Team-BHP > Technical Stuff > DIY - Do it yourself

Old 25th January 2010, 23:44   #16

Upgraded speakers- DIY

Maruti Suzuki WagonR DIY Stuff. Update: 8 years, half-a-lakh kms and counting-img_0719-large.jpg

Nearing eight years and 49000kms, she has been a faithful companion through thick and thin. Gifted her a pair of JBLs to replace the aging speakers.

I did some unusual setting in the HU (Kenwood KRC-387) after the upgrade and probably reversed polarity- caused too sharp sound. Reset the HU to default audio settings with +1 for bass level. It is sounding too good (for 4") now (thanks to DerAlte on audio thread for the tip). My old HMV cassettes are back in the car again .

Price of JBL: 1700/- picked it from Reliance AutoZone
Installation effort: ~1 hour
Tools needed- Philips (+) screwdriver, insulation tape, wire cutter

At the end, I find installation was very easy. Even removing the HU was easy. Though I am not describing the steps through diagram, I can do so, if someone needs it.

New JBL
Maruti Suzuki WagonR DIY Stuff. Update: 8 years, half-a-lakh kms and counting-jbl2.jpg
Maruti Suzuki WagonR DIY Stuff. Update: 8 years, half-a-lakh kms and counting-jbl.jpg

Old speaker (unbranded?)
Maruti Suzuki WagonR DIY Stuff. Update: 8 years, half-a-lakh kms and counting-17012010001.jpg

Old wiring
Maruti Suzuki WagonR DIY Stuff. Update: 8 years, half-a-lakh kms and counting-17012010.jpg

New Speaker connection. Used the wires supplied in the JBL box.
Maruti Suzuki WagonR DIY Stuff. Update: 8 years, half-a-lakh kms and counting-19012010001.jpg
Maruti Suzuki WagonR DIY Stuff. Update: 8 years, half-a-lakh kms and counting-19012010.jpg

Removed the dash cover for HU- realized it was unnecessary as OEM harness has cables for speakers leading upto the grill well. I reused these cables. Found old installer has cut the OEM harness to get rid of the couplers at the end :-(
Maruti Suzuki WagonR DIY Stuff. Update: 8 years, half-a-lakh kms and counting-dashhu.jpg

-BJ

Last edited by bj96 : 25th January 2010 at 23:46. Reason: typo
Old 7th March 2010, 14:15   #17

Some idiot caused this injury when she was resting in the apartment parking lot . It costs about 700/- and was not in stock with neighborhood MASS.

Maruti Suzuki WagonR DIY Stuff. Update: 8 years, half-a-lakh kms and counting-06032010.jpg

No, it is not the owners who park their cars on either side. I suspect the cricket or football or use of parking areas as bicycle track.

How to deal with such idiots?

-BJ
Old 26th March 2010, 09:43   #18

50k mark

Just touched while on my way to the work today .

Maruti Suzuki WagonR DIY Stuff. Update: 8 years, half-a-lakh kms and counting-50kmark.jpg

-BJ
Old 26th March 2010, 10:16   #19

Congratulations buddy; you bumped up this thread to update the 50K odo due to which I stumbled upon this thread. I too am a DIY guy but little afraid to risk for first times, especially on car; now that I've found someone to guide me with the same car make that I've, I'm going to bug you with lots of questions & keep bumping up this thread often. Mine is Vxi 3rd gen clocked around 40900. But 50K in 8 years is real good. Congratulations once again.
Old 26th March 2010, 10:27   #20

Congratulations buddy!
I too own a 2006 WagonR Lxi which has now clocked 102000 Kms on the ODO.
Check out for a few DIYs which I've done for my car which includes:

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/long-t...000-kms-2.html

1. Retrofitment of the new WagonR's steering.
2. Damping of all the doors and re-carpetting for the floor.
3. Custom made, detatchable speaker boxes.
4. Remote boot opener (This was a must).
Old 26th March 2010, 10:47   #21

Congrats man, I own a 2004 Wagon-R (bought from Maruti True value) clocked 5500kms with me behind the wheel.

