Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 16th November 2023, 12:32   #1171

Re: Review: The Tata Nexon EV

Originally Posted by AmitSapre View Post
Sharing my experience with this forum.

I am very very disappointed with the way TML, TML customer care & KHT Motors have responded to this case.
Simply call the Tata Regional Manager whose number is written on the notice board in the service centre. He will move things fast. They are Tata employees ensuring customer satisfaction.
gauravdgr8 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 16th November 2023, 13:19   #1172

Originally Posted by AmitSapre View Post
This was my first experience with this car showing such problem. Till that point, had been great experience with this car.

Eventually, had to call Tata RSA and got it towed to KHT Motors Service center , Bengaluru for further diagnosis. 2-3 Days Later, I was told that battery has gone bad.
How can batteries fail so suddenly? I've heard of battery aging after years of usage or after a certain no of charging cycles - but it usually happens very slow. Like gradually range going down or drop in performance. 🤔 Is it possible TATA doesn't have enough trained technicians to figure out ev issues and they just replace the battery for every car?
Old 16th November 2023, 15:23   #1173

I am puzzled by these stories of cars being parked for a week and ending up with a dead battery. Could it be that some power source remained on? The manual does recommend disconnecting the low-voltage battery if parked for a long time. Maybe Tata should update their software to power down all systems (including zconnect) if the car has been idle for > 2 days and the HV battery is at < 50%, or something like that.

Originally Posted by Joe367 View Post
How can batteries fail so suddenly?
The manual does say never ever let the battery charge go down to zero. If it does, don't attempt to charge it but call Tata service immediately.

I suppose if the HV battery drained while parked for some unknown reason, it would be dead. But there should be a way for the system to prevent that, without the owner having to disconnect the LV battery.

Last edited by rsidd : 16th November 2023 at 15:27. Reason: added response to other post
rsidd is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th November 2023, 12:41   #1174

I recently faced air-conditioner failure during Oct end timeframe on my Nexon EV.i bought the vehicle in Mar 2022. I had taken the car to an authorized service center, after diagnosing that it was indeed a failure of the AC compressor he advised me to take the vehicle back to my dealer if i wanted quicker replacement. The dealer ( Sai Baba Automotive in Thergaon Pune) took my car in and promptly repaired it and gave it back in 5 days( It was Dushera time so they were short on staff and they were concentrating on new deliveries, quite understandable). I did not have to pay absolutely anything for the repair since i had the extended warranty. So i would highly recommend everyone to go for extended warranty. Thank you Sai Baba Auto.
sakha_bhau is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 17th January 2024, 16:38   #1175

Dear BHPians,
I have a question with regards to the price of electric cars vs ICE cars. Extensive usage of EV’s on Indian roads are pipe dreams and grand illusions unless these cars are made affordable and cost the same as ICE cars. The Nexon EV top end costs 24 lacs (!) in Hyderabad. That’s 6 lacs more than the top end Nexon ICE model. I don’t think the amount saved justifies this extra 6 lacs. Let me explain.
I have calculated that with my mileage, the total saving is ₹ 63,000 per year. So, it will take me 9.5 years to recover this extra 6 lacs I have to pay for an EV. That seems like a very long time until one starts to really reap the reward.
Someone please tell me I’m wrong as I really want to buy an EV but this has been bugging me. The only thing I can think of is, as the ICE car ages the maintenance bills will get higher. Although if it’s maintained correctly then it shouldn’t, right?

ICE car petrol bill (my mileage) – ₹ 60,000 per year
Maintenance bill (Oil/Coolant/Servicing, etc.) – ₹ 12,000 per year
Total – Rs. ₹ 72,000 per year

EV Charging bill – ₹ 6,000 per year
Maintenance bill – ₹ 3,000 per year
Total ₹ 9,000 per year

Total saving – ₹ 63,000 per year
Extra paid – ₹ 6 lacs
Time taken to recover the extra 6 lacs – ₹ 6,00,000 / ₹ 63,000 = 9.5 years. Now that’s a long time.

Someone please tell me I’m wrong as I really want to buy an EV but my head won’t let me. The only thing I can think of is as the ICE car ages the maintenance bills will get higher. Although if it is maintained well it shouldn’t, right?

So sorry if this is the wrong thread to post this.
Old 17th January 2024, 18:09   #1176

Originally Posted by Worldchamp 2019 View Post
Someone please tell me I’m wrong as I really want to buy an EV but my head won’t let me. The only thing I can think of is as the ICE car ages the maintenance bills will get higher. Although if it is maintained well it shouldn’t, right?
Based on the electricity charges given by you, I assume that you are driving 6000-6500 kms per year. It is very difficult to recoup the extra money spent on top model Nexon EV LR with such low mileage. You can look at top model of the Nexon MR version. It is at 21.27 lakhs on road price in Hyderabad. You can recoup the diferrence for the same in around half the time.

