Team-BHP - Car Repairs and Maintenance: Harvinder Singh & Kumar (Vasant Kunj, Delhi)

-   Delhi NCR (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/delhi-ncr/)
-   -   Car Repairs and Maintenance: Harvinder Singh & Kumar (Vasant Kunj, Delhi) (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/delhi-ncr/153069-car-repairs-maintenance-harvinder-singh-kumar-vasant-kunj-delhi.html)

Dear All,

I met a lot of members at the Impromptu Meet at Biker's Cafe, Vasant Kunj.
There I told you all about the mechanics in Vasant Kunj.

I have been getting my cars repaired from them for the last 10 yrs.

Harvinder Singh Ph: 9810543765 is an Electrician with remarkable knowledge and lot of experience in Indian and Imported Cars.

Kumar (A South Indian from Tamil Nadu) Ph: 9810596142 is an expert Mechanic. You would be surprised to know that Kumar's daughter is doing her post-graduation in Bio-Technology from a university in France.

They were earlier operating from the Petrol Pump opposite C8, and now they have shifted to Small empty plot in the colony where you go from the road to the left, just after Indian Spinal Injuries Hospital if you are coming from the Masoodpur Side or the Nelson Mandela Road.

Google Map
https://goo.gl/maps/L3NdT

They generally take 2-3 cars at a time and do the work peacefully without any walk in customers. They do a lot of Embassy cars, and I have seen them do complete Engine Re-Builds of Honda / Toyota Cars and Vans of Embassies which I have never seen before.

A lot of mechanics get cars to them when they get stuck and need experts to resolve their issues. Infact this is how I also landed at their workshop. 10 yrs ago My Cielo had a strange random problem with the ECU, and my regular mechanic near IIT Gate could not figure it out, so he got the car to these people and they eventually fixed it.

The best way to get to meet them is to call them up. They will meet you at the Petrol Pump opp C8 or the Red Light next to ISIC and escort you to their workshop from there. They can even pick-up your car and drop it back to you after repairs.

They are pretty reasonable in costs. Once a friend's Toyota Corolla had a complete Engine failure. The ASC gave an estimate of 1.8 lacs for the engine rebuild. These people did the complete job with original Toyota Spares for around 28,000.

More than mechanics they are friends for me now. You can give them my reference. My name is Amit.

Styler

Originally Posted by Styler (Post 3477748)
These people did the complete job with original Toyota Spares for around 28,000.

Styler

Styler
Many thanks for this. I did not know they also have the ability to source original toyota spares.
How do we reassure ourselves that these are indeed original? What I was told by Galaxy Toyota is that, Toyota India does not release genuine spares into the open market. Hence the question above.

Originally Posted by joybhowmik (Post 3478418)
Styler
Many thanks for this. I did not know they also have the ability to source original toyota spares.
How do we reassure ourselves that these are indeed original? What I was told by Galaxy Toyota is that, Toyota India does not release genuine spares into the open market. Hence the question above.

Hi Joy,

Infact Toyota Spares are the easiest to find in the open market outside the dealership. Toyota Spares are sold in the open market outside India. For Toyota cars sold worldwide these importers import the parts from outside India. There is no bar on anybody importing anything legally. Off course the Official Toyota India Warranty will not be there on these parts.

Actually I have seen Harvinder and Kumar noting down Engine Model Numbers from Imported Vehicles, checking parts on the internet. They order these parts with these details with these importers, and the importers get you any parts available worldwide in a few days.

When I checked for Shock Absorbers for my Toyota Camry, there were 3 brands available in the aftermarket including the original Toyota ones.

I forgot to mention in the previous post, I like Harvinder & Kumar because they have an eye for small details and are perfectionists. This is very rare in mechanics these days.

Styler

I just met Harvindar and Kumar today.
They told me that somebody from Team-BHP Called them a few days ago and was supposed to visit them for a car repair when they would have time.
They were supposed to call the person back, but they seem to have lost the person's number.
Please contact them as they are free to take up car repairs now. Their numbers are as follows :

Harvinder Singh Ph: 9810543765
Kumar Ph: 9810596142

Styler

I went to Harvinder and Kumar today and saw them working on a Vintage 1941 Standard Convertible. They have completely rebuilt this car including rebuilding the engine. I am attaching some pictures here.

