Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 19th December 2019, 20:51   #166

re: Tata builds a Nexon EV. EDIT: Launched at ₹13.99 lakhs

Ah!!! Lovely. After the weird looking Hyundai Aura, this looks so mature. I always liked the Nexon's looks, and this just got better. Looks more premium inside out

Source: ZigWheels

Will the petrol/diesel facelift carry the same design? That would be great. Only grouse I have is with that Squarish Altroz-like speedo, but that's just me nitpicking. Overall looks excellent inside out.

Last edited by SoumenD : 19th December 2019 at 21:03.
SoumenD is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 19th December 2019, 20:58   #167

This car if priced at said 15 lacs OTR will make complete economic sense for daily office commutes and soccer mom trips. Only thing Tata should focus this time is a glitch free first batch of Nexon EV especially after the Harrier fiasco.

Can somebody here throw some light on how an EV battery functions with age. Tata says 8 years warranty. What will happen after the 8th year? Considering Li battery is expensive (very expensive) to replace will an EV attain a junk value after that 8th year?
hydraulicsteer is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th December 2019, 23:13   #168

Considering Li battery is expensive (very expensive) to replace will an EV attain a junk value after that 8th year
In 2010, battery cost per kwh was 1000$, now it is 158$. So one can hope that the downward trajectory continues and in eight years it would be not considered "very expensive" or expensive. You don't need to scrap the battery pack, it is still good to use for offline storage and other applications even though it might not be optimal for cars. MG has already tied with a vendor for recycling the batteries.
DarthVeda is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 19th December 2019, 23:31   #169

That looks really awesome. Front looks way better than the current version. 14.99 Lakhs is what I expect and it is a good option if the real world range is close to the quoted figure (or atleast 80%).
Latheesh is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th December 2019, 23:44   #170

Mod Note : Please do NOT post messages that add little or no informational value to the thread. We need your co-operation to maintain the quality of this forum. We advise you to read the Forum Rules before proceeding any further. Request to post ONLY when you have something substantial to add to a discussion.

Last edited by GTO : 20th December 2019 at 17:25.
Flash777 is offline   (1) Thanks Received Infraction
Old 20th December 2019, 00:06   #171

Benefits if registered for commercial purpose are to a tune of whopping Rs 3,00,000 + road tax & registration charges exemption!

Though Fame subsidy for private registrations is not mentioned, individuals can get IT exemption on amounts upto 1,50,000 under section 80EEB.

Other benefits include state specific subsidies, and road tax & registration charge exemptions, which change from state to state.
Tata builds a Nexon EV. EDIT: Launched at ₹13.99 lakhs-screenshot_20191219233942816_com.android.chrome.jpg  

Tata builds a Nexon EV. EDIT: Launched at ₹13.99 lakhs-screenshot_20191219234046107_com.android.chrome.jpg  

Tata builds a Nexon EV. EDIT: Launched at ₹13.99 lakhs-screenshot_20191219234104042_com.android.chrome.jpg  

wheelguy is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 20th December 2019, 01:01   #172

Originally Posted by Reinhard View Post
Did anyone mention about the lighting? The fog lights were surely halogens when the car came out. What about the 2 main barrels in headlamps? Still the same boring H7 halogens? On an EV it would be a perfect opportunity to shift to good LED lighting out of box. Would help the battery too!
Well if they had given perfect lights in the nexon, then what would you have done "mr. nexon lights specialist"? They have left it for you to do the job
yesyeswe is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th December 2019, 01:53   #173

Originally Posted by TwoCents View Post

During the presentation there was a passing mention of 20-30% premium for EV over the standard cars. So I did some digging around. This is how pricing should work.

Ex-showroom price minus 1,00,000 FAME subsidy and addition of Insurance and handling and other minor charges. No Road Tax and no Registration Charges in Maharashtra.
The expected price is already there in the website, also no FAME subsidies for individual buyers. You only get state subsidies. Maharashtra offers a subsidy of 1 lakh and waives off the Road Tax. Other states should start following this, literally no benefits in many states. Also, this car is not available for commercial purposes.
Tata builds a Nexon EV. EDIT: Launched at ₹13.99 lakhs-02d0189ac3c548aeb3d7972610ec0f43.png  

Last edited by Aditya_Bhp : 20th December 2019 at 01:55.
Aditya_Bhp is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th December 2019, 05:00   #174

I’m sold for the design and as well as the way interior quality looks that exerts more premium feel. Final verdict is awaited from our very own mods. Good luck, Tata! Hope you don’t make any mistakes like you made with the Harrier. You’ve taken your time on this product, no doubt. Hope for the best.

This time for a change, let the EV make some positive noise for the car and not the usual self boasting like any car manufacturer does with their launches.

Last edited by gururajrv : 20th December 2019 at 05:02.
Old 20th December 2019, 08:20   #175

Originally Posted by pseudo_coder View Post
I blame NCAP here. They provide separate rating for driver and child occupants. So manufacturers get 5 star for the driver and claim the car to be 5 star rated, which is misleading. Nexon scores only 3 star for the rear passengers.
Can you please point out your source for "3 star for the rear passengers" claim?

As per GNCAP [1], 3 star score is for "Child Occupant Protection" (isofix mounted child seat for 3 year old) which is not same as "rear passengers". In a frontal crash, rear passengers belted in their seats would have lesser impact on them than the front passengers in any car due to the crumpling.

[1] http://www.globalncap.org/wp-content...Tata-Nexon.pdf
gmhossain is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 20th December 2019, 09:28   #176

Tata to find synergies within the group companies.

Nexon EV's battery pack already localized, group company TACO to assemble motors, another group company Tata Chemicals to manufacture EV battery cells.

wheelguy is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 20th December 2019, 09:44   #177

I can't believe Nexon now looks even better than many international models from top manufacturers. Just looks will sell Nexon EV now.

Suddenly it looks like it can be a segment competitor to Creta. If they price it in the same band as Creta top end, this will confuse a lot of people. It has got more power than Creta sisters, more ground clearance (almost 20 mm more), almost as spacious, great broken road behavior, can outrun any car below 25 lakhs in a traffic signal race,5 stars certified and you get the bragging rights of an EV. Heck it makes me think whether I really need the extra seats in my Hexa.

Last edited by padmrajravi : 20th December 2019 at 09:51.
padmrajravi is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 20th December 2019, 10:13   #178

Originally Posted by gmhossain View Post
Can you please point out your source for "3 star for the rear passengers" claim?
I meant child occupant sitting in the rear. The rating itself I had read in an article. Is ot more than 3 stars?
Old 20th December 2019, 10:19   #179

Originally Posted by padmrajravi View Post
5 stars certified
No it is not 5 star certified yet, even they didn't mention that, they said that it was built on 5 star rated Nexon's platform, they are just leveraging the credentials of the regular Nexon on which this EV was built.

Nexon's platform was not built with electrification in mind, so to shoehorn the battery, motor, and the power electronics, it must undergo lots of changes which might change the safety aspects as well, so calling it a safe car because it was built on 5 star rated car is wrong. It might or might not be a 5 star rated safe car depending the changes they made to ensure safe build which can only be known after proper crash testing from GNCAP and the likes.

Last edited by wheelguy : 20th December 2019 at 10:27.
wheelguy is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 20th December 2019, 10:38   #180

Pardon my ignorance. What are the chances of an EV catching fire while charging or during running? Any views on these?