Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 7th November 2022, 13:08   #976

Re: Review: The Tata Nexon EV

Tata motors rolls out 50,000th Ev in india.
Review: The Tata Nexon EV-943e61977f394c8fa7c6d36c984a52c3.jpeg  

XRoader_001 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 7th November 2022, 18:16   #977

Originally Posted by kiku007 View Post
The following ownership review video talks about issues that include,
  • the car not charging after driving in rain
  • ~ 2 seconds delay in moving the transmission between forward and reverse. Noticeable during 3-point turns
  • unusable sports mode without the traction control and the right tires
  • incorrect TPMS warnings
  • rear wipers not turning off unless turning the car off and on
  • accelerator pedal probably needs calibration to smoothly reverse the car on a steep incline
  • the usual unrealistic EV range claims
  • and the eternal quality, fit and finish issues that are associated with Tata vehicles
https://Youtu.be/jH3QZ1k_cF8

Have other owners experienced similar issues?
To be honest, except the range claims (which is totally achievable, so can't blame the manufacturer) and the usual PDI issues and Service experience all these issues are sorted in Max.
So we can expect the next gen models to be much more sorted.
Also Tata is already planning for dedicated EV service, first in Delhi and then later expand to other cities. So we should see a better service experience as well. (Hopefully)
shamanths3 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 11th November 2022, 17:35   #978

Tata Nexon EV owner, Manu M shares running cost details after driving his electric SUV for over 2 years and almost 85,000 km

Source: Rushlane

Review: The Tata Nexon EV-20221111_173414.jpg
BrokenHW is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th November 2022, 21:09   #979

Tata motors is extending personalised badges to its existing owners as a part of celebration of achieving 50,000 ev production units.

Link :

https://twitter.com/tatamotorsev/sta...OFmrIFIvOq9CIA
Review: The Tata Nexon EV-5bda2fd1dc9644099f59a71b222ea03e.jpeg  

Review: The Tata Nexon EV-8d02ceae7be44499bfbbb8170c2c369a.png  

Last edited by XRoader_001 : 11th November 2022 at 21:12.
XRoader_001 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 15th November 2022, 09:47   #980

I would like to keep everyone updated about certain developments with our Nexon EV.

After a year (about 15 months) and 30,000kms later, about two weeks back, we noticed a problem.

If we drive the car to 40% battery or below and switch it off, when you start the next time, the battery shows 10% or 5% charge only. That means, there is a sudden drop in charge by 30 to 35%.

We observed it twice. It used to only happen if the car was switched off <40% charge, but then once we had the same experience when the car was off at 63%.

Took the car to our dealer - Key Motors. They were very helpful and professional. They told me they need to call a specialist for checking battery related problems. I had to leave the car for a couple of days. The expert came, apparently did some diagnostic tests. Key Motors service person called and said the battery pack need to be replaced.

They placed the order for the battery pack and it came within 4-5 days. The new pack was installed, they ran some tests for a couple of days and then returned the car. All free of charge, since the battery is within the warranty period. Its all fine now.

It was certainly disturbing that the battery pack failed within 15 months. You do not expect engine failures within 1 year of buying an ICE vehicle. But at the same time, it was reassuring that our dealer and Tata motors did not let us down. The help and support was very good, and the overall experience was smooth.

In summary, I remain optimistic about the future of EVs. I will still vouch for them. These issues are acceptable for a new technology. The important thing is for the manufacturer to support early adopters.

PS: I remember buying my first digital camera in the year 2000 (Nikon Coolpix 800 :-). It used to use AA batteries, and sometimes after taking 7 to 8 photos, all the cells had to be changed. But you see how digital cameras have evolved - the same will be the case for EVs.
GS300 is offline   (19) Thanks
Old 15th November 2022, 10:38   #981

Originally Posted by GS300 View Post
If we drive the car to 40% battery or below and switch it off, when you start the next time, the battery shows 10% or 5% charge only. That means, there is a sudden drop in charge by 30 to 35%.

We observed it twice. It used to only happen if the car was switched off <40% charge, but then once we had the same experience when the car was off at 63%.

Took the car to our dealer - Key Motors. They were very helpful and professional. They told me they need to call a specialist for checking battery related problems. I had to leave the car for a couple of days. The expert came, apparently did some diagnostic tests. Key Motors service person called and said the battery pack need to be replaced.

They placed the order for the battery pack and it came within 4-5 days. The new pack was installed, they ran some tests for a couple of days and then returned the car. All free of charge, since the battery is within the warranty period. Its all fine now.
Was there any explanation from their side on what kind of a failure it was? While I appreciate tata for doing the right thing by replacing the battery pack pronto, but I'd be keen to know what went wrong. All is well while its under warranty, post 8 years is the real test. I've booked a tiago ev.
Old 15th November 2022, 12:07   #982

Originally Posted by Sankar View Post
Was there any explanation from their side on what kind of a failure it was? While I appreciate tata for doing the right thing by replacing the battery pack pronto, but I'd be keen to know what went wrong. All is well while its under warranty, post 8 years is the real test. I've booked a tiago ev.
It is a valid question, unfortunately I do not have an answer. The service representative did not have much information, and the 'specialist' apparently has not given him the diagnostics about what went wrong. I did ask the service person, but did not insist on speaking to the specialist - maybe I should have.