They told me somebody from Team-BHP had got the complete Engine of the Toyota Corolla Altis rebuilt with lot of other work last week. That car had been lying for months at the Toyota Service Center with an Estimate of over 2 lacs.

I also saw a Toyota Camry of a Team-BHP user standing there for a Clutch Overall.

Guys if you take their services it will be nice if you can put a small review for the benefit of others.

Do these guys service Skoda and VW ? I know people who were royally cheated by Skoda and VW folks.

Based on the feedback from @Styler i fixed an appointment with Kumar yesterday.

I own a Pearl Arctic White Swift Vxi 2009 1.3 model.

We met at the C-8 Indian Oil Petrol pump, handed over the car to him for test drive and I explained the problems that i had in the car, also asked him to perform the 60k service to be done.

Following services were performed:

1. 60k Service(Engine Oil,Oil Filter, Air Filter,Coolant,- Changed)
2. Polishing of Disc Plates (Noise while applying brakes issue reported now fixed)
3. Suspension Link Road replacement

MASS wanted me to change Disc plates,Axle,Wheel Bearings,Brake Pads(Recently Changed),Mountings for the noise issue while applying brakes.

Kumar is an expert mechanic and his attention to detail is impeccable, he do not recommend to change a part unless it fails his rigorous checks.

Upon dismantling the suspension the Left Front Axle was found jammed since the car was not being run that much in the last 1 year, It was fixed by using diesel and the Axle works perfectly fine and required no replacement.

He only uses genuine parts unless the owner requests for a cost effective alternative. Oil also is similar, I was running on Mobil 1 Fully Synthetic, since i no longer use my car daily I went ahead with Castrol Magnatec Semi Synthetic.

I chose to stay there to see the workmanship and accompanied Kumar to various shops to pickup parts, he is respected by a lot of Mechanics mainly due to his workmanship and perfection.

Post the service was completed i was surprised with the cost that i had to pay for the work done. Took the car for a 60 Km power packed drive on NH8 and found it to be absolutely how it was when i first drove her back in 2009.

I will never go to a Maruti Service Centre for any work from now. They would have charged me minimum 15k for this service with a very bad workmanship.

I thank Styler for sharing his details, when i gave your reference he promptly recognized you. Being a South Indian i could connect with him very well and the knowledge this man has about Automobiles is just outstanding.

He also had a laugh when i told him Maruti asks to do Engine Decarbonization and Throttle body cleaning on every service and showed me how they are fleecing customers in the name of it, which he used to do in the 70's. lol:

Harvinder also was present there and was doing electrical jobs on a Nissan Sunny, he is a master at electrical works.

If any fellow Bhpian's want to take his service do call him up and book appointment before you go there, he do not take more than 2-3 vehicles a day and walkin customers are politely asked to turn up later.

I will recommend him now for all my Family and Friends automobile needs

Now i have a smile on my face when i am driving my car which was missing for the last 4 years due to niggling issues and MASS not able to fix them.

Below is a pic of my swift getting worked upon.

Sorry somehow the Link to Google Maps was not correct.

Here is the correct link :

https://www.google.co.in/maps/place/....1362435?hl=en

Or simply Search for "Harvinder And Kumar Workshop" in Google Maps.

Admins can you edit the previous post with this link and delete this one.
Sorry for the trouble.

The reviews seem promising and good hopes for all others who have had bad experiences with ASS and other outside workshops.
The people don't seem to be greedy by taking in more cars than they can work upon which is quite contrasting to the usual practice of mechanic shops.
Nice share Amit.

Update

Harvinder and Kumar have moved to a Farm house just opposite to where they earlier were. Kindly call them and they will meet you outside when you reach.

I bought a Grand Vitara 2.0L from a friend last month. I have not gone to the Maruti Authorized Service Center till now. Harvinder and Kumar could check the Grand Vitara thoroughly and could do all the Mechanical and Electrical work required perfectly.
The details of the work, and some pictures are mentioned in this thread.
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/suvs-m...ml#post4207157

Styler

Special thanks to Harvinder and Kumar in helping me restore the Grand Vitara. Without them it would not have been possible.

I did not need to go to Maruti Authorized Service Center at all. All the mechanical / electrical work was done by them. Details of the work done is mentioned here : .

