Old 20th February 2020, 11:42   #751

Re: Tata builds a Nexon EV. EDIT: Launched at ₹13.99 lakhs

Originally Posted by speedmiester View Post
Subscription pricing for Nexon EV will be revealed post 15th March. TATA motors have not yet received necessary approvals for the subscription model. Expect a delay in this regard.
thought it was Feb 5th and had checked everyday for a week after that. I wanted to know what's the difference between this and company lease policy.

By the way, when is your car delivery expected?
Old 20th February 2020, 11:51   #752

Originally Posted by DarthVeda View Post
thought it was Feb 5th and had checked everyday for a week after that. I wanted to know what's the difference between this and company lease policy.
Not sure, this is the info I got from the sales manager.

By the way, when is your car delivery expected?
Pretty soon. I have asked for the dealer to evaluate my EcoSport for exchange. If the pricing is good, then I will go ahead with my delivery soon, else it might get delayed.

Off Topic: I took a proper test drive of Hyundai Kona yesterday along the same route as the one I took for Nexon. Kona is miles ahead of Nexon in terms of power delivery and consumption. For the same distance of 23Kms, Nexon range dropped by 28Kms, while in Kona, it reduced by 15Kms.
Kona also offers a lot more features and most importantly six airbags, but it is almost 9L more than the Nexon XZ+. Kona will consistently deliver over 350Kms, but Nexon will vary between 220-270Kms depending on the driving style. Not an apple to apple comparison.

One area where Nexon is much better is the ride quality. Kona has low GC and the ride is hard.

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 22nd February 2020 at 15:17. Reason: Fixed broken quotes.
speedmiester is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 20th February 2020, 12:03   #753

Pretty soon. I have asked for the dealer to evaluate my EcoSport for exchange. If the pricing is good, then I will go ahead with my delivery soon, else it might get delayed.
I am yet to see a nexon EV on the road, not sure if it has started or not. Mine is another month from now.

Off Topic: I took a proper test drive of Hyundai Kona yesterday along the same route as the one I took for Nexon. Kona is miles ahead of Nexon in terms of power delivery and consumption. For the same distance of 23Kms, Nexon range dropped by 28Kms, while in Kona, it reduced by 15Kms.
Kona also offers a lot more features and most importantly six airbags, but it is almost 9L more than the Nexon XZ+. Kona will consistently deliver over 350Kms, but Nexon will vary between 220-270Kms depending on the driving style. Not an apple to apple comparison.
One area where Nexon is much better is the ride quality. Kona has low GC and the ride is hard.
Kona/e-niro have the best efficiency in EV. Even with a 39kwh pack, it beats ZS which has 44kwh pack in terms of Range, a kona owner recently completed Bengaluru - Coimbatore stretch on single charge with no top ups on the way. That range is not attainable by ZS let alone nexon.
However, Kona is expensive by a good margine over Nexon and for me the back seat is not a comfortable place to be in that car, at least for adults. The under thigh support is underwhelming in that and will lead to cramps for adults in long drives. However, the front seats are something else in terms of power, drive, and creature comfort.
DarthVeda is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 20th February 2020, 15:10   #754

Originally Posted by speedmiester View Post
For the same distance of 23Kms, Nexon range dropped by 28Kms, while in Kona, it reduced by 15Kms.
MID readings wont give the accurate picture. No doubt that Kona is the better one, but the best way to compare the range/charge for EVs under similar conditions is to fully charge them and drive them in parallel until the battery exhausts or until the car refuses to move forward, not just the same route but also at the same time & traffic conditions.
wheelguy is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 20th February 2020, 19:20   #755

Tata Motors partners with Godrej L’Affaire to demonstrate Tata Nexon EV-Link
New Delhi: Tata Motors has on Thursday partnered with Godrej L’Affaire, a lifestyle experiential platform by the Godrej Group, to demonstrate the workings of its recently launched Tata Nexon EV.

For this initiative, the company will set-up an experience zone at the Godrej L'Affaire to deliver an immersive experience of the future of mobility.
Shailesh Chandra, President - Electric Mobility Business & Corporate Strategy, Tata Motors said, "The focus of our marketing strategy is to participate in events that includes test-driving experiences, which brings word-of-mouth and referrals for the brand. Godrej L’Affaire is one such platform for us to augment the ultimate electric experience for those who appreciate finer things in life.”

“To further boost the experience, we have installed Tata Nexon EV virtual demo setup at select Tata Croma stores in Mumbai, Delhi and Bengaluru. We are eager for our guests to experience the various elements of driving a Tata Motors electric vehicle and behold the amazing,” he added.
wheelguy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th February 2020, 21:41   #756

What is the discount for TCS employees for the Nexon EV?