The challenge is more in Telangana as it is the only state charging full RTO tax on EVs which makes the recouping of cost more difficult.
ferrarirules is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 17th January 2024, 18:15   #1177

Here is my quick personal take (own a NexonEV Max and a diesel XUV700):

EVs will never come out on top in pure excel sheet calculations, exceptions being if your yearly run is taxi like mileage - thats just the fact.

However, what I can tell you after using my EV for more than an year is - there is no beating an EV as a city beater car on below points:
-extremely comfortable ride - no vibrations, no gear changes, multi level regens etc. I can drive for hours at a stretch in Bangalore traffic with way lesser stress than in an ICE.
-absolute dead silent cabin
-performance and driveability you get from those crazy torque figures+sports mode when in mood for fun.
-frequent short distance travels? No problem whatsoever
-have to wait for an hour or longer for your kid to finish her music classes or family finishes their shopping etc? No problem, do it in the comfort of AC cabin without worrying about your engine idling for long and without the sound of those fans turning on and off constantly!
-multiple drivers using the car? no problem with engines taking a beating, clutch wear, brake wear etc
-dead cheap monthly fuel bills
-cheap service/repair costs

Your calculations are a never ending discussions on every online forum and trust me there is no end to it - been there done that

My suggestion - look beyond the per km calculations and evaluate your need for an EV in terms of what they bring to the table and if you need them, you will have your answer in no time. All the best

Last edited by Sandegov : 17th January 2024 at 18:26.
Sandegov is offline   (21) Thanks
Old 17th January 2024, 21:38   #1178

Originally Posted by ferrarirules View Post

The challenge is more in Telangana as it is the only state charging full RTO tax on EVs which makes the recouping of cost more difficult.
Thanks. Yes you’re right. It will make a huge difference with higher mileage.

Originally Posted by Sandegov View Post
Here is my quick personal take (own a NexonEV Max and a diesel XUV700):

My suggestion - look beyond the per km calculations and evaluate your need for an EV in terms of what they bring to the table and if you need them, you will have your answer in no time. All the best
Thanks your detailed insight. I agree that there are more advantages compared to ICE. Especially the silent cabin. Will make my way for a test drive at Tata soon. Seems the best priced EV out there. All the others are ridiculously priced and I wouldn’t be caught dead in an MG comet.

Last edited by Sheel : 18th January 2024 at 14:12. Reason: Trimmed quoted post. Please use the EDIT or QUOTE+ (multi-quote) button instead of typing one post after another on the SAME THREAD!
Worldchamp 2019 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th February 2024, 17:30   #1179

Someone please tell me I’m wrong as I really want to buy an EV but this has been bugging me. The only thing I can think of is, as the ICE car ages the maintenance bills will get higher. Although if it’s maintained correctly then it shouldn’t, right?
I have a pessimistic view about EV maintenance. Since EV's haven't been here for long, I don't know if maintenance is really low. Yes, periodic maintenance might be lower, but then EV's do have parts that aren't cheap to replace.

What about things like your charger which has a shorter warranty (will Tata repair a conked off charger? or will they only replace? The portable charger is expensive; The fast charging wall box - cost a bomb). I know people complain a lot about rat bites - good luck with one on an EV. And dogs can chew on your charging cable. Yes, I have heard that too; the owner had to replace their fast charger. I wonder why, since the cable should be replaceable - but then not sure if service centers technicians are trained for that kind of repairs.

There is a higher chance for the ACC unit to fail early, since it also cools some EV components (I was told it does - but not sure). The battery and motor are the two things with 8 years warranty. The PDU costs a lakh - and people had it replaced (under warranty) in matter of few years because it malfunctioned. Also, in case of a major accident there is a high chance that the car will be declared total loss. You also have to stick to authorized service center and get periodic service done on time till the 8 year warranty runs out. You realize the problem if you aren't happy with the one near you (high probability with Tata); I think all Tata EV cars currently have 6 month service interval - so that is a lot of inconvenience.

