Team-BHP > Technical Stuff > DIY - Do it yourself

Old 18th August 2008, 13:16   #16

Wow! Great job, rider60! This deserves more that the "jugaad" tag!
Old 18th August 2008, 14:41   #17

Originally Posted by mjothi View Post
Wow, clean and nice job.
@rider60, so the water mix up has infact given an oppurtunity for you to do these DIY. Interesting
well that paint job was long pending since my mom always complained the interiors were really dull compared to the viva so this did give me an opportunity to go right ahead, as the pads needed a wash any way! thanks for the compliments.

Originally Posted by hydrashok View Post
Wow! Great job, rider60! This deserves more that the "jugaad" tag!

thanks for the compliments hydra, its just that i am a little annoyed with this car as it constantly needs rattle fixing and some problem or the other keeps popping up, hence that title! now wait for the further things i do on this car, which it badly needs!

Last edited by rider60 : 18th August 2008 at 14:46.
Old 18th August 2008, 15:07   #18

Looks cool, loads of effort and time gone in. Good one Yash.

Keep up the good work and keep the pics and details flowing.
Old 19th August 2008, 07:27   #19

Repost...Where is the delete option?

Last edited by furioussphinx : 19th August 2008 at 07:38.
Old 19th August 2008, 07:37   #20

Boy! You do impress me always! Awesome work yashy! Am just waiting to do LOADS of fiddling around with my car pretty soon. Expect loads of phone calls, dropping by at your place, etc etc. BTW, I need to take out my components today and keep the dabba speakers and sell the gaadi. Will try to do it myself or with the help of a mechanic. Dont have the patience to go all the way to a car accessories shop.
Old 19th August 2008, 11:20   #21

Hey...great job man!!!
Could I give you my car?!
Old 19th August 2008, 15:11   #22

Originally Posted by suren181 View Post
Looks cool, loads of effort and time gone in. Good one Yash.

Keep up the good work and keep the pics and details flowing.
thanks for the compliments suren bhai, i will keep them up and there are many more to come!, keep an eye on this thread, swift is one car which needs all kinds of rattle fixes so this might help a lot of people to fix rattles for sure!.

Originally Posted by furioussphinx View Post
Boy! You do impress me always! Awesome work yashy! Am just waiting to do LOADS of fiddling around with my car pretty soon. Expect loads of phone calls, dropping by at your place, etc etc. BTW, I need to take out my components today and keep the dabba speakers and sell the gaadi. Will try to do it myself or with the help of a mechanic. Dont have the patience to go all the way to a car accessories shop.
drop in but give me a call before you do and we see what we can do and hope fully post the jugaad we did for your car!!!, HU connection for 100 bucks.

Originally Posted by theexister View Post
Hey...great job man!!!
Could I give you my car?!

sure mate you are welcome! thanks for the compliments!
Old 20th August 2008, 21:40   #23

well i had to sick this piece of carpet on the back seat's rear as the sear cover was badly scratched and dint want to see it completely get ruined, the courtesy was my Doggie, yes i use this car to take my GSD around and this was inevitable.

here are pics, and the pics of my speakers reinstall will be here or on my other thread soon, by soon i mean in a day or two at most! enjoy for now!

eerrr, i couldnt take the pics when the adhesive was on because i has it on my hands too, and the i think i did a good job with this.
jugaad di gaddi! (DIY rattle fixes on my swift LDi)-dsc01666.jpg  

jugaad di gaddi! (DIY rattle fixes on my swift LDi)-dsc01668.jpg  

jugaad di gaddi! (DIY rattle fixes on my swift LDi)-dsc01669.jpg  

jugaad di gaddi! (DIY rattle fixes on my swift LDi)-dsc01670.jpg  

jugaad di gaddi! (DIY rattle fixes on my swift LDi)-dsc01671.jpg  

jugaad di gaddi! (DIY rattle fixes on my swift LDi)-dsc01673.jpg  

jugaad di gaddi! (DIY rattle fixes on my swift LDi)-dsc01675.jpg  

Old 20th August 2008, 22:40   #24

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/ask-gu...tml#post946594

this is my latest DIY have a look it felt it belonged in that thread better and dint post it here, and certainly dont want to double post the same here, so the linky.

enjoy!!!
Old 21st August 2008, 11:29   #25

Awesome!

To be honest with you i have been wanting to this for > a year but just not getting the right 'catalyst' to do this.

My plans -

Paint the entire dashboard Black like the Swift (Mine is grey at present)
Paint the Door Panels Black like the Swift (Mine is grey at present)
Paint the Door Latches and AC Vents and other small Covers Silver (Like you have done).

