad...Not much technical details.My brother gave a quick visit to have a look at the Tata Hispano Divo.Volvo had their B9R I shift..The bus is kind of cool.SML Izuzu had their sleeper coach.

Sorry , i dont have much details on the buses as yet.I will upload the technical details very soon.

George.
2nd Bus & Special Vehicle Expo 2011: 9-12 March 2011: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh-img_8016.jpg  

2nd Bus & Special Vehicle Expo 2011: 9-12 March 2011: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh-img_8018.jpg  

2nd Bus & Special Vehicle Expo 2011: 9-12 March 2011: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh-img_80201.jpg  

2nd Bus & Special Vehicle Expo 2011: 9-12 March 2011: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh-img_80261.jpg  

2nd Bus & Special Vehicle Expo 2011: 9-12 March 2011: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh-img_80291.jpg  

2nd Bus & Special Vehicle Expo 2011: 9-12 March 2011: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh-img_80311.jpg  

2nd Bus & Special Vehicle Expo 2011: 9-12 March 2011: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh-img_8034.jpg  

2nd Bus & Special Vehicle Expo 2011: 9-12 March 2011: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh-img_8040.jpg  

2nd Bus & Special Vehicle Expo 2011: 9-12 March 2011: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh-img_80431.jpg  

2nd Bus & Special Vehicle Expo 2011: 9-12 March 2011: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh-img_80461.jpg  

2nd Bus & Special Vehicle Expo 2011: 9-12 March 2011: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh-img_80221.jpg  

2nd Bus & Special Vehicle Expo 2011: 9-12 March 2011: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh-img_80381.jpg  

Old 13th March 2011, 11:46   #8

Volvo 9400 I shift..
2nd Bus & Special Vehicle Expo 2011: 9-12 March 2011: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh-img_80511.jpg  

2nd Bus & Special Vehicle Expo 2011: 9-12 March 2011: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh-img_80521.jpg  

2nd Bus & Special Vehicle Expo 2011: 9-12 March 2011: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh-img_8055.jpg  

2nd Bus & Special Vehicle Expo 2011: 9-12 March 2011: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh-img_80581.jpg  

2nd Bus & Special Vehicle Expo 2011: 9-12 March 2011: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh-img_8059.jpg  

2nd Bus & Special Vehicle Expo 2011: 9-12 March 2011: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh-img_80601.jpg  

2nd Bus & Special Vehicle Expo 2011: 9-12 March 2011: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh-img_8061.jpg  

2nd Bus & Special Vehicle Expo 2011: 9-12 March 2011: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh-img_80621.jpg  

2nd Bus & Special Vehicle Expo 2011: 9-12 March 2011: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh-img_80671.jpg  

2nd Bus & Special Vehicle Expo 2011: 9-12 March 2011: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh-img_8069.jpg  

2nd Bus & Special Vehicle Expo 2011: 9-12 March 2011: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh-img_80731.jpg  

2nd Bus & Special Vehicle Expo 2011: 9-12 March 2011: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh-img_80741.jpg  

Old 13th March 2011, 11:52   #9

Isuzu had their sleeper and semi sleeper version.
2nd Bus & Special Vehicle Expo 2011: 9-12 March 2011: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh-img_8076.jpg  

2nd Bus & Special Vehicle Expo 2011: 9-12 March 2011: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh-img_8077.jpg  

2nd Bus & Special Vehicle Expo 2011: 9-12 March 2011: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh-img_80781.jpg  

2nd Bus & Special Vehicle Expo 2011: 9-12 March 2011: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh-img_80791.jpg  

2nd Bus & Special Vehicle Expo 2011: 9-12 March 2011: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh-img_8080.jpg  

2nd Bus & Special Vehicle Expo 2011: 9-12 March 2011: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh-img_8082.jpg  

2nd Bus & Special Vehicle Expo 2011: 9-12 March 2011: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh-img_80831.jpg  

2nd Bus & Special Vehicle Expo 2011: 9-12 March 2011: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh-img_8088.jpg  

2nd Bus & Special Vehicle Expo 2011: 9-12 March 2011: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh-img_80901.jpg  

2nd Bus & Special Vehicle Expo 2011: 9-12 March 2011: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh-img_80941.jpg  

2nd Bus & Special Vehicle Expo 2011: 9-12 March 2011: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh-img_8099.jpg  

2nd Bus & Special Vehicle Expo 2011: 9-12 March 2011: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh-img_8100.jpg  

Last edited by george_kj : 13th March 2011 at 11:57.
Old 13th March 2011, 11:56   #10

Allison tranny that was on display..
2nd Bus & Special Vehicle Expo 2011: 9-12 March 2011: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh-img_8095.jpg  

Old 13th March 2011, 12:35   #11

Compared to the Tata Divo and the Volvo 9400, the Isuzu with its oddball styling looks pale. Not to mention, the components of the Isuzu look a lot cheaper in terms of quality. Though you have to say they are meeting customer demads by introduction of a sleeper coach. The design is I think the standard Irizar design sold all over the world.

