Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 25th August 2021, 10:53   #541

Re: Review: The Tata Nexon EV

Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
Budget is not really a constraints and can be increased above 15L but I care too much about value to forgo the full subsidy
Exactly my thoughts. I "NEED" a sunroof but I ain't paying 3.5 Lacs differential to have it. Hence almost on the verge to cancel my booking unless the Govt of Maharashtra does something.

So is nexon and upcoming Tigor my only upcoming option? I am not in a rush but if the deadline is going to be strict at Dec 31st then I will need to take the plunge before.
You can buy the Mahindra E20 or the Verito too . BTW I understand there is now a 3 month wait on the mid variant which also qualifies for the subsidy
Old 25th August 2021, 16:05   #542

Originally Posted by zandot View Post
No you can't simply rely on fast or community chargers as of yet. Tata or India in general is not quite on the level of Tesla's super charger network as seen overseas where people in apartments rely solely on external chargers. For the batteries health with the vehicles currently availble in India it is recommended you do a slow charge after every 3-4 fast charges.
Unfortunately it is not recommended to always Supercharge your Tesla as it degrades the battery quickly. Slow charging is recommended for Tesla's as well and use Supercharging only in case of road trips or emergency. Plus supercharging is way more expensive than home charging.

In US and Canada you will rarely find an apartment building these days that doesn't have designated EV parking spots or chargers, if you own the apartment you can install your charger in designated parking spot that you have bought or if you are renting then building management provides a charger that is accessible to you or to the visitors.
officer416 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th August 2021, 16:45   #543

Did a range test by visiting a popular tourist destination in my state. The car performed really well. So I did two runs on different days one with A/c turned on and the other without the AC. Being a hilly area with steep inclines I managed 1% for every 1 km. AC or Non AC doesn't make much of a difference. Tried ECON mode several times but it starts fogging up the windscreen and side windows, so didn't find it of much use.

What I love the most over my Tesla Model 3 is that Nexon is much more silent when it comes to road and wind noise. Also I couldn't hear any rattles in the car unlike my old safari and Model 3. The ride is smooth whereas Model 3 is pretty harsh. The sound system in Model 3 is definitely better but the Nexon didn't disappoint that much.
What I miss the most is the cruise control or the regular autopilot from Model 3, even a regular cruise control will be a great addition. The annoying thing in Nexon is that initial second lag that it has, I think it is in place for bumper to bumper traffic condition, but that is not something you see in Model 3.

Few things they need to add is different Regen levels, as when I was coming downhill the car slowed down way too much and pretty much came to a halt if the decline is not too steep.

Cruise Control is a must.

The Hill assist is annoying, I would have preferred a hill hold feature. There were couple of times where cars in front of me came to a standstill and I had to stop on the incline. Now cars behind don't leave you much room, so you have to do the old way of pulling the handbrake and then accelerating. Because the hill assist lets your car roll back little and the it accelerates ahead. But by that time you have already banged into the bumper of car behind. So I don't trust it much.

This car won't be that successful during the winter time in areas where it snows a lot and temperature drops too much. My Model 3 loses 40% of its range during winter time, the regen is disabled while the battery is cold and even though it got the heat pump, still it doesn't make much of a difference. So have to see how will Nexon perform.

Overall its a really good package and will only improve from here. Tata customer service has been good so far, atleast you get a human to talk to unlike Tesla where emails go unanswered and if you come across a human then god must be looking after you that day.
In terms of comfort I can say the Tesla seats are bit better and little wide, found Nexon seats a bit narrow, but I love the rear seat comfort of Nexon. The floor height of Model 3 is way too high, like your knees are pretty much in your chest.
Happy so far with the purchase and feel proud of what Tata has achieved and hope someday the Harrier comes as an EV and I'll be the first in line to order it.

Review: The Tata Nexon EV-img_20210818_180732.jpg

Last edited by aah78 : 25th August 2021 at 17:05. Reason: Picture inserted in-line.
officer416 is offline   (24) Thanks
Old 25th August 2021, 17:26   #544

Originally Posted by officer416 View Post
Did a range test by visiting a popular tourist destination in my state. The car performed really well. So I did two runs on different days one with A/c turned on and the other without the AC. Being a hilly area with steep inclines I managed 1% for every 1 km. AC or Non AC doesn't make much of a difference. Tried ECON mode several times but it starts fogging up the windscreen and side windows, so didn't find it of much use.
Nexon in black looks really good.
Can you share the range you got from your Nexon EV on your trip.

Yes, the lack of cruise control and programmable regen is a big miss in Nexon.
It is very hard to maintain a constant speeds on highways as the second you lift off the foot from the throttle, regen kicks in and slows the car down quite a bit.

Last edited by speedmiester : 25th August 2021 at 17:46.
speedmiester is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 25th August 2021, 17:44   #545

Originally Posted by speedmiester View Post
Nexon is black look really good.
Can you share the range you got from your Nexon EV on your trip.

