Team-BHP > Road Safety
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 10th February 2009, 10:28   #1
BHPian

An Indian in New Jersey! - Questions about driving in the USA

Hi All,

I just came in here at NJ. And would be sticking around for some time (hopefully).

I am a pretty decent Indian driver with none whatsoever experience with driving on the right side of the road. I have driven in SE Asia a lot of times but nowhere in Europe or US.

Questions:
1. Do Indians find it difficult to adapt to opposite side driving?
2. I have a valid Indian driving license with a IDP, do I need to appear for GDP including road test to get a license here?
3. Anyone in NJ from Team-Bhp who is willing to share contact of good driving school here?
4. Any tips for a first timer (in terms of driving on the US roads and all)

Thanks!
Sid
Old 10th February 2009, 11:28   #2
Team-BHP Support

Quote:
Originally Posted by sids911 View Post
Questions:
2. I have a valid Indian driving license with a IDP, do I need to appear for GDP including road test to get a license here?
3. Anyone in NJ from Team-Bhp who is willing to share contact of good driving school here?
1. Yes. It takes a while to get used to for two reasons.
i) The bulk of the car is now on the right side of you.
ii) Driving on the other side of the road! This can get extra confusing at junctions, roundabouts, and especially when your fatigued, stressed or tired.

Always be extra extra cautious and never be over confident (or even "confident" for the first few months!).

Take extra care on new/unfamiliar roads.
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/1021620-post72.html

2. http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/route-...dp-thread.html

3. No idea, but see this : http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/team-b...nj-ct-usa.html

4. Be extra extra careful. Get good insurance.