Team-BHP > Road Safety

Search this Thread
Old 23rd May 2013, 17:48   #151

re: Safe Driving on Indian Highways & Ghats

Quote:
Originally Posted by vnabhi View Post
Folks

Attached is a pictorial guide I got from a pal in the US. It deals with how to position to wing mirrors (ORVMs).

The original is not getting uploaded as it is some unknown file type (looks like a powerpoint to me with moving images). Therefore I took screenshots and pasted those onto a word document.

Members may find it useful.

Attachment 1038571
I have been driving in the GCC for almost 25 years now. Somewhere down the line, I got an idea of this mirror re-positioning technique and I have been using it ever since. Has it helped me? a big re-sounding YES.
I wish to explain it a little differently than the "90 degrees" mentioned in the attachment.
Once you are comfortably seated on the driver's seat and on a straight stretch of road, adjust the driver's side OVRM in such a way that you just manage to see the rear side of your vehicle, further to the rear passenger's door and even further to the rear wheel . Next, do the same adjustment to the co-driver's side OVRM as well. If you have done it right, you will appreciate the following:
a. When viewing through the mirror above your dashboard, you can view the vehicle behind you
b. If and when the vehicle changes lane to overtake you, you can view the entire operation
c. When the car gains speed and overtakes your car, you will notice the car moving from the rear view mirror to the side view mirror. And then as the vehicle overtakes you, you can see the physical (actual) side-view of the vehicle while also noticing the rear part of it in your side view mirror. In short, the entire transition from rear view to side view to actual view can be seen without any blind spot.
Wishing you safe driving.
Dev Iyer is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th July 2013, 12:19   #152
BHPian

How well should you know your car ?

Hello Everyone,