They have moved their workshop to a farm house close bye to where they were earlier.
Here is the updated location :
https://goo.gl/maps/uDCkJpe77gB2

Admins it will be nice if you could update the location of Harvinder and Kumar in the first Post.

Car Repairs and Maintenance: Harvinder Singh & Kumar (Vasant Kunj, Delhi)-img_3830.jpg

I am really amazed. Thanks Styler and nidhin0816 for sharing your experiences.

Now one important question : do they take care of Chevys as well. My 2011 Beat Petrol is in need of thorough inspection and some repairs. I am thinking of Clutch OH as well. It has done around 35k in 6 years and there are no issues at this moment. However, clutch O/H at this stage will give it fresh life for another 4~5 years. Given the situation GM, there may be issues of spare availability in coming time.

Originally Posted by AutoNoob (Post 4209811)
I am really amazed. Thanks Styler and nidhin0816 for sharing your experiences.

Now one important question : do they take care of Chevys as well. My 2011 Beat Petrol is in need of thorough inspection and some repairs. I am thinking of Clutch OH as well. It has done around 35k in 6 years and there are no issues at this moment. However, clutch O/H at this stage will give it fresh life for another 4~5 years. Given the situation GM, there may be issues of spare availability in coming time.

Yes you can speak to them. They do repair Chevys. I have seen a beat being repaired at their workshop 2 days ago.

Just spoke to Mr. Kumar fixing an appointment for tomorrow. Unlike every other mechanic, he sounds very humble.

I was so impressed, I offered to pick him up from his house and take him to work. Can't wait to hand over my car to him after having heard so many amazing reviews of his knowledge and quality of work, ofcourse hoping nothing of i has changed.

Finally got my car repaired from Mr. Kumar. The sound was of the broken bearings inside the gearbox. Mr. Kumar initially suggested to have the gearbox replaced but since the sound wasn't very prominent and he took note of my driving style, he said he'll open the gearbox expecting no serious damage would've been done. I'll let the pictures do the talking:

The road leading to Mr. Kumar's garage:

Car Repairs and Maintenance: Harvinder Singh & Kumar (Vasant Kunj, Delhi)-imageuploadedbyteambhp1506002716.723516.jpg

The garage is not really a garage, but an empty plot with space to accommodate two vehicles only. They politely turn down any requests for a third vehicle if it's repair requires it to be parked overnight.

Car Repairs and Maintenance: Harvinder Singh & Kumar (Vasant Kunj, Delhi)-imageuploadedbyteambhp1506002842.443729.jpg
Car Repairs and Maintenance: Harvinder Singh & Kumar (Vasant Kunj, Delhi)-imageuploadedbyteambhp1506002866.827351.jpg

My Swift getting diagnosed by the man himself, Mr. Kumar and an assistant who helps him with things that need extra force. Mr. Kumar is a man of precision and only believes in quality.

Car Repairs and Maintenance: Harvinder Singh & Kumar (Vasant Kunj, Delhi)-imageuploadedbyteambhp1506002974.372229.jpg
Car Repairs and Maintenance: Harvinder Singh & Kumar (Vasant Kunj, Delhi)-imageuploadedbyteambhp1506002997.393909.jpg
Car Repairs and Maintenance: Harvinder Singh & Kumar (Vasant Kunj, Delhi)-imageuploadedbyteambhp1506003020.046518.jpg

The gearbox is finally off the engine and in the hands of the person who left no screw untouched to ensure even the minute problems were rectified. I loved Mr. Kumar's approach of looking for the problem. He started off by checking the top moat layers/common problem areas like a screw being loose, the oil not being good, alignment of shafts etc. Only when he ensured that it was not any of the common problem areas did he get into hardcore dismantling of the gearbox.

