Team-BHP > Technical Stuff > DIY - Do it yourself
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 22nd October 2018, 16:09   #1
BHPian

DIY: Removing swirl marks & scratches from the speedometer console / other display screens

Hi friends,

This is my first post regarding a DIY in the forum. Apologies for any mistakes or incorrect methods used for posting. I am not good at clicking pictures so please bear with the poor quality. This DIY was done over a period of time, starting with first treatment somewhere in April 2018.

I had an issue with the center console/ac panel looking ugly because of swirl marks, minor scratches and fine mist of clear coat caused by the MASS on my Swift while a body shop job was done on all 4 doors. Why a body shop job on all four doors is a separate story

I follow a practice of taking pictures of my car (interior and exterior) in the presence of the service advisor with his attention towards the minor details. It was a bit difficult but I could easily prove that the MASS technicians caused the scratches while the car was at the service centre. The service centre assured to help with resolving the issue and did put in their best efforts. After a lot of trial and error methods, they were successful in removing the scratches as well as the clear coat to an acceptable level using some rubbing compound (they did not disclose the name/brand of the material used). Once the results were acceptable to me, I did not ask them to complete the job on the whole console and borrowed some of the rubbing compound so as to do it later as per my convenience.