Old 24th December 2019, 14:46   #46

re: India-bound MG eZS electric SUV unveiled. Edit: Launched at 19.88 lakh

Originally Posted by speedmiester View Post
Kona has three level of regen and I found it to be the best in regen which helps it achieve more than 300Kms+ range very easily.

ZS also has three levels of regen but weighs significantly more and the regen is not as great as Kona.
ZS weight is not significantly more than Kona. In fact, ZS excite variant weighs lower than Kona and exclusive variant weighs just 4 kgs more than Kona. Here are the actual official weights of Kona and ZS (all are kerb weights):

Kona - 1535 kg.
ZS (base - excite) - 1,502 kg.
ZS (top trim -exclusive) - 1,539 kg.

Kona high range and efficiency are not just due to regen. It is also due to battery chemistry. Kona uses LG Chem batteries which are among the best currently in the market along with Panasonic/Tesla. MG uses CATL batteries which are not as good as LG chem.
sri_tesla is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 18th January 2020, 14:18   #47

MG Motor India has bagged 2,100 pre-orders for its upcoming electric SUV, the ZS EV in less than a month.

Link to the news :

https://www.google.co.in/amp/s/auto....ed-2165952/amp
Old 23rd January 2020, 03:02   #48

Originally Posted by TwoCents View Post
Have read this entire thread and have also ready Hector thread to a good extent. I'm really curious to know why so much of people are keen to trust MG products? Is this because of the British Heritage of the brand or because of more VFM offerings that people discount the Chinese home of the brand?

2,800 bookings for a product costing 20+ lacs are high.
I guess they've just made the right noises where the EV is concerned.

The Hector on fire popped up in my YouTube list all off a sudden today. Has raised a doubt in my mind. I am one of the approx 3000 guys who has paid the token for booking and awaiting price announcement in a few hours.

I've tweeted the videos to MG, hoping to get a response that might re-instate the faith I chose to have in them for no real reason.
amitmk is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2020, 09:12   #49

I am also one of 3000 who pre-booked but to be very frank, these videos of fire killed all my enthusiasm for today’s price launch. MG will really have to explain in detail on what caused this. Even if it was driver’s fault (half clutch or any external installation), car getting set on fire is simply unacceptable. it really means that safety is not given higher priority.

For Tata nexon EV, there were videos of it being driven in somewhat deep water. Do we have any such tests for MG ZS EV? Going to be a confusing decision now :(

Last edited by bornnerd : 23rd January 2020 at 09:29. Reason: Fixed small grammatical errors
bornnerd is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2020, 12:42   #50

MG ZS EV will come in 2 variants - Excite and Exclusive and there are 5 ways to charge the ZS EV
India-bound MG eZS electric SUV unveiled. Edit: Launched at 19.88 lakh-e1.jpg  

India-bound MG eZS electric SUV unveiled. Edit: Launched at 19.88 lakh-e2.jpg  

India-bound MG eZS electric SUV unveiled. Edit: Launched at 19.88 lakh-e3.jpg  

Last edited by RM Motorsports : 23rd January 2020 at 12:46.
RM Motorsports is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2020, 12:42   #51

MG Motor's Electric Internet SUV – the MG ZS EV launched at ₹ 19,88 lakhs with range topping at ₹ 22.58 lakhs (limited period)

AND now at ₹20.88 lakhs to 23.58 lakhs

Name:  11.PNG
Views: 8950
Size:  163.4 KB

India-bound MG eZS electric SUV unveiled. Edit: Launched at 19.88 lakh-eo8qb_vucaablyk.jpg

Last edited by volkman10 : 23rd January 2020 at 12:48.
volkman10 is offline   (16) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2020, 12:45   #52

Introductory Pricing
19.88 - Exite
22.58 - Exclusive

Bookings after Jan 17th
20.88 - Excite
23.58 - Exclusive
bornnerd is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2020, 13:46   #53

Seems to be in line with our expectations

They could have priced it better

Originally Posted by bornnerd View Post
Introductory Pricing
19.88 - Exite
22.58 - Exclusive

Bookings after Jan 17th
20.88 - Excite
23.58 - Exclusive
With all the recent news with the cars catching fire, I doubt if MG has done India specific testing to the standards we deserve

Tata seems better placed, are you going ahead with your purchase?