Yes, the lack of cruise control and programmable regen is a big miss in Nexon.
It is very hard to maintain a constant speeds on highways as the second you lift off the foot from the throttle, regen kicks in and slows the car down quite a bit.
Thanks for your comment

So I started from my place with 100% battery and by the time I reached my destination I had 60% battery remaining and did 47km. The power consumption hovered between 230-250 Wh/km.
From there I visited nearby places which had more steep inclines that consumed further 10% battery and did 15 kms.

During steep inclines I used S mode because in D mode the power is restricted to Eco range and car cannot accelerate much. So on steep hills it feels like car is running out of juice and can stop any moment which it wont but it feels that way.
More accurate way will be like in old days when your bike is running out of fuel and you have to put in to reserve mode. Sport mode makes it effortless, best part is people expecting a huge revving sound, but the car silently zooms away, sometimes expressions are priceless.
officer416 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 26th August 2021, 14:26   #546

Re: Tata to launch another electric car - Tigor EV with Ziptron

Originally Posted by nimblemaster View Post
They are also not letting me know when they will deliver the vehicle. I had paid the booking amount on July 11.
I was thinking of cancelling my booking and moving on. Sad to say this but I probably won't recommend Tata Motors or buy from them in the future. Really terrible customer care and dealership experience.
Originally Posted by MileCruncher View Post
Hence almost on the verge to cancel my booking unless the Govt of Maharashtra does something.subsidy
I have been pondering over replacing our run around car- 2009 Altis with an EV but not too keen on Tata. Budget is not really a constraints and can be increased above 15L but I care too much about value to forgo the full subsidy
Important Query regarding price breakup for the Nexon EV (about line items like the Insurance premium, registration charges). To all who might have either bought the Nexon or are in talks with dealers.
Recently had requested the price list for Nexon, MG & kona from the respective dealers in Bangalore.
I noticed that the line items of Insurance Premium, RTO/registration charges, essential kit even the extented warranty, all of these were higher for Nexon as compared to both MG & Kona. The Insurance premium (Bumper to Bumper) was what caught me a bit off - guard.
So the Insurance premiums as per the breakup were as follows:
Kona - Rs71,631 for ex showroom price of 23,79,000
MG Excite - Rs86,077 for ex showroom price of 20,99,800
Nexon XZ+ - Rs97,257 for ex showroom price of 15,65,000

While i have dropped the query with the Tata representative, i was hoping to know if anyone else noticed this? Any idea why kona has the lowest premium at the highest price and Nexon the highest premium with lowest price.
EV Fan is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 26th August 2021, 14:50   #547

Originally Posted by EV Fan View Post
While i have dropped the query with the Tata representative, i was hoping to know if anyone else noticed this? Any idea why kona has the lowest premium at the highest price and Nexon the highest premium with lowest price.
Acko shows a sum of Rs. 31,388+GST for an IDV of 15.9L on the Nexon EV XZ Plus Lux edition. Not sure how the dealership can quote 3 times as much. You would be better off posting this query in the Nexon EV Thread so that owners can see it.

Ask the mods to move the post to the this thread (Review: The Tata Nexon EV)
JithinR is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th August 2021, 16:17   #548

Important Query regarding price breakup for the Nexon EV (about line items like the Insurance premium, registration charges). To all who might have either bought the Nexon or are in talks with dealers.
Recently had requested the price list for Nexon, MG & kona from the respective dealers in Bangalore.
Yeah I noticed that too. I had asked the dealer to allow me to buy my own insurance, but they offered me a sweet deal by reducing the overall price, so I took it then (i.e. in July).
In other recent developments: today, I received an email from Tata telling me that some other dealership shall handle my booking. They asked the existing dealer to cancel my booking .
My brain is already saying Ta ta Tata .

Last edited by aah78 : 26th August 2021 at 17:14. Reason: Quote trimmed. Don't quote large posts entirely.
nimblemaster is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 26th August 2021, 18:11   #549

Originally Posted by JithinR View Post
Acko shows a sum of Rs. 31,388+GST for an IDV of 15.9L on the Nexon EV XZ Plus Lux edition.
I do hope the insurance companies start reducing premiums for electric cars in future. When i did an NPV calculation for the Nexon EV vs its ICE variant. XZ+ variant. Insurance charge was a hit to its running cost. Had i got the insurance at the cost of the standard ICE variant then the NPV would have been lower and the car would have matched up the ICE variant 2 years earlier.

Technically lesser moving parts, less chances of damage and the battery itself being covered by the manufacturer - could have been a few plus points to account for a lower insurance charge. Atleast should not have been the same as for similarly priced ICE's.

I guess they have their own calculations/concerns.
EV Fan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th August 2021, 21:21   #550

I do hope the insurance companies start reducing premiums for electric cars in future. When i did an NPV calculation for the Nexon EV vs its ICE variant. XZ+ variant. Insurance charge was a hit to its running cost. Had i got the insurance at the cost of the standard ICE variant then the NPV would have been lower and the car would have matched up the ICE variant 2 years earlier.