Car Repairs and Maintenance: Harvinder Singh & Kumar (Vasant Kunj, Delhi)-imageuploadedbyteambhp1506003377.135419.jpg
Car Repairs and Maintenance: Harvinder Singh & Kumar (Vasant Kunj, Delhi)-imageuploadedbyteambhp1506003410.984386.jpg
Car Repairs and Maintenance: Harvinder Singh & Kumar (Vasant Kunj, Delhi)-imageuploadedbyteambhp1506003435.936593.jpg
Car Repairs and Maintenance: Harvinder Singh & Kumar (Vasant Kunj, Delhi)-imageuploadedbyteambhp1506003466.556844.jpg
Car Repairs and Maintenance: Harvinder Singh & Kumar (Vasant Kunj, Delhi)-imageuploadedbyteambhp1506003497.761185.jpg

Once nothing was found to be faulty on the outside, the housing was removed, and the shafts taken apart. The culprit ? Four bearings on the shafts inside the housing.

Car Repairs and Maintenance: Harvinder Singh & Kumar (Vasant Kunj, Delhi)-imageuploadedbyteambhp1506003615.606444.jpg
Car Repairs and Maintenance: Harvinder Singh & Kumar (Vasant Kunj, Delhi)-imageuploadedbyteambhp1506003635.941548.jpg
Car Repairs and Maintenance: Harvinder Singh & Kumar (Vasant Kunj, Delhi)-imageuploadedbyteambhp1506003659.827498.jpg

Having found the problem, Mr. Kumar asked me to leave the car with them and return the next day. He assured me that the work will be flawless and he can guarantee his work. I reach the next day and the car is ready ! Its been two days with no problems at all. I am quite sure I'm not going to face any problems of the same nature, because I saw the man and the standards he followed.

Car Repairs and Maintenance: Harvinder Singh & Kumar (Vasant Kunj, Delhi)-imageuploadedbyteambhp1506003921.773831.jpg

A few things I noticed:

Mr Kumar, is a thorough gentleman. He knows his game inside out. A very humble man, who does not indulge into vague talks, no self praises and is someone you will start respecting from the time you meet him for the first time. During my 5 days of conversation with him, he always addressed me as "Beta". I offered to pick him up or drop him back home, which he politely declined, because he said it'll be a hassle for me. He ensured I knew every little thing of whatever was being assembled or dismantled in my car, he told me how the mechanical parts work, and how it is important for me to know about car parts to avoid being misled. Not once did he discuss about money, advance or any payment related issues. The only thing he said through the five days was "Beta, tum tension mat lo. Main baitha hun na. Main sab thik karke dunga" this was something he would tell me whenever I asked him about how much it would cost me or if it was something serious or if I asked him if this happened again. There is so much I can write about this man, who has changed my perception of mechanics being greedy, lousy and careless with no eye for quality and detail. If my car is ever going to a garage, this is the man it going to !

Mr. Harvinder, on the contrary, may be a very good electrician but is not even half as good a man as Mr. Kumar. Right from day one, he had been only talking money to me inspite of him knowing nothing about car mechanicals. He quoted 20k for a used gearbox from Mayapuri on the first day I visited them. When I checked with a friend who has a contact in Mayapuri, I was quoted 11k for a 4 month used gearbox. The day I asked Mr. Kumar if I could buy spares from my credit card so that I could save on cash, Harvinder was furious ! He literally shouted "humaare paas time nahi hain, khud leke aao jaake" and this was when I was not even talking to him. Eventually next day, Harvinder went to buy spares and I am not even sure if he bought genuine maruti parts because thats what I had asked for.

After they finished the job, i took Mr. Kumar for a teat drive and asked how much am I due. He said "Sardarji toh keh raha tha 5500 lene hain, par main bola ke bahut zyada hain toh sardar se mera argument ho gaya". I told Mr. Kumar that I am willing to pay anything that he quotes because he worked on the car and not sardarji.

Eventually I paid 3500 for labour and 2500 for spares(that Harvinder bought and I have no idea if it was MGP). One thing for sure, I'm never suggesting anyone to Harvinder for electrical issues. I just hope Mr. Kumar's reputation is not affected by Harvinder's money minded business ethics !

And the best thing of all, situated right next to the airport, I saw the IAF's C-130 when it was landing. It was vverrryy loud, quite close and HHUUGGEEE ! Also, if anybody knows Arun Pandey, MS Dhoni's best friend, he lives right opposite to Mr. Kumar's garage. The house has all sorts of high tech security devices and armed guards ! Here's a picture I clicked:

Car Repairs and Maintenance: Harvinder Singh & Kumar (Vasant Kunj, Delhi)-imageuploadedbyteambhp1506005314.723523.jpg