Old 30th January 2020, 11:27   #556

Re: Tata builds a Nexon EV. EDIT: Launched at ₹13.99 lakhs

Originally Posted by Kishen.padiyar View Post

Is it only me or is there anyone else who feels the same?
My thoughts resonate with yours. All the points were bang on and yet so subtle
Storm2.0 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 30th January 2020, 11:40   #557

So much true, and it’s the overall negativity about the Indian brands. Many are just looking for excuses to bash them. And most critical comments come from folks who have hardly used the product, and that’s irony!
If foreign brands charge more, acceptable. If Tata/Mahindra charge equivalent for more features, how dare they! Indian manufacturers have to be cheap!
asethi is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 30th January 2020, 11:48   #558

Scene 1: A new Korean car maker enters the Indian market. Asks 21 big ones for a 4.3m 'SUV'.
We the public: Yayy! let's go and plonk our money on it right away!
Friend with some automotive knowledge: Are you sure you want to buy it? You have not even seen it or driven it!
We the public: Bhai, imported hai. Kuch nahi hoga!
Dealership: Sir, please have this fine branded coffee and take a seat. By the way it will take 3-4 months for the car to arrive.
We the public: No problem at all. I am spending 22 big ones, I don't mind losing interest on the booking amount I pay. I'll continue using my tin can until then.

There is definitely some truth to this, and moreover it got me chuckling !

I’m one of the fools from scene 1

To be fair, when I decided to buy the Kona, I got an extended test drive the next day. Made my booking the next day and took delivery the next week ! It’s been close to 2 months and I love it more with each drive !

I look forward to test driving through nexon ! Perhaps it will be as good or even better then the kona, perhaps it won’t. Only one way to find out.
reihem is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 30th January 2020, 12:06   #559

I made a mistake of buying TUV 300 AMT after 2 years of its launch, I assumed all issues are ironed out by now. I am wrong and Mahindra proved me wrong. My vehicle visited MASS almost 7-9 times (regular service trips not included) in past 2 years. Actuator changed, Fly wheel kit changed, Clutch kit changed, AMT software flashed numerous amount of times. Time spent in MASS almost 1 month. I was stranded in heavy peak time traffic, I was stranded on National Highway with my family.

You cannot blame Indians for being skeptical about Indian products. Tata has no history of excellence in its products. I am not going to buy a Tata EV just because they tried something new.

I have experienced enough nightmares with M&M, so, no thanks. You can ridicule as much as you want on Korean products and Chinese (UK) products, but people will still buy it, not just for roasted coffee at their customer waiting lounge, but for piece of mind.
ramnaresh_2000 is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 30th January 2020, 12:13   #560

Really well written. Couldn't have said it any better

I faced the same jibes when I bought my Nexon, had to go through a lot of trouble with family and friends to explain why I am buying a "Tata"

But I am extremely happy with my vehicle and feel Tata might have a winner in their hands with the EV
Kireet is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 30th January 2020, 12:26   #561

Re: Tata Nexon EV launched at 13.99L

We don't know about Tata and MG at all.

Even though Tata is saying 8years and 1.6 lakh kms warranty on battery and motor what is important is the battery % degradation in the warranty terms and conditions.
I doubt any maker in India will provide battery degradation factor in warranty clause. I'd be happy if TATA or any maker proves me wrong in Indian context.

One of the TATA EV specialist from Mumbai says that weak battery cells shall be replaced within warranty period. I'm sure you can help the forum in verification of this info directly from TATA Motors.

BTW, I'd have thought that you'd have heaped praise on TATA for doing so much more at such a fast pace. I'm no TATA fanboy but credit must be given to them for offering Nexon EV at such a tempting price and with more charging station commitment.

Originally Posted by Durango Dude View Post
I'll never trust Tata with their first public offering EV for sure.
Strongly Disagree Sir.

With the kind of reputation TATA has gained in the past few years with their products and value proposition that their products offer, I'd rather go with a TATA EV.

TATA has a readymade set up available inside their group companies and most importantly, sufficient funds to even back their research and innovation. Fact is, with their India specific experience, no one except TATA/Mahindra can design or launch an EV product so quickly.

I was thinking if I should wait for other brands to join the EV space, and then realised that Maruti/Toyota are over-reliant on hybrids & EV hopes are quite dim from these two for the next decade. Hyundai/Kia/Germans/Americans can launch the product from their global portfolio, but they will remain out of reach for the most due to premium price point. Honda is just too lazy. And other manufacturers don't have any brand recall to sell in India.

The only thing I'd really want from TATA is better Sales Outlets befitting their new product line up and quick support for early EV adopters.
viren83 is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 30th January 2020, 12:55   #562

Scene 3: An Indian manufacturer with great ethics makes a conscious effort to come back into the Indian market. Launches quite a few models.
Dealership: Sir we also have EVs that offer a good range backed by good warranty.
We the public: EV? In India? Where is the infrastructure? First build infrastructure and then talk to me! My iPhone's battery health after 2 years has dropped to 85%, I can only imagine how a car's battery will age.
This made me laugh! I completely agree with you. I had a look at the new brand new Altroz and I was in awe of the design, the quality and most importantly the VFM quotient. I had a discussion in the family the other day and I was telling them that we should ditch the reliable jap we have in the family (honda city) and pick up the new Nexon EV. Truly believe that we should give credit where it is due and TATA needs some real good push and pat on the back for thinking innovatively, bringing in an EV at that price range backed by real good safety standards.