I think early adopters who do not have high usage to justify the savings - are paying a premium for the EV experience. Your cost of ownership might balloon on an unreliable car. An extended warranty is a must (add that to the cost).
thomahawk is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 7th February 2024, 17:42   #1180

Thanks your detailed insight. I agree that there are more advantages compared to ICE. Especially the silent cabin. Will make my way for a test drive at Tata soon. Seems the best priced EV out there. All the others are ridiculously priced and I wouldn’t be caught dead in an MG comet.
Do check out the MG ZS EV as well. The price drops make it very compelling especially if you do plan to DC charge sometimes. With a max DC charging rate close to 3x that of Nexon LR, it dramatically reduces your time spent on public DC charging. It's a CKD and proven vehicle worldwide with a solid BMS.

Another thing to consider is if there is any possibility of AP registration because recently they waived off road taxes on EVs.

Even with a low running I would personally pick an EV because of the driving experience but that's subjective.
shyampsunder is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 8th February 2024, 09:12   #1181

I have calculated that with my mileage, the total saving is ₹ 63,000 per year. So, it will take me 9.5 years to recover this extra 6 lacs I have to pay for an EV. That seems like a very long time until one starts to really reap the reward.
Someone please tell me I’m wrong as I really want to buy an EV but this has been bugging me.
Well it’s true for Nexon, but allow me to change the vehicle

Xuv300 and xuv400 ev

Xuv300 top end diesel on the road Mumbai : 17lakh +
Xuv400 ev top end 18 lakh + on the road Mumbai

Difference is 1 lakh

Now for the extra money you get
1. Bigger boot
2. 20 mm extra ground clearance
3. Modern interior

Which justifies the cost of 400ev

Now when we look at tata cars their ev cars are 30-40% more expensive then same ice car. (Tiago, punch and nexon)

Probably they are charging very high premium
saurabh_v8 is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 9th February 2024, 12:23   #1182

Originally Posted by thomahawk View Post
I have a pessimistic view about EV maintenance. Since EV's haven't been here for long, I don't know if maintenance is really low. Yes, periodic maintenance might be lower, but then EV's do have parts that aren't cheap to replace.

What about things like your charger which has a shorter warranty (will Tata repair a conked off charger? or will they only replace? The portable charger is expensive; The fast charging wall box - cost a bomb). I know people complain a lot about rat bites - good luck with one on an EV. And dogs can chew on your charging cable. Yes, I have heard that too; the owner had to replace their fast charger. I wonder why, since the cable should be replaceable - but then not sure if service centers technicians are trained for that kind of repairs.

There is a higher chance for the ACC unit to fail early, since it also cools some EV components (I was told it does - but not sure). The battery and motor are the two things with 8 years warranty. The PDU costs a lakh - and people had it replaced (under warranty) in matter of few years because it malfunctioned. Also, in case of a major accident there is a high chance that the car will be declared total loss. You also have to stick to authorized service center and get periodic service done on time till the 8 year warranty runs out. You realize the problem if you aren't happy with the one near you (high probability with Tata); I think all Tata EV cars currently have 6 month service interval - so that is a lot of inconvenience.

I think early adopters who do not have high usage to justify the savings - are paying a premium for the EV experience. Your cost of ownership might balloon on an unreliable car. An extended warranty is a must (add that to the cost).
You aren't wrong.

I am an owner of the MG ZS EV. During the last Chennai floods our portable charger died due to EB grounding issues and I had to buy a replacement on Amazon.

Also it is a well known fact that EV motors and batteries are so expensive to repair in the case of a bad accident that insurance companies prefer total loss.

However, I think even ICEs in the 20 lakh price range which have a bad accident where the engine is damaged will also approach total loss territory. If the battery and motor in an EV is undamaged the repair costs will be equal or lower than its ICE counterpart.

I paid only Rs. 2000 for the 30,000 km service. I do not mind servicing the car in the authorized service center for these costs especially since we get an 8 year warranty on the battery and motor. I would love it if we got an 8 year warranty on an ICE engine!
Chrome6Boy is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 13th February 2024, 12:39   #1183

FYI - Nexon, Tiago get cheaper: Tata Motors slashes EV prices by up to Rs 1.2 lakh

https://economictimes.indiatimes.com.../107649249.cms
lightfootdriver is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th February 2024, 09:30   #1184

Why not an MG Comet or Tiago? It would make sense if saving money is the primary goal.
Old 18th February 2024, 09:36   #1185

https://janmabhumi.in/2024/02/17/316...ce-of-the-car/

News from Kottayam,Kerala. Consumer court orders to refund full cost of car and extra 1 lakh to a Nexon owner. Tata motors should pay the amount. Owner says that,the car is not giving the claimed range,and the battery is replaces thrice within few months of purchase.
Bonemechanic is online now   (1) Thanks