What engines do the Isuzu's use??

Seats with calf support is always a very welcome thing, a very nice touch by Tata. Along with the upward sliding luggage doors, and the extra screen in the middle, the Divo has some nice touches.

Do the new Volvo 9400 come with any of the above mentioned features??

The Volvo looks very nice, but a little laid back and subtle in its design. Also, the bus which already costed 85+lakhs, will probably end up costing close to 1crore with the i-shift. Who will buy this??

The Tata Divo, primary instrument cluster, looks a lot better than the Volvo's and miles ahead of the Isuzu. The instrument cluster and the steering wheel are shared with the Tata Prima trucks. They seem a lot better in the organisation of the dials and the MFDs, compared to the one we see on the Volvo.

The Tata Divo looks the best and smartest among the three buses in my opinion. The Isuzu's Irizar design looks odd, while the Volvo looks plain jane.Though I would have loved to see the full Tata Hispano Divo design. Dont know what is stopping Tata from introducing it??!!!

All photo credits to the original owners. Images obtained via Google Image search.
2nd Bus & Special Vehicle Expo 2011: 9-12 March 2011: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh-modele574.jpg  

2nd Bus & Special Vehicle Expo 2011: 9-12 March 2011: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh-6299hbk.jpg  

2nd Bus & Special Vehicle Expo 2011: 9-12 March 2011: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh-6299hbk_3.jpg  

Old 13th March 2011, 13:44   #12

Originally Posted by julupani View Post
Not to mention, the components of the Isuzu look a lot cheaper in terms of quality. Though you have to say they are meeting customer demads by introduction of a sleeper coach.
Having traveled in an Isuzu bus myself, I felt the quality of fittings in the Isuzu is far far better than the ones provided by TATA in the current Globus (Not the Hispano ones, but the old FE 1616 ones). In my experience, the quality of fittings in the Isuzu was more or less equivalent to the ones we see on Volvo.

Isuzu is catching up with the market demands at a rapid pace - many operators are now operating Isuzu buses on "Tier-II" routes. Isuzu Sleeper is already being used by quite a few major operators - Sree Kaleswari is one of them.

What engines do the Isuzu's use??
Isuzu Engine. ISUZU 6 HK1-TC

Seats with calf support is always a very welcome thing, a very nice touch by Tata. Along with the upward sliding luggage doors, and the extra screen in the middle, the Divo has some nice touches.

Do the new Volvo 9400 come with any of the above mentioned features??
Volvo B7R Mark-I itself were offered with Calf Support. The extra screen in the middle was offered since day one as an option. Volvo 9400XL comes with the extra screen as a standard fitting.

The Volvo looks very nice, but a little laid back and subtle in its design. Also, the bus which already costed 85+lakhs, will probably end up costing close to 1crore with the i-shift. Who will buy this??
The Volvo would still find more takers than the Divo - simple reason being that our passengers have a craze for 'phoren' products. Volvo has established itself in the market, and they would find it easier to push in the new products. B9Rs have replaced conventional 12M buses in many routes, and almost every route (except those with tough ghat sections) have a B9R service now.

The Tata Divo looks the best and smartest among the three buses in my opinion. The Isuzu's Irizar design looks odd, while the Volvo looks plain jane.Though I would have loved to see the full Tata Hispano Divo design. Dont know what is stopping Tata from introducing it??!!!
Are you employed by TATA, by any chance? Sorry to say this, but almost all your posts seem only to praise TATA! Apologies if I hurt personal sentiments, but they don't seem to have place in forums.

Personally speaking, the Divo looks very out of place. The Volvo looks far better - its a sleek design and looks modern compared to the Divo. The Isuzu is an old design, but nevertheless, its a functional design.
Old 13th March 2011, 14:53   #13

@binai
I do find Tata products nice and say so unabashedly, but my liking is based on rationality. You may have noticed, I always give a reason behind anything I say.

As for the looks, that is personal choice. I like a subtle but good design. The Volvos are a little plain jane, with no real attracting features, where the designer took some time to think. The Divo at least has some features which make you take a second look. Some may like them and other's wont.

The Divo's small touches are what I like a lot, for example the flow design on the RVM stalks(on the Indian version only, the European RVM stalks get the hole treatment), the retro-ish round rear LED tail lamps, the slight curves on the rear-panel helping to relieve a large flat surface, the swoop on the front dashboard, the bright white panels on the dash instead of different shades of grey/black, and most important of all actually naming the coach with a nice catchy name, "Divo", instead of a model number. I hope all these reasons suffice for a person to like a design.