Rest assured i will pull you and Avi in when i start doing this!

All the best with the rest!
Old 25th August 2008, 00:57   #26

Originally Posted by theodore_ftw View Post
Awesome!

To be honest with you i have been wanting to this for > a year but just not getting the right 'catalyst' to do this.

My plans -

Paint the entire dashboard Black like the Swift (Mine is grey at present)
Paint the Door Panels Black like the Swift (Mine is grey at present)
Paint the Door Latches and AC Vents and other small Covers Silver (Like you have done).

Rest assured i will pull you and Avi in when i start doing this!

All the best with the rest!

all right here is what i found out if you want to paint such huge pieces of plastic and want the paint to stay stuck these are the things you will need, and i am pretty sure not all paint shops here will have knowledge of the same. they would at max clean the parts with a good cleaner and spray on!

since yours is a old zen, a old car i am pretty sure want to keep it for its lifetime so do get all of these

1. plastic ftp primer from DELTRON the same brand used by the A.S.S to get paints for our cars at the body shop

2. the paint of your choice.(i dint need separate primer for the paint as it was a spray can.

3. lacquer

4. appropriate thinners for the lacquer, paint and the ftp primer.

i would suggest this brand DELTRON here, its pretty good there are others available at lower prices too, but might not give you the finish or life!

just what i went throught to make sure my DIY paint job on the plastics last!!!
hope this helps others here, i just dint put that up here earlier, i wanted to wait and see how the response to a thing like this would be.

well yes i did go through all this pain of spraying the plastic primer first then the paint can and but i dint know about the lacquer, deralte mentioned it and i checked for the same in the market and found it, now i just have to spray it on thats all.

all this might be a hard work but i say the sense of satisfaction is unparalleled to some one else doing this on your car and i am at a state of bliss for those moments when i see a well done job at the end of a day. aaah thats why i do all this myself!

happy painting.
Old 6th March 2009, 22:50   #27

Hi All this is MY DIY DAMPING On my SWIFT

The damping was done last september but some how the pics went missing from i cam and i found these on one of my DVDs so i am posting this DIY damping too..

i used Noise kill bought from Ajay AKA bass&trouble.

if i remember correctly i think i ordered 50SqFt and it just went heavily in to the front two doors and the boot door and the rear doors were mildly damped.

i bought around 5 meters of this closed cell foam 2mm thick and used that too on all the five door pads two layers of them.

and now my swift is totally Rattle free.

this Kind of heavy damping was Done on my swift out of PURE Frustration of ratting and niggling sounds in the car. I think this car needs this much atleast for even a ICE setup such as mine which is simple enough.

below are the pics enjoy.
jugaad di gaddi! (DIY rattle fixes on my swift LDi)-dsc01815.jpg  

jugaad di gaddi! (DIY rattle fixes on my swift LDi)-dsc01814.jpg  

jugaad di gaddi! (DIY rattle fixes on my swift LDi)-dsc01813.jpg  

jugaad di gaddi! (DIY rattle fixes on my swift LDi)-dsc01820.jpg  

jugaad di gaddi! (DIY rattle fixes on my swift LDi)-dsc01836.jpg  

jugaad di gaddi! (DIY rattle fixes on my swift LDi)-dsc01839.jpg  

jugaad di gaddi! (DIY rattle fixes on my swift LDi)-dsc01840.jpg  

jugaad di gaddi! (DIY rattle fixes on my swift LDi)-dsc01830.jpg  

jugaad di gaddi! (DIY rattle fixes on my swift LDi)-dsc01822.jpg  

jugaad di gaddi! (DIY rattle fixes on my swift LDi)-dsc01824.jpg  

jugaad di gaddi! (DIY rattle fixes on my swift LDi)-dsc01832.jpg  

Old 6th March 2009, 23:00   #28

whoa! Thats some serious damping. One suggestion: Damping the wheel arches would reduce the road noise considerably.
Any plans to damp the firewall?
Old 7th March 2009, 00:17   #29

Originally Posted by live2drive View Post
whoa! Thats some serious damping. One suggestion: Damping the wheel arches would reduce the road noise considerably.
Any plans to damp the firewall?
well this just does fine for me now so plans to damp the other areas of the car as of now, i rather let some Vitamin M stack up and spend on a better pair of Components.
Old 9th March 2009, 10:02   #30

excellet work done there rider. how much did you shell out for NOISEKILL ? Is it available in bangalore? Is you swift totatlly rattle free now?