Last edited by Furebo : 23rd January 2020 at 13:50. Reason: Quote
Furebo is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2020, 13:57   #54

Originally Posted by Furebo View Post
Seems to be in line with our expectations

They could have priced it better

With all the recent news with the cars catching fire, I doubt if MG has done India specific testing to the standards we deserve

Tata seems better placed, are you going ahead with your purchase?
Yes, I was expecting slightly better prices (18-19 for base variant for early birds) but still its aggressive pricing.

I want to also read more about 50% back in 3 years. But need to figure out what premium we need to pay for that scheme? And since such a scheme exists, Are re-sale value going to be concern if we hold for more than 3 years?

But yes, my biggest worry right now is MG Hector Fire incidents and MG total silence on it apart from getting the news also deleted with money-influence maybe. I also sent 2 videos to MG manager in Malad, Mumbai. He has not responded back anything yet though he did send pricing information etc for MG ZS EV few minutes back.

So currently strongly evaluating between Tata Nexon EV and MG ZS EV.

What about you?
bornnerd is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2020, 14:40   #55

Originally Posted by volkman10 View Post
MG Motor's Electric Internet SUV – the MG ZS EV launched at ₹ 19,88 lakhs with range topping at ₹ 22.58 lakhs (limited period)

Attachment 1960008
Wow, I knew it was fast, but I didn't know it was the *Fastest car in the world*?
I know the Bugatti Chiron does the quarter mile (400m) in 9.1 seconds, and here the eZS smokes it by doing 100KM from a standing start in 8.5 seconds.

MG Motors, take a bow.

Jokes apart, good pricing for what's a globally recognized product. Would love to see the competition heat up more in the Indian EV space with well priced and well engineered products like these.
India-bound MG eZS electric SUV unveiled. Edit: Launched at 19.88 lakh-eo8qb_vucaablyk.jpg  

d3mon is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2020, 15:04   #56

Re: India-bound MG eZS electric SUV unveiled. Edit: Launched at 19.88 lakh

Anyone knows what the final on road price will be incl GST, insurance, misc charges?

In the meanwhile there is no response from MG on Twitter as yet, had shared the video of the car catching fire. Should we collectively start tagging each other to force them to respond ?
Old 23rd January 2020, 16:07   #57

Originally Posted by bornnerd View Post
Yes, I was expecting slightly better prices (18-19 for base variant for early birds) but still its aggressive pricing.

I want to also read more about 50% back in 3 years. But need to figure out what premium we need to pay for that scheme? And since such a scheme exists, Are re-sale value going to be concern if we hold for more than 3 years?

But yes, my biggest worry right now is MG Hector Fire incidents and MG total silence on it apart from getting the news also deleted with money-influence maybe. I also sent 2 videos to MG manager in Malad, Mumbai. He has not responded back anything yet though he did send pricing information etc for MG ZS EV few minutes back.

So currently strongly evaluating between Tata Nexon EV and MG ZS EV.

What about you?
Waiting on the sidelines

Definitely not going for the MG

Zappex has booked the Nexon EV

Will wait for his car to arrive before taking a plunge
Furebo is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2020, 16:38   #58

Didn't really understand the logic of MG in pricing the Exclusive variant 2.7L more than the Excite. There are hardly any features in Exclusive that command such a hefty premium, the most notable ones are the panoramic sunroof and the connected car features.
India-bound MG eZS electric SUV unveiled. Edit: Launched at 19.88 lakh-capture1.png  

speedmiester is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2020, 16:39   #59

I guess the pricing is spot-on and quite clever on MG's part. With this pricing they will draw potential customers for both Kona (folks who want to save some money but still get a comparable EV) and Nexon EV (folks who won't mind spending a few lac more for longer range and more features).
cool_dube is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2020, 16:52   #60

So the difference between ZS ev and Kona ev is mere thousands? Interesting. From the looks of it, ZS seems to be a superior product overall, while Kona has the range advantage.