I am guessing - that one or more of the 'cells' within the pack may have failed, or reduced capacity. Since they do not replace individual cells, entire pack may have to be replaced. Just my guess, considering battery pack is not such a complex system.
GS300 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 18th November 2022, 23:37   #983

Hi Guys, quick question.
So a week ago , an SA at TaMo I was in touch with, mentioned that the subsidy on Nexon XZ+ was over. I called another dealer and he too confirmed it. Today morning this ‘another dealer’ called me and informed that he has been allotted 4 evs with the subsidy and I could buy one .
My question is , is the subsidy really getting over? If yes, I would prefer buying it right away. Been looking for a new car since a year, have narrowed it down to GV Zeta AT and this one. ( Running around 10- 12k annually)
Old 21st November 2022, 10:46   #984
s10

Are there any year end offers on Nexon EV in NCR? I enquired few dealers in Delhi, the best one I am getting is 17.9 on-road for Prime XZ+ Lux variant. I booked that and the wait time is 4 weeks max.

Should I run around more for finding better deal
Old 21st November 2022, 12:49   #985

Originally Posted by s10 View Post
Are there any year end offers on Nexon EV in NCR? I enquired few dealers in Delhi, the best one I am getting is 17.9 on-road for Prime XZ+ Lux variant. I booked that and the wait time is 4 weeks max.

Should I run around more for finding better deal
Year end offer on EV? You must be having Great Expectations, literally. People here are waiting for 6 months+ for a delivery and following up like crazy starting to SA to top bosses of TaMo for vehicle allotment. I guess, we are still a long way away from promotional stuff on good EVs in India.
arpanjha is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st November 2022, 14:34   #986

Originally Posted by arpanjha View Post
Year end offer on EV? You must be having Great Expectations, literally. People here are waiting for 6 months+ for a delivery and following up like crazy starting to SA to top bosses of TaMo for vehicle allotment. I guess, we are still a long way away from promotional stuff on good EVs in India.
As the Tata Sky Ad said "poochne mein kya jaata hai?". I have been in the market for an EV. Liked ZS EV Excite and would have booked it but for questions on rear space - i was offered immediate delivery. OP seems to have gotten a little bit of a deal. A quick search says price in Del for XZ+ Lux is 18.45 and OP has got for 17.9.

The market is changing fast, chip shortages are history and demand is falling.
serious_maniac is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 21st November 2022, 16:44   #987
s10

Why not! In fact, I was also thinking the same but you do get offers. Initial price told was around 18.3 and then they made the extended warranty free and removed few others.

BTW, now there is not much waiting time at least on the Nexon Prime variants or Tigor variants at least in Delhi, max 4 weeks.

Originally Posted by serious_maniac
As the Tata Sky Ad said "poochne mein kya jaata hai?". I have been in the market for an EV. Liked ZS EV Excite and would have booked it but for questions on rear space - i was offered immediate delivery. OP seems to have gotten a little bit of a deal. A quick search says price in Del for XZ+ Lux is 18.45 and OP has got for 17.9.

The market is changing fast, chip shortages are history and demand is falling.
Absolutely, and I totally agree. Right now you can easily get it if you want, not much waiting time.
s10 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 21st November 2022, 21:15   #988

I had a visit to one dealer in Kerala and spoke to another one, both told me that for both EV Max and Prime, waiting period with them will be around 20 days, that's the time for vehicle to reach Kerala from Pune including allocation.

I was surprised as the Bangalore dealer had told me for max the waiting period is around 6 to 8 months.

I don't know whether it's a hype created by dealers in Bangalore.
Prasidhi is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 22nd November 2022, 09:20   #989

Originally Posted by Prasidhi View Post
I was surprised as the Bangalore dealer had told me for max the waiting period is around 6 to 8 months.

I don't know whether it's a hype created by dealers in Bangalore.
When was this? I checked with KHT (AECS) and Kropex (Sarjapur Road) last month, both said around 4 to 6 weeks, could be earlier if you are not particular about the colour/trim. I test drove max, but was mostly asking about Nexon Prime, so some ambiguity there, I assumed waiting time was for both.

They didn't have any offers, but said if you decide to buy we will try to work out something.

Last edited by wocanak : 22nd November 2022 at 09:25.
Old 22nd November 2022, 10:02   #990

I have booked prime XZ+ Dark , ready stock in Mumbai so should get delivery within a week. I did budge for year end discounts , and the SA made the extended warranty free + 25k discount on insurance and a couple of basic accessories thrown in at no cost. Final OTR price is 15.75L with the subsidy
Can current owners please recommend what tyres should I upgrade too? Also any idea about the resale value of stock tyres if I sell them on day 1?
Eco_boost is offline   (2) Thanks