I checked the website but no details are found.
Old 21st February 2020, 00:36   #757

Hello All,

My booking is almost a month old and now I got email from Tata some time back as below:

"We are pleased to inform you that we are initiating the shipment of Nexon EV from our manufacturing facilities in Pune. The first batch of customer deliveries are expected to commence from 1st Mar 2020 for our XM and XZ+ customers based out of following city clusters – Ahmedabad, Bengaluru, Chandigarh, Chennai, Coimbatore, Delhi & NCR, Hyderabad, Jaipur, Kanpur, Kochi, Kolkata, Kottayam, Lucknow, Ludhiana, Mumbai, Nagpur, Pune & Surat cities. Shortly, we shall be in Kannur, Kozhikode & Thiruvananthapuram. Deliveries for XZ+ LUX variant will be initiated from 20th Mar 2020.

Representatives from our charging partner (Tata Power) have already initiated reach out to our customers for scheduling of site audits for home charger installation. We would urge you to kindly have your site audit scheduled and charger installed as it is a key prerequisite for delivery of your Nexon EV.

Our Tata Motors Product Specialists & dealer representatives will also be in touch with you to initiate and complete the financing formalities for purchase of Nexon EV. Request you to kindly complete all the formalities, including submission of any documents as required.

Completion of above actions would enable us to expedite your deliveries and continue to give you a pleasant experience during your journey with Tata Motors."

That should give you an idea of the delivery timeline for the Nexon EV. Has anyone been contacted by people from Tata power so far?
shashankw839 is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 22nd February 2020, 16:24   #758

I just got a call from Tata Motors sales person in Bangalore saying that from next month Road tax will be applicable and price will go up by 40k. Not sure if this is a sales tactic or true. Anyone else heard about this?
Old 22nd February 2020, 17:44   #759

Originally Posted by yaleen View Post
I just got a call from Tata Motors sales person in Bangalore saying that from next month Road tax will be applicable and price will go up by 40k. Not sure if this is a sales tactic or true. Anyone else heard about this?
They are not starting any deliveries this month as it is. So I am not sure what he means by price going up if nothing is delivered this month.
Old 23rd February 2020, 07:43   #760

Originally Posted by yaleen View Post
Road tax is waived off, nothing to this effect of changing was announced recently, in fact, the state budget is yet to happen. So the sales person is just blabbering nonsense.
DarthVeda is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 24th February 2020, 15:55   #761

Road tax is waived off, nothing to this effect of changing was announced recently, in fact, the state budget is yet to happen. So the sales person is just blabbering nonsense.
I had assumed as much that it's a sales tactic to pressure into booking as I was showing interest.
Old 24th February 2020, 19:32   #762

I got a do a test drive of the Nexon EV. First things first, it's very silent. Put it in the D mode and cars pulls out without any noise! Only noise was from the AC. Car pulls very cleanly in the D mode and the pickup is very good in D mode. Things go crazy when you switch to S mode! It's ridiculously fast.

One needs to be careful when in this mode. I believe most won't need to bother S mode. Loved the drive, liked the road manners. Outright purchase is expensive I feel, would like to wait and see how the subscription plan is going to be.
Tata builds a Nexon EV. EDIT: Launched at ₹13.99 lakhs-20200224_165628.jpg  

Tata builds a Nexon EV. EDIT: Launched at ₹13.99 lakhs-20200224_163809.jpg  

punto_ is offline   (31) Thanks
Old 25th February 2020, 08:38   #763

Originally Posted by chandu1382 View Post
What is the discount for TCS employees for the Nexon EV?

I checked the website but no details are found.
Wait till they have excess inventory than initial demand. Car companies hope to skim the market first, before offering the products at some discount to others.

I guess 6 months should do it.
hkollar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th February 2020, 01:07   #764

Tata Motors is coming up with the Nexon EV driving experience called "The Grand Electric Tour". So all of you who have been waiting to try your hands-on this pocket rocket please register your interest at https://ev.tatamotors.com/enquiry/.

They have launched a small introductory video for the same with Milind Soman and Ankita Konwar with the initial tour dates for five cities.

Name:  tourdates.png
Views: 5633
Size:  145.9 KB

Debrup

Source: https://twitter.com/TatamotorsEV/sta...96724678365186
rupdeb is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 26th February 2020, 13:57   #765

I read a news article stating that no road tax is applicable to EVs in Delhi but called the dealer and he said that road tax is indeed applicable.
Does anyone have any clarity if EVs in Delhi are subject to road tax or if they are registered for free?

Last edited by aviral2122 : 26th February 2020 at 13:59.