Team-BHP > Technical Stuff > DIY - Do it yourself

Old 27th June 2007, 23:11   #1

Changing the colour of lights of the dashboard (DIY)

Today morning i was sitting around and i was getting very bored.i decided to do a DIY to the instrument panel lights and change the colour. After about 4.5 yaers i got bored of looking at the same colour speedometer over and over again.

so here is what i did to my car to day

Things needed

1)long screwdriver (three faced one)
2A permanent market of any colour you want or small balloon of the colour you want( i choose the marker as i could find small balloons in the market )

How to do it

i removed the
the front black trim(it was held by two screw on the top of the speedometer)

before removing

after removing

Indian condition their is dust inside the dashboard to

the speedometer was removed by unscrewing the screw one on each corner

now i removed the bulb it was easy anyone will be able to figure it out once opened(remove only the bigger one)

the bulb with green cap

the bulb after the cap was removed

the cap

the bulb painted blue with the market( will put balloon as and when i get them)

the back side of the speedometer only remove the bigger cap as the smaller one are for the other lights on the meter

after this i screwed the speedometer and the black thing back and than blue light on the speedo

the light wasn't bright but blue will click night pics when i do the same with the balloons

any question just ask

tomorrow headlight washers

Last edited by manikjeet : 27th June 2007 at 23:13.
Old 27th June 2007, 23:25   #2

Wah Manik DA Mechanic always trying something or the other but hopefully it was not at 11 in the night.

Nice work dude why didn't u used the different colour led ?? Or should have used florescent paper which we get in market on the bulb as cap.

Still nice work but yaar night pics toh post kar. Abhi neeche ja aur click them or i m coming !!!

P.S. Now i know why u were not picking up the phone. I tot you were busy hankin' pankin'
Old 27th June 2007, 23:30   #3

arre bhai no need to come yaar i am posting the pics

no hanky panky for a few days GF out of town

the night pics

i know they are not good in pics but in reallity they are good my cell doesn't have a night mode

Will post more pic after i get the balloons or caps which i order today

PS CONGRATS ABHI ON BECOMING A SENIOR ON THE FORUM (i want a party)

Last edited by manikjeet : 27th June 2007 at 23:32.
Old 28th June 2007, 00:04   #4

Chal its looking better than green lol... on your car RED / ORANGE like in swift / NHC will look good. Will try to find led like that.

Will come tomorrow to check it out
Old 28th June 2007, 00:08   #5

Originally Posted by abhibh View Post
Chal its looking better than green lol... on your car RED / ORANGE like in swift / NHC will look good. Will try to find led like that.

Will come tomorrow to check it out
arre bhai you are always welcomed
i have ordered some balloons or caps (whatever you call them) lets see what happens then

i can always remove the blue paint over it and use it
it will be yellow but not green
Old 28th June 2007, 00:20   #6

Great DIY job. Alto is such a car that it allows you to do a lot of things by yourself without getting into a lot of trouble.

I had got Blue LED bulbs and replaced the green ones with that. It looks like this.

Sorry for the small picture.
Old 28th June 2007, 00:28   #7

SpeedZak dude ship em over here lol.. I want a bit lighter blue ones like the pic in my avtar..

BTW can we also change the leds of the ac knobs area to blue ??
Old 28th June 2007, 00:31   #8

nice speedo speedzak

BTW how much did they cost
i am getting caps like it comes on the OEM tell see the result
Old 28th June 2007, 01:48   #9

hey nice pic speed zak...how exactly did you do that ?

Rev
Old 28th June 2007, 02:11   #10

ya speedzak very nice work done. ya i a DIY or a complete replacement kit.
Old 28th June 2007, 03:05   #11

Great to know that you all liked it.

If you look closely, Alto instrument cluster bulbs are same as the park bulbs in the headlight assembly. There're lot of aftermarket coloured LEDs available for park lights. I used them and it ended up good.

Yes, the Centre console bulb can also be replaced with a smaller LED. But it's hard to find one. You can do the covering up job on the original bulb. I tried cutting up small pieces out of a condom (yes, a blue colored one!) but it melted and got stuck in all the wrong places!

If you work around a bit more, you can also change the Ac switch bulb also. No! I didn't do that but really wanted to.
Old 28th June 2007, 07:51   #12

Originally Posted by speedzak View Post
Great to know that you all liked it.

If you look closely, Alto instrument cluster bulbs are same as the park bulbs in the headlight assembly. There're lot of aftermarket coloured LEDs available for park lights. I used them and it ended up good.

Yes, the Centre console bulb can also be replaced with a smaller LED. But it's hard to find one. You can do the covering up job on the original bulb. I tried cutting up small pieces out of a condom (yes, a blue colored one!) but it melted and got stuck in all the wrong places!

If you work around a bit more, you can also change the Ac switch bulb also. No! I didn't do that but really wanted to.

Both the cars looking good.

Wonder if the same can be done on the wagonR? Any idea?
Old 28th June 2007, 10:12   #13

Originally Posted by speedzak View Post
I tried cutting up small pieces out of a condom (yes, a blue colored one!) but it melted and got stuck in all the wrong places!

Last edited by normally_crazy : 28th June 2007 at 11:47. Reason: excessive smiles
Old 28th June 2007, 10:23   #14

Hi jeet, nice DIY job.
Watch out for my space for the same thing. Of course inspired by you.

@speedzak
Dials look cool.
The LEDs can be fixed directly into the holder or did u had to do some sort of soldering?
Old 28th June 2007, 11:00   #15

Dhar leds can be fixed directly. And dude please use maximum only 2 smilies per post lol.