And I screwed up the Sony head unit I got with the Car (now got a new pioneer headunit) doing some DIY stuff.

My tail lamp was damaged while reversing the car in the parking lot in a shopping mall (some stupid left the trolley in the middle and I overlooked it while reversing), and replaced with a new one, costed me 1000/- at MASS. Newer one is not compatible with the older one, which only costs 700/-.
Old 26th March 2010, 11:43   #22

@Pragsachania - Yes, Thanks for answering & pointing the link to me; with that being done, pls be assured to get bugged by me . Will PM you for more details.
Old 26th March 2010, 15:08   #23

Originally Posted by rishie View Post
Congrats man..
Originally Posted by paragsachania View Post
Congratulations buddy! ...
Originally Posted by aargee View Post
Congratulations buddy...
Thanks mates.

Yes, this is a special occasion and I feel so elated. This is my first car (and first one I drove on public road) and she has never let me down. Ever since I was a learner to this date, it started on 1st twist, never stranded me anywhere (only two punctures so far- both surfaced in parking) and took me safely to wherever I wanted to go. It has taken me to the beaches of Maharashtra, Goa and Daman and countless escapades to the green hills of Sahyadris. Be it midnight or wee hours, I never felt unsecured in it. This is the most infallible piece of machinery I have owned .

I will put up a long-term review soon.

-BJ
Old 17th April 2010, 17:12   #24

Missed this thread! Nice reviews and DIY there.

Here is one small DIY that i did on my 2004 60k old WagonR.

DIY LED lighting-
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/1842960-post278.html
Old 17th April 2010, 17:27   #25

an inbuilt tacho on a 2002 wagonr???
Old 17th April 2010, 21:15   #26

Originally Posted by nick17s View Post
an inbuilt tacho on a 2002 wagonr???
It is a VXi (top end) trim and it has a rear wiper too .
Old 17th April 2010, 22:14   #27

Originally Posted by bj96 View Post
It is a VXi (top end) trim and it has a rear wiper too .
Which was deleted with the first refresh. My 2004 VXi has defoggers, and not rear wipers! Looks like the all new WagonR will come with rear wipers again for the VXi.

When was VXi introduced? AFAIK, it came in VX versions earlier?
Old 17th April 2010, 22:26   #28

Which was deleted with the first refresh. My 2004 VXi has defoggers, and not rear wipers! Looks like the all new WagonR will come with rear wipers again for the VXi.

Dunno about the Wagon R, but for the ZEN, Maruti introduced the "i" in badging, after EPS was introduced.

Yes, the new Wagon R will have with the rear wiper and demister just like the new Estilo which has got rear wiper and demister in the VXi trim.
Old 18th April 2010, 00:21   #29

Sometime in 2001 or early 2002- when they also introduced the MPFI petrol engines. Prior to that carb engine was norm. This "revolutionary" change was required in India due to Bharat - II (euro-2) emission norms? I think at the same time they added DDLI = Dual Distributor-less Ignition too.

I remember, till then Santro had a 8-bit ECU while Maruti, straightaway launched a 16-bit ECU and went ga ga about this triumph. I distinctly remember their trade pamphlets full with such terms like 16-bit MPFI, EPS, 16-valve hypertech engine etc, etc... to stand out in the competition. I will try to dig the pamphlet- I must have preserved one somewhere.

-BJ

Last edited by bj96 : 18th April 2010 at 00:32. Reason: refer DDLI
Old 18th April 2010, 18:16   #30

AFAIK, there was no VX. When I bought my Waggie LXi in 2001, there were 3 models: LX, LXi and VXi. The 'i' indicated power steering.

@bj--congrats on the half a lakh mark on your odo. I am a bit inspired now to change my front speakers like you have done. My Kenwood HU's light has conked out and no amount of replacement lights are lasting more than a couple of days.

BTW, I've completed 54K on my car's odo. So far I've spent only on a new set of tyres in Aug, 2008, drive shafts in Oct 2009 and a new battery in Sep, 2005. Other minor spends were on front left door regulator (for winding up the window glass) and a couple of bulbs at the rear.