Technically lesser moving parts, less chances of damage and the battery itself being covered by the manufacturer - could have been a few plus points to account for a lower insurance charge. Atleast should not have been the same as for similarly priced ICE's.

I guess they have their own calculations/concerns.
Insurance covers for accidental damages to vehicle which is out of purview of a warranty provided by a manufacturer.

In case of an EV, any damage to the motor or the battery due to an accident will not be covered by warranty. The cost of replacement battery and motor will be high compared to the ICE equivalents,hence the insurance premiums will be a bit higher.

Indian EV market is quite nascent and very few Insurers are offering policies for EVs. It is improving year on year though.

When I bought my E2O in 2014, only two or three insurers were covering EVs at that point of time.
speedmiester is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 27th August 2021, 11:31   #551

Hello there..
any Nexon EV owners in TN?,especially down south(madurai).Can you share your experiences in buying it(right from booking to delivery).
I have been contemplating on buying one for sometime now.Since i live in a city where a TATA dealer has no clue about an EV,iam very curious to know about the ownership experience.
I live in Tirunelveli which is 150 kms south of madurai and 350 kms from Coimbatore.
Those are the two places listed in TATA motors website for the Nexon EV.
Would it be prudent to book one now from any of the above dealers?
If so ,would they able to provide after sales support in my place??(eg:home charger installation and break down assistance)
Should i wait for my local dealer to start sales and service for the Nexon EV instead?

Any of the owners suggestions/advice in this forum would be highly appreciated in this regard.

PS:Would be using an average of 10-20 kms per day within city limits,hence even if my city doesnt have any charging station,my home charger would suffice.

Last edited by pradheepsr : 27th August 2021 at 11:41.
Old 27th August 2021, 18:08   #552

Environmental Minister of Maharashtra, Mr. Aditya Thackeray today inaugurated EVs to be used by BMC Office bearers and officials.

Review: The Tata Nexon EV-a26d88e19cd741abbec4399f80b9d2f8.jpeg

Review: The Tata Nexon EV-f8c1a6d383b046e797987d603a06b634.jpeg

Review: The Tata Nexon EV-6e336e2caa5b40af8365819e180ce39e.jpeg

https://www.instagram.com/p/CTE99Q-g...dium=copy_link
CEF_Beasts is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 29th August 2021, 07:58   #553

What I miss the most is the cruise control or the regular autopilot from Model 3, even a regular cruise control will be a great addition.
Cruise Control is a must.

So I started from my place with 100% battery and by the time I reached my destination I had 60% battery remaining and did 47km. The power consumption hovered between 230-250 Wh/km.
I hope for your sake that this isn't the normal consumption because if it is, it's extremely worrying. I manage 120-130 Wh/km with AC on. Looking to get the Cruise Control mod as lined above to bring it down even further on highways.
Old 30th August 2021, 00:23   #554

Originally Posted by LEGION_FIVE View Post
https://Youtu.be/2J-iloHXAiI
I hope for your sake that this isn't the normal consumption because if it is, it's extremely worrying. I manage 120-130 Wh/km with AC on. Looking to get the Cruise Control mod as lined above to bring it down even further on highways.
Thanks for the suggestion, I have been following the development of this particular cruise system, it's great initiative by the person, but I am not too keen on installing aftermarket system on my car.

As for the range, I got that power consumption number while driving on mountain roads. In plain areas within my city I manage 108 to 120 Wh/km on average, so no issue on that front.
officer416 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st August 2021, 16:12   #555

Do you think the range anxiety is going away slowly in the EVs space?

The whole anxiety around the range is going away because many customers thought that EV would be a second car for them and at times they will use it. But, it is being used as their primary car now. Seven-eight months back, only 45 per cent of customers wanted EV as a first car, but today 60 per cent of them want it as a primary car. Once the primary car usage of EVs starts increasing, it is an indication of mainstream buyer. And this is the big change that we have seen. Also, although Faster Adoption and Manufacturing of Hybrid and Electric vehicle (FAME) incentive is not applicable to the personal segment, the State government incentives which are coming says that if the car is compliant to the FAME scheme it is applicable, and we have taken FAME certificate for both (Tigor EV and Nexon EV). So, if I want to sell in the fleet Nexon EV, we'll get the FAME incentive because it is below ₹15 lakh and we meet the localisation requirement as per the FAME phased manufacturing plan. We are the only one who qualifies for the State incentives. So with this, there is an explosion of demand now, which is not getting reflected in the numbers because numbers are limited to the supplies. But, just to give you an idea Nexon EV bookings are equal to the bookings of Nexon Diesel, which is also a successful variant. Seven cities including Delhi, Chennai, Ahmedabad, Mumbai, Pune, Hyderabad and Bengaluru are nearly 60 per cent of our demand. Now, it is about bringing more choices, so more customers are going to purchase. Therefore, our strategy is going to be bringing offerings which are at different price points, different range points and different body sizes.
Here is an excerpt from Business Line's discussion with Tata Motors’ PV head, Shailesh Chandra. The entire article is pretty insightful and worth a read.
neil.jericho is offline   (3) Thanks