I might add the original Tata Hispano Divo design, as done by Pininfarina, looks miles ahead of the Indianised version. I dont think I want to come up with a list of its features, compared to the Volvo design. Volvo may sell a lot of buses in Europe but a large percentage of them have Irizar or Hispano bodies. If you had not noticed, the 1st two pics that I posted, the bus is a Mercedes Benz, while the third bus is a Iveco Irisbus.

The Isuzu product is not an old design at all. This is the standard shape of all Irizar bodied buses all over the world. You can check out the Irizar website if you want to.Even the Irizar designers have tried and done something different with the exterior design, like the rear panel shape, the split in the window. Though in this case, acc my personal taste, the design is not to my liking.

As for the Volvo, as much as I have travelled in B7Rs and B9Rs, none as yet have had calf support seats or a secondary screen. Which is why I asked.

The Divo design and overall bus, I still maintain is the best on paper. Now Tata will have to have strict control at ACGL to maintain quality. The way our operators handle these buses, most start rattling and pieces falling off within months of usage. The only well maintained Tata Hispanos I have seen are the ones operated by OTDC.

With a more powerful engine, not far behind the one from Volvo, on paper Tata have a pretty good product on their hands. If, quality is kept up, and Tata marketing department, puts their back into the job, I wont be surprised to see the Tata Divo giving a good jolt to the Volvos.

The only advantage the Volvo truly has, is that it has its established brand image of being a foreign manufacturers. Though Tata have something up their sleeve, in terms of cheaper spares and service costs.
Old 13th March 2011, 17:41   #14

As for the Volvo, as much as I have travelled in B7Rs and B9Rs, none as yet have had calf support seats or a secondary screen. Which is why I asked.
Seating Layout is according to the customer's preference. In the south, all private operators have buses with Calf-support, while government buses always hand regular seats. Recently, KaSRTC started offering calf-support in their B9Rs. (They did have two buses with Calf-support, which were run on the Bangalore-Mumbai route).

I am sure the same would apply to the Divo as well. Operators who run day services go in for regular seats, since they can can pack in more passengers, while overnighters 'may' go in for semi-sleepers (seats with calf-support)

If, quality is kept up, and Tata marketing department, puts their back into the job, I wont be surprised to see the Tata Divo giving a good jolt to the Volvos.
The underlined portion is a huge "IF". To be really honest, I find TATA's consistency really poor when it comes to quality control. The Quality Control is sometimes good and sometimes awful.

In my recent trip to Madurai, I found some well built Marcopolos and some really awful ones. There was no consistency in the seating arrangement, and some buses ended up having more seats than others. The legspace was affected as well. And, this is for a product sold as an FBV.

The only advantage the Volvo truly has, is that it has its established brand image of being a foreign manufacturers. Though Tata have something up their sleeve, in terms of cheaper spares and service costs.
Volvo has the advantage of being reliable. The brand has a very huge brand recall value - due to which even Merc is finding it difficult to achieve numbers. I hear that Merc is severely affected by Sutlej's capacity as well. (Thats out of the purview of our discussion).

IF TATA is able to consistently deliver a quality product, they do have chance to grab a huge share in Tier-II routes. I'd still say only Tier-II since breaking into Tier-I routes, where current Volvo B9Rs rule the roads, would be tough. Passengers ask only for Volvos - the operator will not be able to see any bus other than a Volvo (Merc is a totally different case) unless and until there is very good feedback about the buses.
Old 13th March 2011, 19:23   #15

Somehow, in all my trips in Volvos in south India, all of them overnight trips, operated by both private and govt, I have never come across calf support seats.

Well, controlling quality at ACGL, which is at the end of the day a partly govt owned firm is not exactly an easy thing to do. Tata seem to be managing to keep the quality levels very high on the Tata Primas that they build at their own facility in Jamshedpur. But building the Divo at the ACGL facilities, quality control is really tough. Hopefully with the TMML facility at Dharwad starting to produce more and more of the MarcoPolo products we can hope that the pressure of high volumes at Goa would subside allowing them to concentrate more on quality.

I don't doubt that breaking the Volvo's domination is going to be very very tough indeed, but with proper effort I believe our home grown Tata and AL can very well do it. I think till now with what can be seen on paper I have very high hopes for the Divo. I hope AL Luxura with the Neptune engine will join the competition soon enough.

The only difference between me and you on this point is you look at it from a pessimistic point of view and think Volvo is invincible, may be because of the foreign brand factor( I may be wrong here). While I believe ALL and TML have the capability and have the confidence that within a few years time, they shall topple Volvo's dominant position in the luxury bus segment, both on Tier I and Tier II routes.

Some examples, I might share, (though both here are from the Tata stables!!!), the Tata Aria and the Tata Prima have not exactly fallen flat in the face of a foreign brand challenges, in markets where brand value is very important in sales.