Last edited by Sheel : 30th January 2020 at 13:14. Reason: Please quote ONLY the relevant bits of a post. Quoting a full, long post inconveniences our mobile readers. Thanks!
akunchala is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 30th January 2020, 13:14   #563

Can't agree more. My grandfather is a perfect example of such mindset, for him anything foreign is superior and anything Indian is inferior. He uses imported Nivea cream and refuses to use the one available in our domestic market. Another example, he believes that MG Hector is a true British car, no amount of explanation that it is a rebadged Baojun 530 helps him realize that it is not British, he simply refuses to believe that.

Last edited by Chetan_Rao : 30th January 2020 at 23:34. Reason: Trimmed quote.
wheelguy is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 30th January 2020, 14:26   #564

OMG, I nearly fell off my chair laughing. This couldn't have been said any better. You do paint a picture with words. Keep 'em coming.

Last edited by Chetan_Rao : 30th January 2020 at 23:33. Reason: Trimmed quote.
pgsagar is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 30th January 2020, 15:25   #565

Re: Tata Nexon EV launched at 13.99L

Originally Posted by viren83 View Post
BTW, I'd have thought that you'd have heaped praise on TATA for doing so much more at such a fast pace. I'm no TATA fanboy but credit must be given to them for offering Nexon EV at such a tempting price and with more charging station commitment.
I am impressed and all praise for Tata to come out with a proper EV as one of the first Indian brands but at the same time, there is a feeling that detailed specs are a little missing and knowing their history and reputation in ICE cars in terms of reliability and niggles, there is some apprehension in my mind.

Especially true if I were a buyer. Infact had I not plunged in and got a premium SUV and stuck to my diesel Ford, I would have closely looked at the NExon EV as my daily office commuter.

Sadly, I don't have more parking and my apartment has a much lower rated KW from the board and is only single phase. I am not sure EV will work out with the additional loading to the connection.
Vid6639 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th January 2020, 15:32   #566

OT
Tata is equally responsible for all the hatred. We all know whatever cars they launched from Zest-Bolt range onward are equally good or better comparing to the competition.

Zest-Bolt
Tiago-Tigor
Hexa
Nexon
Harrier
Altroz-Nexon EV
Gravitas (upcoming)

Problem with Tata was, they launched Zest-Bolt range few years late. They continued to extend the life cycle of old workhorses (Indica, Indigo CS, Manza, Sumo, Safari etc. with minor face lifts) with low quality parts, poor fit, and finish for many years. Complete shift from truck manufacturer mentality to passenger car manufacturer mentality took few years and they are paying the price now.

Last edited by Latheesh : 30th January 2020 at 15:37.
Latheesh is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 30th January 2020, 15:47   #567

Originally Posted by SpideyBoy View Post
This car can be a perfect second car to many people.
While I thoroughly appreciate Tata's efforts in offering this product to the market, I am not quite sure if this can become a perfect second car at 13-15 lakhs. As I have generally observed the second car is usually a hatchback(i10, Celerio, WagonR, Santro etc) which one can buy between 6 to 8 lakhs. Since the second car does less mileage over given period of time, I think the economics of investing 13-15 lakhs against 6-8 lakhs may not be justified. I am assuming the Nexon EV may become the main car to many people who commute routinely from point A to point B and vice versa. This is just my view. But kudos to Tata for doing a great job. They deserve all the credit.

Last edited by Pkumarblore : 30th January 2020 at 15:52. Reason: Added another thought
Pkumarblore is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 30th January 2020, 15:56   #568

For last three days KHT Motors, domlur has been giving me time for a test drive, but each time not being able to get a car, neither informing me of their inability to keep their promise.

Very poor pre-sale experience so far. Wonder why they are not able to schedule and keep a queue. I have a booking that is nearly a month old. I am in two minds between Kona and Nexon (though Kona is 50% more expensive).

I really felt Tatas may have improved their customer experience quotient, so far not very pleased.
hkollar is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 30th January 2020, 15:57   #569

Originally Posted by Pkumarblore View Post
I am not quite sure if this can become a perfect second car at 13-15 lakhs. As I have generally observed the second car is usually a hatchback(i10, Celerio, WagonR, Santro etc) which one can buy between 6 to 8 lakhs. Since the second car does less mileage over given period of time, I think the economics of investing 13-15 lakhs against 6-8 lakhs may not be justified.
True, those were the days before, but I have seen many of my colleagues in my circle who bought venue as their second car which is around 14 lakhs. Also the reason why I mentioned it can be a second car is since this transition from ICE to EV has started now, no matter how good the car is everyone of us has too many apprehensions to make an EV as their primary car. Times are changing my friend, rapidly than what we imagined
Old 30th January 2020, 16:01   #570

An interesting take on everyday ownership of an EV.
Turrrb0 is offline   (5) Thanks