Team-BHP > Technical Stuff > DIY - Do it yourself
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 26th November 2021, 16:50   #1
BHPian

DIY: Restoring Headlights at home

I'm a newbie here and this is my first thread on the forum. Suggestions and comments are welcome.

For those who have oxidized and hazy headlights which reduce your light output and make your night drives difficult, hope this DIY guide helps you freshen up your headlights.
An OEM new Swift headlight will cost you about ₹2525 per side, So in total ₹5050 for a pair.

I for long had the itch to restore my headlights ever since I got the car in June last year because they started yellowing, had scratches, were oxidized, had hard water spots and while the previous owner had the car re-painted, the Painter didn’t cover the headlights leading to overspray of clear coat over them.

Friend and fellow BHPian yuv3447 guided me while doing this DIY. Huge thanks to you brother!

Condition of the headlights before restoring

DIY: Restoring Headlights at home-1.jpg
DIY: Restoring Headlights at home-2.jpg
DIY: Restoring Headlights at home-3.jpg
DIY: Restoring Headlights at home-4.jpg

Things you need:

1) 800 grit sandpaper
2) 1500 grit sandpaper
3) 3M Marine Paste (Rubbing compound)
4) 3M Premium Liquid Wax
5) Orbital Polishing Machine
6) Elbow grease (trust me)
7) Lots of Patience

Price for this sweet DIY?

800 grit sandpaper - ₹25
1500 grit sandpaper - ₹35
3M Marine Paste (Rubbing compound) - ₹193
3M Premium Liquid Wax -₹156
Orbital Polishing Machine (I had borrowed the orbital polishing machine from a good friend.)

Total : ₹409

DIY: Restoring Headlights at home-whatsapp-image-20211120-12.08.01-pm.jpeg

Procedure:

1) Remove the bumper

To make things easier, I removed the front bumper. Removing the bumper is a fairly easy process. I asked my younger cousin to assist me in removing the bumper.