Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 28th January 2020, 13:16   #406

re: Tata builds a Nexon EV. EDIT: Launched at ₹13.99 lakhs

Extremely Aggressive pricing and not vast difference between XM and XZ Lux+. Leasing option sounds even better and can help with EV adoption in the country.

But no special discount for pre-bookings?
bornnerd is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 28th January 2020, 13:23   #407

At such an aggressive price point, Tata may actually have a winner on their hands.

They can certainly take over the taxi market on the Mumbai-Pune sector .
It is almost Rs.1000 cheaper for every return trip than a equivalent diesel car.

If Gadkari keeps his promise and actually gives 50% concession to EVs on tolls, that becomes 1250 per trip.
May be "wishful thinking", but if it does happen, atleast it will make it attractive for DISCOMs to put up fast chargers
mohanphadnis is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 28th January 2020, 13:24   #408

MG made huge publicity about pricing but ended up damp after the reveal.

Tata was guiding for the last 1-2 months about starting price of Rs 15 lakhs officially, now announced stunning price for their first proper EV. Such a relief after Ather 450X absurd pricing. Nexon EV is probably the first EV that is actually delivering cheaper EV after govt made huge GST reduction.
sri_tesla is online now   (23) Thanks
Old 28th January 2020, 13:28   #409

Originally Posted by sri_tesla View Post
MG made huge publicity about pricing but ended up damp after the reveal.

Tata was guiding for the last 1-2 months about starting price of Rs 15 lakhs officially, now announced stunning price for their first proper EV. Such a relief after Ather 450X absurd pricing. Nexon EV is probably the first EV that is actually delivering cheaper EV after govt made huge GST reduction.
Well said !

Looking forward to their subscription pricing.
AnniHilat0R is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 28th January 2020, 13:34   #410

Fantastic pricing for a feature loaded car, now if this doesn't give them good number of customers I don't know what will. Unfortunately MG ZS and Hyundai Kona seem to have lost the battle already.

Although I'm not in a hunt for another car now, I'm going to test drive this one for sure. Wishing Tata all the luck on their first ziptron EV.
SpideyBoy is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 28th January 2020, 13:36   #411

Wow. I feel Tata has again hit the ball out of park after the 5 star rating of Altroz and 4 stars for Tiago/Tigor.

Need to go through the subscription packages once it's released in public domain.

Has the feature list across variants been released ?
BoneCollector is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 28th January 2020, 13:38   #412

Evo has a EV price breakup for all 3 Ev's launched recently with good range. Nexon EV looks very promising.

Tata builds a Nexon EV. EDIT: Launched at ₹13.99 lakhs-epwn8rnu0aakeb6.jpg

Last edited by amrutmhatre90 : 28th January 2020 at 13:40.
amrutmhatre90 is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 28th January 2020, 13:42   #413

Originally Posted by BoneCollector View Post
Has the feature list across variants been released ?
This is missing details, but gives us a fair idea of the big differences.

Tata builds a Nexon EV. EDIT: Launched at ₹13.99 lakhs-screen-shot-20200128-2.11.14-am.png
Amartya is offline   (17) Thanks
Old 28th January 2020, 13:46   #414

For all you know; even if you give it free, there won't be much takers with charging infrastructure in it's infancy, it may not cut it with the crowd. What's the point in having a car which can't be 'filled/charged' with ease? Thank you, but no thank you for now. Low starting price is a 'discount' Tata is giving for all the 'niggles' for the early adopters?? Considering that money can get you a Honda City!!

Last edited by Durango Dude : 28th January 2020 at 13:50.
Durango Dude is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 28th January 2020, 13:54   #415

Originally Posted by Durango Dude View Post
For all you know; even if you give it free, there won't be much takers with charging infrastructure in it's infancy, it may not cut it with the crowd. What's the point in having a car which can't be 'filled/charged' with ease? Thank you, but no thank you for now. Low starting price is a 'discount' Tata is giving for all the 'niggles' for the early adopters?? Considering that money can get you a Honda City!!
You can charge your car while sleeping. What all "ease" one wants? Am definitely excited about EV and don't see any reason why one should not switch.

(Disclaimer: Its my second car meant for city driving so maybe am not thinking much about range anxiety etc though I feel its not going to be an issue anyways in 6 months)
bornnerd is offline   (30) Thanks
Old 28th January 2020, 13:54   #416

For all you know; even if you give it free, there won't be much takers with charging infrastructure in it's infancy, it may not cut it with the crowd. What's the point in having a car which can't be 'filled/charged' with ease? Thank you, but no thank you for now.
I must disagree with you on this. Those days are rapidly changing. Most of the city commuters are point to point travellers and with a charging station set up at household parking lot and with a fast charger, it should do the job quite alright. This car can be a perfect second car to many people. I'm expecting it to return anticipated numbers for Tata motors in reality. I believe even they aren't expecting wonders with their first proper EV.
SpideyBoy is offline   (27) Thanks
Old 28th January 2020, 13:57   #417

Its not been tested yet and Tata is venturing to new territory. So lets not decide on niggles yet. At 1-2Lac premium over Diesel, Nexon EV is sheer value given it offers future tech. We can talk about niggles later when we have real life stats, but now lets give the credit where its due.
PrideRed is offline   (30) Thanks
Old 28th January 2020, 14:12   #418

Excellent pricing considering the fact that its competitions are on 7 and 10lack higher side. Icing on the cake is availability of subscription/leasing options. Try the car for sometime. If the car ticks most of your needs and you don't have complaint about, then own it. No need for worry about niggles or being a genie pig. Waiting for more details on it.

All the CEO's of Tata group associated with EV was present at the event. Shows how important the launch is for Tata. Really appreciating their efforts. Wishing them all the success.
K_Drive is offline   (20) Thanks
Old 28th January 2020, 14:14   #419

The writing is on the wall! Electric Vehicles are here and ready to replace your fossil fuel-driven vehicles.

As far as charging infra goes, it is a case of chicken and egg. Once we start adding EV's demand will go up and so will the charging stations. Anything in the range of 300 KM's is very good to start with. The only concern is that the range should not drastically reduce as the battery ages

It's also a great strategy to launch an already established car that we see every day in the EV avatar than a brand new vehicle. This gives more confidence to the customers buying.
Mr.Beat is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 28th January 2020, 14:14   #420

Re: Scoop! Tata builds a Nexon EV

Originally Posted by SpideyBoy View Post
Fantastic pricing for a feature loaded car, now if this doesn't give them good number of customers I don't know what will. Unfortunately MG ZS and Hyundai Kona seem to have lost the battle already.

Although I'm not in a hunt for another car now, I'm going to test drive this one for sure. Wishing Tata all the luck on their first ziptron EV.
Hyundai yes, MG debatable. The Kona is the same or a bit bigger in size than the Nexon but the MG ZS is a size larger than both of these! The MG ZS is also loaded with a Panoramic sunroof, is more powerful and has more range.
CarManMotorcycl is offline   (3) Thanks